Skip to Main Content

Library and Learning Resources, Kapiʻolani Community College

Animals in Hawaiian Culture: Home

Table of Contents

Holoholona (animals)

Lāʻau (plants)

Lāʻau Lapaʻau (medicinal plants)

Loko Iʻa (fishponds)

Ke Kai (ocean)

Shoreline Erosion

Lēʻahi (Diamond Head)

Hawaiʻi Place Names

Fish and Reef Animals

Native Use of Fish in Hawaii by Margaret Titcomb
Call Number: QL636.5.H3 T58 1972 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)

Also available as an eBook via Ulukau.
Hawaiian Reef Animals
Call Number: QL636.5.H3 H62 1990 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

The Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection is located on the 1st floor of Kapiʻolani CC Library. For Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference books, please see the Circulation Desk. Search for more books in the library catalog.

Hawaiʻi's Fishes by John P. Hoover
Call Number: QL636.5.H3 H672 2000 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Shore Fishes of Hawaiʻi by John E. Randall
Call Number: QL636.5.H3 R359 2010 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ebook Central.
Fishes of Hawaii: A Handbook of the Marine Fishes of Hawaii and the Central Pacific Ocean by Spencer Wilkie Tinker
Call Number: QL636.5.H3 T49 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Ka ʻOihana Lawaiʻa = Hawaiian Fishing Traditions by Daniel Kahāʻulelio; Puakea Nogelmeier
Call Number: SH319.H3 K34 2006 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Hawaiian and English.
Native Use of Marine Invertebrates in Old Hawaii by (article via ScholarSpace)
Titcomb M, Fellows DB, Pukui MK, Devaney DM. 1978. Native use of marine invertebrates in old Hawaii. Pac Sci 32(4): 325-386.

Manō (sharks) in Hawaiian Culture

Nanaue the Shark Man and Other Hawaiian Shark Stories by Emma M. Nakuina
Call Number: GR110.H38 N36 1994 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Sharks of Hawaiʻi: Their Biology and Cultural Signifance by Leighton Taylor
Call Number: QL638.8 T38 1993 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference-Ask for Assistance)
Sharks Hawaiʻi by Arnold Y. Suzumoto; Rowland B. Reeve; Richard L. Pyle
Call Number: QL638.9.S96 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference-Ask for Assistance)
Hawaiian Fishing Traditions by Moke Manu
Call Number: GR110.H38 H387 2006 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

See Appendix 3: "Hawaiian Shark ʻAumākua" by Martha Beckwith
Hawaiian Surfing: Traditions From the Past by John Clark
Call Number: GV839.65.H3 C53 2011 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ebook Central.
See p. 53 "Sharks in the Surf"
Hawaiian Legends of the Guardian Spirits by Caren Loebel-Fried
Call Number: PZ8.1.L934 Haw 2002 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
Sharks and Rays of Hawaiʻi by Gerald L. Crow; Jennifer Crites
Call Number: QL638.9 .C765 2002 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Hawaiʻi Tiger Shark Tracking (Website)

Snails and Shells

A World in a Shell: Snail Stories for a Time of Extinctions by Thom van Dooren
Available online via eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).

Hawaiian Shell News
"An educational publication of the Hawaiian Malacological Society." View and search digitized issues online from 1960 until 2011.

Birds

Bird Life in Hawaii by Andrew John Berger
Call Number: QL684.H3 .B46 1986 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Birds of Hawaii
Call Number: QL694.H3 M8 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Also available online via eBook Public Library Collection (EBSCOhost).
And available online via HathiTrust Digital Library.
The Birds of Kauaʻi by Jim Denny
Call Number: QL684.H3 D45 1999 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Conservation Biology of Hawaiian Forest Birds: Implications for Island Avifauna by Thane K. Pratt
Call Number: QL684.H3 C66 2009 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference, Ask at Circulation)
Hawaii's Birds by Hawaii Audubon Society
Call Number: QL694.H3 H38 1997 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Hawaiian Birdlife by Andrew John Berger
Call Number: QL684.H3 B47 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Hawaiian Birds of the Sea: Nā Manu Kai by Robert J. Shallenberger
Call Number: QL684.H3 S53 2010 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via JSTOR Books.
A Photographic Guide to the Birds of Hawaiʻi: The Main Islands and Offshore Waters by Jim Denny
Call Number: QL684.H3 D453 2010 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Scientific Bases for the Preservation of the Hawaiian Crow, The
Call Number: QL696.P2367 N37 1992 (Hawaiian Collection)

Also available as an eBook
Hawaiian Legends of the Guardian Spirits by Caren Loebel-Fried
Call Number: PZ8.1.L934 Haw 2002 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
Seeking the Sacred Raven: politics and extinction on a Hawaiian Island
Call Number: QL696.P2367 W35 2006 (Hawaiian Collection)
Pueo (website)
DLNR Online Info Page

ʻElepaio Journal
Journal of the Hawaii Audubon Society, containing peer-reviewed scientific articles, updates on local environmental issues, and society activities.

Mammals

Mammals in Hawaii; a Synopsis and Notational Bibliography by P. Quentin Tomich
Call Number: QL719.H3 T6 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
A Field Guide to the Mammals in Hawaii by Sandra G. van Riper; Charles van Riper, III
Call Number: QL719.H3 V3 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
The Whales of Hawaii, Including All Species of Marine Mammals in Hawaiian and Adjacent Waters by Kenneth C. Balcomb; Stanley M. Minasian; Larry Foster
Call Number: QL737.C4 B236 1999 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Hawaiian Land Mammals by Raymond J. Kramer
Call Number: QL735.H3 K7 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)