This is the "Home" page of the "Loko Iʻa: Hawaiian Fishponds" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Loko Iʻa: Hawaiian Fishponds  

Last Updated: Feb 4, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu/fishponds Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books @ KCC Library

Ancient Sites of Oʻahu - Van James
Call Number: DU624.65 .J36 2010 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Cover Art
Ancient Hawaii shore zone fishponds : an evaluation of survivors for historical preservation
Call Number: SH133.H3 A66 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Cover Art
Tide and Current - Carol A. Wyban
Call Number: SH35 H3 W93 1992 (Hawaiian Reference-Request at Circulation Desk)

Cover Art
Hawaiian Fishponds - Catherine C. Summers
Call Number: SH133.H3 S9 (Hawaiian Reference-Request at Circulation Desk)

Cover Art
Ancient Hawaiian Fishponds - Joseph M. Farber
Call Number: SH157.85.F52 F27 1997 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Cover Art
The potential for mullet and milkfish culture in Hawaiian fishponds : a report
Call Number: SH35.H3 M34 Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Cover Art
Ancient Sites of Maui, Molokaʻi and Lānaʻi - Van James
Call Number: DU624 .J35 2002 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)



Cover Art
Project Kāhea Loko, "The call of the pond" : a teacher's guide to Hawaiian fishponds
Call Number: GC1 .H3833 no.03-01 (Hawaiian Reference-Requst at Circulation Desk)
Also available online via Ulukau

Cover Art
Loko iʻa : a manual on Hawaiian fishpond restoration and management
Call Number: SH35.H3 K43 2007 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Also available online

 

Interior Fishpond near Kapiʻolani Park

 

Find Journal Articles

Use these databases to find journal articles:

The Hawaiian Journal of History (via ScholarSpace): Devoted to orginal articles  on the history of Hawaiʻi, Polynesia, and the Pacific area. 

Thrum's Hawaiian Annual (1875-1923): Statistics on business, population, government, weather, geography; Articles on a wide variety of topics. 

ScholarSpace: the intellectual works and unique collections of the UHM academic community.

eVolsdigital institutional repository for the University of Hawaiʻi community and researchers around the world.

Hawaiʻi & Pacific Journal Index: An index to magazines and journals published in or about Hawaiʻi & the Pacific (citations only).

Pacific Science (via ScholarSpace) : research on the biological and physical sciences of the Pacific basin.

ScienceDirect:  over 2,000 full-text scholarly journals in science, technology, and medicine, as well as social sciences, arts, and humanities. [More ScienceDirect Help]

PubMed Central: Fulltext access to over 2.6 million articles.

EBSCO Databases: Try Academic Search Premier, Agricola, and GreenFILE. [More EBSCO Help]

Science: Scientific research, global news, and commentary. [More Science Help]

Google Scholar: If fulltext is not available, check the KCC Journal Collection.

 

Find Newspaper Articles

Cover Art
Chronicling America: Historic Newspapers
Digitized English-language newspapers published in Hawaiʻi from 1836-1922

Cover Art
Hoʻolaupaʻi:Hawaiian Nūpepa (Newspaper) Collection
An online collection of historic Hawaiian-language newspapers published from 1834-1948.

Honolulu Newspapers (ProQuest)
Curent articles from the Honolulu Star-Advertiser (June 7, 2010 – present) Honolulu Advertiser (Nov. 20, 2002 – May 13, 2010) Honolulu Star-Bulletin (Nov. 26, 1991 – Jun. 6, 2010)

 

Websites

Hui Mālama Loko Iʻa
A growing network of fishpond practitioners and organizations from across the Hawaiian islands.

Oʻahu Fishponds Lecture
Lectures by Lilikala Kameʻeleihiwa (scroll to bottom of page)

Paepae o Heʻeia
Heʻeia Fishpond, Oʻahu

Maunalua Fishpond Heritage Center
Kalauhaʻihaʻi and Kanewai Fishpond, Maunalua, Oʻahu


Kapi'olani Community College Library  •  4303 Diamond Head Road  •  Honolulu Hawai'i 96816
library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu  •   Reference: 808-734-9359   •   Circulation: 808-734-9268   •   Contact Us

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip