This is the "Home" page of the "Lēʻahi: Diamond Head Scenic Byway Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Lēʻahi: Diamond Head Scenic Byway Research  

Last Updated: Jul 25, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu/diamond-head-scenic-byway Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Annotated Bibliographies

Follow these links below to build and view the annotated bibliography for your group.

Google Map
(if you cannot access the map, sign out of your hawaii.edu account)

 

Books: Segment 1

Cover Art
Kapiʻolani Park: a history - Robert Weyeneth
Call Number: DU629.K2785 W494 2002 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Diamond Head: Hawaiʻi's Icon - Allan Seiden
Call Number: DU629.D53 S44 2002 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Waikīkī: a history of forgetting & remembering - Andrea Feeser
Call Number: DU629.W44 F44 2006 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Waikīkī: Nine Walks Through Time - Veneeta Acson
Call Number: DU629.H7 A25 2003 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Waikīkī: images of America - Kai White; Jim Kraus
Call Number: DU629.H7 W47 2007 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Waikīkī, 1900-1985 : oral histories
Call Number: DU629.W44 W3 1988 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Honolulu Then and Now - Sheila Sarhangi
Call Number: DU629.H7 S27 2007 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
The saga of the Sandwich Islands - Edward B. Scott
Call Number: DU623 S37 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Waikīkī 2000, Honolulu Zoo Master Plan: background information
Call Number: QL76.5.U62 H666 (UH Mānoa, Hamilton Library ONLY)

Cover Art
Waikīkī Historic Trail - George S. Kanahele
Call Number: DU629.H7 W334 2001 (UH Mānoa, Hamilton Library ONLY)

Cover Art
Kapiʻolani Park: a Victorian landscape of leisure - Robert Weyeneth
Call Number: DU629.K2785 W49 1991 (UH Mānoa, Hamilton Library ONLY)

 

Books: Segment 2

Cover Art
Kapiʻolani Park: a history - Robert Weyeneth
Call Number: DU629.K2785 W494 2002 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Diamond Head: Hawaiʻi's Icon - Allan Seiden
Call Number: DU629.D53 S44 2002 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Hawaiian Surfing: traditions from the past - John R. K. Clark
Call Number: GV839.65.H3 C53 2011 (Hawaiian Collection)
Includes information on traditional surf sites on Oʻahu. See p.409 for Waikīkī Place Names Related to Surfing. (Also includes info on Papaʻenaʻena Heiau)

Cover Art
Hawai'i Place Names: Shores, Beaches, and Surf Sites - John R. K. Clark
Call Number: DU622 .C546 2002 (Hawaiian Collection-1st Floor)

Cover Art
Beaches of Oʻahu - John Clark
Call Number: GB458.8 .C59 2005 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Waikīkī: a history of forgetting & remembering - Andrea Feeser
Call Number: DU629.W44 F44 2006 (Hawai'i & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Waikīkī: Nine Walks Through Time - Veneeta Acson
Call Number: DU629.H7 A25 2003 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Waikīkī: images of America - Kai White; Jim Kraus
Call Number: DU629.H7 W47 2007 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Waikīkī, 1900-1985 : oral histories
Call Number: DU629.W44 W3 1988 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
The saga of the Sandwich Islands - Edward B. Scott
Call Number: DU623 S37 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Kapiʻolani Park: a Victorian landscape of leisure - Robert Weyeneth
Call Number: DU629.K2785 W49 1991 (UH Mānoa, Hamilton Library ONLY)

 

Books: Segment 3

Cover Art
Kapiʻolani Park: a history - Robert Weyeneth
Call Number: DU629.K2785 W494 2002 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Diamond Head: Hawaiʻi's Icon - Allan Seiden
Call Number: DU629.D53 S44 2002 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Beaches of Oʻahu - John Clark
Call Number: GB458.8 .C59 2005 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Hawaiian Surfing: traditions from the past - John R. K. Clark
Call Number: GV839.65.H3 C53 2011 (Hawaiian Collection)
Includes information on traditional surf sites on Oʻahu. See p.409 for Waikīkī Place Names Related to Surfing.

