Home - ENG 100 - Waikīkī - Kapiʻolani CC Library LibGuides at Kapi'olani Community College

Find Books & eBooks

Search the Library and Beyond

Advanced Search

Books

Waikīkī: A History of Forgetting & Remembering by Andrea Feeser
Call Number: DU629.W44 F44 2006 (Hawai'i & Pacific Collection - 1st Floor)
Also available online from eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
Waikīkī: Nine Walks Through Time by Veneeta Acson
Call Number: DU629.H7 A25 2003 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Waikīkī: Images of America by Kai White; Jim Kraus
Call Number: DU629.H7 W47 2007 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Waikīkī, 1900-1985: Oral Histories
Call Number: DU629.W44 W3 1988 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Also available in full-text online via UHM ScholarSpace.
Waikiki, 100 B. C. to 1900 A. D.: an untold story by George S. Kanahele
Call Number: DU629.H7 K358 1995 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Aloha Waikiki: 100 Years of Pictures From Hawaii's Most Famous Beach by DeSoto Brown
Call Number: DU629.W44 B7 1985 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Waikiki, In the Wake of Dreams (Book) by Paul Berry & Edgy Lee
Call Number: DU629.H7 B47 2000 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Restoring Hawaiianness to Waikīkī by George S. Kanahele
Call Number: HT393.H32 W2534 1994 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference-Ask for Assistance)
Waikiki Beachboy by Grady Timmons
Call Number: DU629.W44 T56 1989 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Waikiki Yesteryear by Glen Grant
Call Number: DU629.H7 G67 1996 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference-Ask for Assistance)
Waikīkī: Magic Beside the Sea by Allan Seiden
Call Number: DU629.W44 S4 2001 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Kapiʻolani Park: A History by Robert R. Weyeneth
Call Number: DU629.K2785 W494 2002 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
The View from Diamond Head by Don Hibbard; David Franzen
Call Number: HD268.H66 H53 1986 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Diamond Head: Hawaiʻi's Icon by Allan Seiden
Call Number: DU629.D53 S44 2002 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st Floor)
Secrets of Diamond Head: A History and Trail Guide by Denby Fawcett
Call Number: DU629.D53 F39 2014 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Honolulu Then and Now by Sheila Sarhangi
Call Number: DU629.H7 S27 2007 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
The Saga of the Sandwich Islands by E. B. Scott
Call Number: DU623 S37 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Includes historic photos. See Part 2: Place Names on Oʻahu.
Hawaiian Surfing: Traditions From the Past by John R. K. Clark: Traditions From the Past
Call Number: GV839.65.H3 C53 2011 (Hawai'i & Pacific Collection, 1st Floor)
Also available online via Ebook Central.
Includes information on traditional surf sites on Oʻahu. See p.409 for Waikīkī Place Names Related to Surfing. (Also includes info on Papaʻenaʻena Heiau.)
Hawaiʻi Place Names: Shores, Beaches, and Surf Sites by John R. K. Clark
Call Number: DU622 .C546 2002 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Available online via Ebook Central.
Also available online as an eBook via Ulukau.
Hawaiian Place Names: The Significance of Hawaiian Sites, Their Locations, and Interpretation of Their Names
Call Number: DU622 .H388 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Place Names of Hawaii by Mary Kawena Pukui; Samuel H. Elbert; Esther T. Mookini
Call Number: DU622 .P79 1976 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Also available online as an eBook via Ulukau,
OR Search via Hawaiian Dictionaries Tip: Under CUSTOMIZE SEARCH, select PLACE NAMES OF HAWAII
Sites of Oahu by Sterling, Elspeth P.; Catherine C. Summers (Compiled by)
Call Number: DU628.O3 S8 1993 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Refer to the Detailed Index online via Ulukau to see what might be included about your area.
Ancient Sites of Oʻahu: A Guide to Hawaiian Archaeological Places of Interest by Van James
Call Number: DU624.65 .J36 2010 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Talking Hawaiʻi's Story: Oral Histories of an Island People by Michi Kodama-Nishimoto, Warren S. Nishimoto, Cynthia A. Oshiro (Editors)
Call Number: DU627.5 .T356 2009 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st Floor)
Includes 29 extensive oral histories.
Also available online via JSTOR Books.
The Story of Waikiki and the "Reclamation" Project by Barry Seichi Nakamura
Call Number: DU629.W44 N34 1979a (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st Floor)

Find Journal & Magazine Articles

Hawaiʻi Pacific Journal Index
An index to magazines and journals published in or about Hawaiʻi & the Pacific; citations only. See the Reference Desk for help locating print issues. See Titles and Coverage for a list of the journals and magazines included.

