Skip to main content

Library Collections

Library Collections

Books and other materials in the library are divided into different collections located in various areas throughout the building. All items can be used in the library, and most books can be borrowed.

General Collection

These books comprise the main part of the library's circulating materials and are housed on the second floor. They cover all subject areas supporting the College curriculum and are classified according to the Library of Congress Classification System.

Oversized books are shelved separately to make the most efficient use of shelf space, and are located in the back of the second floor near the stairs.

Library of Congress Call Number System

Like most academic libraries, KCC library uses the Library of Congress Classification System (LC) to arrange books in subject order according to 21 major classes of knowledge. Public and school libraries use the Dewey Decimal Classification System.

LC call numbers consist of three divisions: class and subclass (designated by letters), and a final item-specific number. The following list presents the main classes. Exact call numbers for materials available in UH libraries can be found using the library's online catalog, Hawaiʻi Voyager.

These books include all of the library's printed materials relating to Hawaiʻi and Pacific-related topics. Except for Hawaiian Reference materials, which must be used in the library, these books can be borrowed for 14 days at a time.

There are two different places to find books in the Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, so please check the Location information in the Hawaiʻi Voyager catalog carefully.

Books with the Location Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection (1st Floor) are located behind the Reference Desk and can be borrowed for 14 days.

Books with the Location Hawaiian Reference (Ask for Assistance) can be requested by Call Number at the Circulation Counter, and can only be used in the library.

surfing books

Japan Collection

This collection comprises a collection of approximately 3,000 English and Japanese titles about historical and contemporary Japan. The collection is designed to provide students, faculty, and community members with a resource for formal instruction as well as for learning about Japanese people and culture. The collection also supports the College's strong Asia-Pacific emphasis and international exchange activities. The Japan Collection is located on the second floor near the Char Room and circulates like the General Collection.

The Char Collection and the Char Room on the second floor feature books and artifacts on Asia and the Pacific.

Asian Language Collection

In addition to the Char and Japan Collections, these books comprise all of the library's printed materials written in Asian language vernacular including Chinese, Japanese, and Korean. The Asian Language Collection is located on the second floor behind the Japan Collection and circulates like the General Collection.

These digital collections were created by KCC Library staff in collaboration with other KCC departments and institutions.

  • Kapiʻo News: digitized issues of KCC's student newspaper dating from 1964.
  • KCC General Catalogs
  • Student Journals
    The College has an extensive collection of student creative and scientific writing and publishing. As of 2014, 80 issues of journals dating back to 1984 have been included in this collection.
  • Student Yearbooks
    Student yearbooks were produced for a brief time for the Nursing Program and Food Service Hospitality Education (currently Culinary Arts and the Hospitality and Tourism Education Program.)
Loading ...
Last Updated: Aug 22, 2019 2:42 PM