Skip to Main Content

Library and Learning Resources, Kapiʻolani Community College

Hawaiʻi & Pacific Book Displays

Learn more about the books on display in the Hawaiʻi & Pacific section.

Previous Display

Looking for something fun to do, or read, in the summer? Check out our display on things to do at/in ke kahakai (the beach) and ke kai (the ocean): learn inoa ʻāina (place names) and moʻolelo (stories/history); sing and recite mele (songs/poetry); fall in love with the beauty of iʻa (fish/sea animals). This guide is not comprehensive but a starting point for research and learning.

Fast Talking PI by Selina Tusitala Marsh
Call Number: PR9642.M376 F38 2012 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
An Underwater Guide to Hawaiʻi by Ann Fielding; Ed Robinson
Call Number: QH198.H3 F54 1987 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Hana: A Photographic History of Hawaii's Paradise by Bruce McAllister
Call Number: DU629.H38 M33 2017 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Aloha Waikiki: 100 Years of Pictures From Hawaii's Most Famous Beach by DeSoto Brown
Call Number: DU629.W44 B7 1985 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Soul Surfer: A True Story of Faith, Family, and Fighting to Get Back on the Board by Bethany Hamilton; Sheryl Berk; Rick Bundschuh
Call Number: GV838.H36 A3 2006 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
More Kauaʻi Tales by Frederick B. Wichman
Call Number: PS571.H3 B35 no.70 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Hawaiʻi One Summer by Maxine Hong Kingston
Call Number: PS3561.I52 Z468 1998 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Hawaiʻi Place Names: Shores, Beaches, and Surf Sites by John R. K. Clark
Call Number: DU622 .C546 2002 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Available online via Ebook Central.
Also available online as an eBook via Ulukau.
Sand to Sea: Marine Life of Hawaii by Stephanie Feeney; Ann Fielding; Ed Robinson
Call Number: QH198.H3 F44 1989 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Detours: A Decolonial Guide to Hawaiʻi
Call Number: DU624.5 .D486 2019 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ebook Central.
Whetu Moana: Contemporary Polynesian Poems in English by Albert Wendt; Reina Whaitiri; Robert Sullivan (editors)
Call Number: PR9645.65 .W48 2003 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ebook Central.
Haliʻa Aloha no Kalapana = Fond Memories of Kalapana by Maile Waipa Carr; Nalani Kekaula
Call Number: DU629. K25 C37 2012 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
The Ocean in the School: Pacific Islander Students Transforming Their University by Rick Bonus
Call Number: LC3501.P33 B66 2020 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via JSTOR Books.
A Field Guide to Hawaiʻi's Coastal Organisms: Algae and Invertebrates by Joanna Philippoff; Caroline Wood; Kanoe Morishige; Florybeth F. La Valle; Matthew Wood; Anuschka Faucci
Call Number: QH541.5.S35 P495 2018 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Now here's a book we actually encourage you to get wet! Borrow and take this field guide with you on your next tidepool adventure.
Also available online via Google Drive PDF.
Learn more about Our Project in Hawaiʻi's Intertidal (OPIHI) at opihi.crdg.hawaii.edu.
Surfing = Heʻe Nalu: Hawaiian Proverbs and Inspiriational Quotes Celebrating Hawaiʻi's Royal Sport
Call Number: GV840.S8 S97 2003 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Kekaʻa: The Making and Saving of North Beach West Maui by Sydney Lehua Iaukea
Call Number: HD211.M3 I38 2014 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
At the Beach: Hawaii's Favorite Pastime by Sam Malvaney
Call Number: GV54.H3 M35 1986 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
We are the Ocean: Selected Works by Epeli Hauʻofa
Call Number: PR9655.9.H38 A6 2008 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ebook Central.
Kumulipo Wā ʻAlua by Kalei Nuʻuhiwa
Call Number: QL636.5.H3 N88 2011 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Hawaiʻi's Best Beaches by John R. K. Clark
Call Number: DU622 .C547 1999 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
The Hawaiian Sheet Music Collection: 51 Favorite Songs of the Islands
Call Number: M1844.H3 H39 2008 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Includes the lyrics and sheet music for ocean-related favorites like: ʻAma ʻAma; Hawaiian Roller Coaster Ride; Kūhiō Bay; Na Peʻa, o Hōkūleʻa; ʻOpae Ē; Pearly Shells (Pūpū a o ʻEwa); ʻUlili Ē; White Sandy Beach.
Surfing Hawaii by Bank Wright
Call Number: GV840.S8 W75 1985 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Exploring Hanauma Bay by Susan Scott; David R. Schrichte
Call Number: GV840.S78 S35 2013 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Tide and Current: Fishponds of Hawaiʻi by Carol Araki Wyban
Call Number: SH35.H3 W93 2020 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ebook Central.

Last Updated: Sep 23, 2025 12:26 PM
URL: https://guides.library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu/hpdisplays
Print Page

Subjects: Hawaii, Hawaiian Studies (HWST)