EBSCOhost Research Databases This link opens in a new window
Use EBSCOhost Research Databases to find journals, magazines, & newspapers.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles and eBooks.

The Hawaiian Journal of History
An annual scholarly journal devoted to original articles on the history of Hawai‘i, Polynesia, and the Pacific area. Available online in full-text from UH Mānoa eVols (1967-2021) and via EBSCOhost's Academic Search Complete (2003-2021).
Current & past issues are also available in Print at Lama Library.
Thrum's Hawaiian Annual
"A handbook of valuable and statistical information relating to the Hawaiian Islands." Includes articles on a variety of Hawaiʻi-related topics. 1875-1936
Available online via eVols.
Paradise of the Pacific Magazine
Commissioned by King Kalākaua in 1888, this magazine promoted local business and tourism.
Some issues available online via Google Books. Additional issues available online via HathiTrust.
Hana Hou! The Magazine of Hawaiian Airlines
Selection of articles available online.
ScholarSpace
An open-access, digital institutional repository for the intellectual works and unique collections of the UH Mānoa academic community. Publications from the Center for Pacific Island Studies are available here.
eVols
eVols is an open-access, digital institutional repository for material that UH Mānoa digitizes as part of grant projects and digital library initiatives.
Google Scholar
How-to Video for Setting Up & Using Google Scholar [2:20].

Find Newspapers Articles

Honolulu Newspapers (via ProQuest)
Full text access to articles from:
Honolulu Star-Advertiser: 06/07/2010 - Present
Honolulu Advertiser: 01/01/1999 - 06/06/2010
Honolulu Star-Bulletin: 03/18/1996 - 06/06/2010
Honolulu Civil Beat
Online newspaper dedicated to public affairs reporting about Hawaiʻi. 2010-Present.
Chronicling America: Historic Newspapers
Digitized English-language newspapers published in Hawaiʻi from 1836-1922.
Hoʻolaupaʻi: He ʻOhina Nūpepa ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi
An online collection of historic Hawaiian-language newspapers published between 1834 and 1948.

Selection of Articles

Waikiki Beach, Oahu, Hawaii: History of its Transformation from a Natural to an Urban Shore [PDF]

"Canoes at Diamond Head," by Edward Bailey, 1890.

The Legacy of ʻĀinahau: the Genealogy of Kaʻiulani's Banyan [PDF]
Hawaiian Journal of History, 2011
Honolulu's Breathing Spot
Paradise of the Pacific. 1897.
Rememebering and Forgetting at The Waikīkī War Memorial Park and Natatorium [PDF]
Ireland, Brian. The Hawaiian Journal of History, vol. 39 (2005).
Steeped in history, the Moana exudes elegance in Waikiki
Honolulu Star-Advertiser, 2012

He Nīnau? (Questions?)

Erica Dias

Email Me

Contact:

Call or email to schedule a Zoom!

(808) 734-9599

Subjects: Hawaii, Hawaiian Language (HAW), Hawaiian Studies (HWST), Pacific Islands Studies (PACS)

Websites

History of the Waikiki War Memorial Natatorium

Historic Maps

AVAKonohiki: land and map research
Digitized historic maps, includes several from the Waikīkī area

Waikīkī Fisheries map [PDF] (1909)

Honolulu Dakin Fire Insurance Map (1906)

Photos

Horseback Riders of the Honolulu Hunt Club in Kapiʻolani Park, 1930s

"Waikiki." Library of Congress. 1922.

Films

Waikīkī: In the Wake of Dreams (Film)
Call Number: KDVD 248 ((AV/Media Collection)
DVD. The first comprehensive chronicle of Waikiki’s 500-year history brought to life with historical photographs and moving footage, Hollywood clips, and rare oral histories told by the people who made Waikiki, Waikiki.

Oral Histories

Interview with Sadao Hikida
"A longtime Moana Hotel worker writes about his father's carpentry and caretaking jobs at Ainahau and other Waikiki estates; mother's home laundry; Waikiki streams and flooding; Chinese farms; Kuhio and Moana piers and other Waikiki landmarks; Ala Wai Canal dredging; Waikiki School; Moana Hotel and its employees; 1946 tidal wave, and Kapiolani Park."

Waikiki, 1910-1985: Oral Histories
A collection of over 50 interview transcriptions.

Hawaiian Legends Index

Search here to help you locate myths and legends indexed in 77 books.

Poetry

Indigenous Pacific Islander Eco-Literatures by Kathy Jetñil-Kijiner; Leora Kava; Craig Santos Perez (editors)
Call Number: PR9645.5 .I53 2022 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Also available online via JSTOR Books.
See pp. 301-302 for "Water Remembers" by Brandy Nālani McDougall.

ENG 100 - Waikīkī : Home