Cover Art
Hawaiʻi 50: five decades of photography
Call Number: DU621.5 .H386 2008 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Waikīkī: Nine Walks Through Time - Veneeta Acson
Call Number: DU629.H7 A25 2003 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Waikīkī: images of America - Kai White; Jim Kraus
Call Number: DU629.H7 W47 2007 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
The Architecture of Charles W. Dickey - Robert Jay
Call Number: NA730.H3 J39 1992 (Hawaiian Reference)

Cover Art
The saga of the Sandwich Islands - Edward B. Scott
Call Number: DU623 S37 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Hawai'i Place Names: Shores, Beaches, and Surf Sites - John R. K. Clark
Call Number: DU622 .C546 2002 (Hawaiian Collection-1st Floor)

 

Books: Segment 4

Cover Art
Diamond Head: Hawaiʻi's Icon - Allan Seiden
Call Number: DU629.D53 S44 2002 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Beaches of Oʻahu - John Clark
Call Number: GB458.8 .C59 2005 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Hawaiian Surfing: traditions from the past - John R. K. Clark
Call Number: GV839.65.H3 C53 2011 (Hawaiian Collection)
Includes information on traditional surf sites on Oʻahu. See p.409 for Waikīkī Place Names Related to Surfing.

Cover Art
Hawaiʻi 50: five decades of photography
Call Number: DU621.5 .H386 2008 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Hawai'i Place Names: Shores, Beaches, and Surf Sites - John R. K. Clark
Call Number: DU622 .C546 2002 (Hawaiian Collection-1st Floor)

 

Books: Segment 5

Cover Art
Diamond Head: Hawaiʻi's Icon - Allan Seiden
Call Number: DU629.D53 S44 2002 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Waikīkī: a history of forgetting & remembering - Andrea Feeser
Call Number: DU629.W44 F44 2006 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
History of the harbor defenses of Honolulu - Paul B. Rupp
Call Number: UA26.R84 R87 (UH Mānoa, Hamilton Library ONLY)



Cover Art
The saga of the Sandwich Islands - Edward B. Scott
Call Number: DU623 S37 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Public use and access in the Diamond Head Crater - Charles H. Nishimura
Call Number: DU629 O53 N57 1988 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Honolulu Then and Now - Sheila Sarhangi
Call Number: DU629.H7 S27 2007 (Hawaiian Collection)

 

Books @ KCC Library

Cover Art
Place Names of Hawaii
Call Number: DU622 .P79 1974 (Hawaiian Reference-Located behind circulation desk)
ONLINE VERSION
OR Search via Hawaiian Dictionaries Tip: Under CUSTOMIZE SEARCH, select PLACE NAMES OF HAWAII


Cover Art
Ancient Sites of Oahu - Van James
Call Number: DU624 J36 2010 (Hawaiian Collection)

 

Newspaper Articles: full-text online

Logo and link to Honolulu Star-Advertiser at ProQuest                              

Honolulu Newspapers
(Full-Text articles via ProQuest Database) 

Search full-text articles:

  • Honolulu Star-Advertiser (June 7, 2010-current)
  • Honolulu Advertiser (Nov. 30, 2002-June 6, 2010)
  • Honolulu Star-Bulletin (March 18, 1996-Jun. 6, 2010)

1836-1922: Chronicling America
Search full-text historic American newspapers, including the Honolulu Star-Bulletin, July 1, 1912-Dec. 31, 1917,and many other Hawaiʻi newspapers.


Kapiʻo Archives
Search the archives of KCC's student newspaper.


Hoʻolaupaʻi: Hawaiian Language Newspapers 1834-1948

 

Hawaiʻi Newspaper Index

                                    

Search these indexes of Honolulu newspapers going back to 1929.  

1989-currentHawaiʻi Newspaper Index Online

1929-1988: Index to the Honolulu Advertiser and
                      Honolulu Star-Bulletin (Print; Located
                      in the Hawaiian Reference Collection)

1929-1967Online access to index

Once you find a citation to an article in the index, you must then go to the newspaper microfilm to find the full-text. Please ask for assistance if you are not familiar with microfilm:

  • For articles from 1980+: use the microfilm on the first floor of the KCC library.
  • For all articles prior to 1980, microfilm is available at selected public libraries, including Kaimukī Public Library, and UH-Mānoa Hamilton Library)

1840-1944: Bob Krauss Research Index
                      an index of select English-language
                      newspapers from Hawaiʻi,
                      links to full-text if available online

Hawaiʻi News Sites

Click on individual links below, or search them all at once by using the search bar above.

 

Hawaiian Legends Index

Search here to help you locate myths and legends indexed in 77 books.   

Search for:

 

appear somewhere in Subject

Print edition also available in the Hawaiian Reference section


Kapi'olani Community College Library  •  4303 Diamond Head Road  •  Honolulu Hawai'i 96816
library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu  •   Reference: 808-734-9359   •   Circulation: 808-734-9268   •   Contact Us

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip