This is the "Home" page of the "STEM: Papa and Wākea Project" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

STEM: Papa and Wākea Project  

Last Updated: Oct 1, 2015 URL: http://guides.library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu/papawakea Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Hawaiian Culture - Books & eBooks

Selected KCC books located in the Hawaiian Collection (1st floor near the Reference Desk)

Cover Art
Hawaiian Antiquities - David Malo
Call Number: DU625 .M252 1951 (Hawaiian Collection)
Includes chapters on plants and trees, the fishes, fishing, agriculture, etc.

Cover Art
Native Planters of Old Hawaii - E. S. Handy; E. G. Handy; Mary Kawena Pukui
Call Number: GN424 .H3 (Hawaiian Collection)
Appendix includes plant, bird, fish, shellfish, and mammal identifications.

Cover Art
Ka poʻe kahiko = the people of old - Samuel Kamakau
Call Number: DU624.5 K3 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
The Polynesian Family System in Kaʻu, Hawaiʻi - E. S. Craighill Handy; Mary Kawena Pukui
Call Number: DU624.65 .H36 1998 (Hawaiian Collection)
Also available as an eBook

Cover Art
Kepelino's Traditions of Hawaii
Call Number: GN671.H3 K46 2007 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
The Works of the People of Old = Na hana a ka poʻe kahiko - Samuel M. Kamakau
Call Number: DU624.65 K35 1976 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Treasury of Hawaiian Words in One Hundred and One Categories
Call Number: PL6446 .K46 1993 (Hawaiian Collection)
Lists of Hawaiian words include birds, insects, places, plants, fish, rains, shellfish, etc.

Cover Art
ʻŌlelo Noʻeau: Hawaiian proverbs & poetical sayings - Mary Kawena Pukui
Call Number: PN6519.H4 P84 1983 (Hawaiian Collection)
Includes index to place names, personal names, birds, fishes and other aquatic animals, and plants.

Cover Art
Ancient Hawaiian Civilization - E. Craighill Handy
Call Number: DU624.5 A6 1965 (Hawaiian Collection)
Includes chapters on trees and plants, animal life, medicine, etc.

Cover Art
Life in Early Hawaiʻi: the ahupuaʻa
Call Number: DU624 .L54 1994 (Hawaiian Collection)
Also available as an eBook

Cover Art
By Wind, By Wave: An introduction to Hawaiʻi's Natural History
Call Number: QH198.H3 E86 2000 (Hawaiian Collection)

 

Find More Books

Use Hawai`i Voyager to find books at KCC and other UH System Campuses. Need help finding books at KCC other UH Libraries?

Ulukau: The Hawaiian Electronic Library

Use Ulukau.org to find eBooks on Hawaiian culture, history, and language.

 

 

Hawaiian Legends Index

Search here to help you locate myths and legends indexed in 77 books.   

Search for:

 

appear somewhere in Subject

Print edition also available in the Hawaiian Reference section

Need help? Click here

Hawaiian Mythology Research Guide

 

Find Articles, Reports, Data, etc.

Use these databases to find journal articles:

Pacific Science 
Research on the biological and physical sciences of the Pacific basin.

The Hawaiian Journal of History 
Devoted to orginal articles  on the history of Hawaiʻi, Polynesia, and the Pacific area. 

ScholarSpace
Intellectual works and unique collections of the UHM academic community.

eVols
Digital institutional repository for the University of Hawaiʻi community and researchers around the world.

Hawaiʻi & Pacific Journal Index
Index to magazines and journals published in or about Hawaiʻi & the Pacific (citations only).

Thrum's Hawaiian Annual (1875-1923)
Statistics on business, population, government, weather, geography; Articles on a wide variety of topics. 

Papakilo Database
Online documents of culturally significant places, events, history of Hawaiʻi

State of Hawaiʻi Data Book
Annual report of statistics in Hawaiʻi, including data on land use, geography, agriculture, fishing, etc.

ScienceDirect
Over 2,000 full-text scholarly journals in science, technology, and medicine, as well as social sciences, arts, and humanities. [More ScienceDirect Help]

PubMed Central
Fulltext access to over 2.6 million articles.

EBSCO Databases
Try Academic Search Premier, Agricola, and GreenFILE. [More EBSCO Help]

Science
Scientific research, global news, and commentary. [More Science Help]

Google Scholar: If fulltext is not available, check the KCC Journal Collection.

 

Find Newspaper Articles

Cover Art
Chronicling America: Historic Newspapers
Digitized English-language newspapers published in Hawaiʻi from 1836-1922

Cover Art
Hoʻolaupaʻi:Hawaiian Nūpepa (Newspaper) Collection
An online collection of historic Hawaiian-language newspapers published from 1834-1948.

Honolulu Newspapers (ProQuest)
Curent articles from the Honolulu Star-Advertiser (June 7, 2010 – present) Honolulu Advertiser (Nov. 20, 2002 – May 13, 2010) Honolulu Star-Bulletin (Nov. 26, 1991 – Jun. 6, 2010)


Kapi'olani Community College Library  •  4303 Diamond Head Road  •  Honolulu Hawai'i 96816
library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu  •   Reference: 808-734-9359   •   Circulation: 808-734-9268   •   Contact Us

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip