Skip to Main Content

Library and Learning Resources, Kapiʻolani Community College

Hawaiʻi & Pacific Book Displays

Learn more about the books on display in the Hawaiʻi & Pacific section.

Previous Display

In February we celebrate Ka Mahina ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi (Hawaiian Language Month) and Black History Month. Makahiki season also continues through January and February. You will find resources on display that highlight ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi, Black History in Hawaiʻi and beyond, and Makahiki. All resources on display can be borrowed!

Makahiki

ʻAno Lani; ʻAno Honua = A Heavenly Nature; An Earthly Nature: A Spiritual Guide to the Hawaiian Lunar Calendar by Kahu Wendell Kalanikapuaenui Silva
Call Number: BL2620.H3 S54 2017 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Makahiki by Naomi N. Y. Chun; Robin Yoko Racoma
Call Number: GT4995.M35 C46 2006 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
From the Mountains to the Sea: Early Hawaiian Life
Call Number: DU624.65 .W54 1997 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

"Ka Makahiki" pp.163-168
Nā Hōʻailona Hānau = Hawaiian Birth Signs: The Hawaiian Lunar Calendar by Kahu Wendell Kalanikapuaenui Silva
Call Number: BF1714.H3 S54 2013 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Stories of Life in Old Hawaiʻi by Caroline Curtis; Oliver C. Kinney
Call Number: DU624.5 .C87 1998 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

"Makahiki" pp.167-197
Mahina by Papakū Makawalu
Call Number: CE61.H3 P373 2011 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Native Planters in Old Hawaii: Their Life, Lore, and Environment by E.S. Craighill Handy, Elizabeth Green Handy, & Mary Kawena Pukui
Call Number: GN424 .H3
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

See index "Makahiki" and "Makahiki festival" for more information.
Ke Kumu Aupuni = The Foundation of Hawaiian Nationhood by Samuel Mānaiakalani Kamakau; M. Puakea Nogelmeier (translator)
Call Number: DU624.96.K35 .K3513 2022 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Information about Makahiki on p.115, pp.209-301.

ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi (Hawaiian Language)

ʻŌlelo Noʻeau: Hawaiian Proverbs & Poetical Sayings by Mary Kawena Pukui
Call Number: PN6519.H4 P84 1983 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
Māmaka Kaiao: A Modern Hawaiian Vocabulary by Kōmike Huaʻolelo; Hale Kuamoʻo; ʻAha Pūnana Leo
Call Number: PL6446 .M36 2003 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ulukau (2003 edition)
We also have the print copy of the 1998 edition.
We also have the print copy of the 1996 edition.
"Ka Lāhui Hawaiʻi: He Moʻolelo, He ʻĀina, He Loina, a He Ea Kākou," Hūlili, Vol. 6 by Leilani Basham
Call Number: DU624.65 .H855 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

PDF also available online via Kamehameha Publishing.
Article in ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi with English-language summary at the end of the article.
Place Names of Hawaii by Mary Kawena Pukui; Samuel H. Elbert; Esther T. Mookini
Call Number: DU622 .P79 1976 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online as an eBook via Ulukau,
OR Search via Hawaiian Dictionaries
ʻŌlelo Hou: Beginning Conversational Hawaiian by John Keolamakaʻāinana Lake
Call Number: PL6445 .L35 2016 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Hawaigo nyūmon ハワイ語入門 / アルバータ・プアラニ・ホプキンス著 ; クウレイナニ橋本, 塩谷亨訳 = Ka lei ha'aheo : beginning Hawaiian by Hopkins, Alberta Pualani
Call Number: PL6445 .H6616 1997 (Japan Collection, 2nd floor)

We also have the print copy of the English version.
Spoken Hawaiian by Samuel H. Elbert
Call Number: PL6443 .E4 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ulukau.
ʻŌlelo ʻŌiwi: Hawaiian Language Fundamentals by Hōkūlani Cleeland
Call Number: PL6443 .C54 2022 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
O Na Holoholona Wawae Eha O Ka Lama Hawaii (The Four-Footed Animals of Ka Lama Hawaii) by G. W. Kahiolo; Esther T. Mookini (Editor, Translator)
Call Number: QL706 .K34 1985 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
He Moolelo Pokole no ka Huakai a ka Moiwahine Kapiolani a me ke Kamaliiwahine Liliuokalani i ka Lubile o ka Moiwahine Victoria o Beretania Nui by James W. L. McGuire
Call Number: DU627.17.K37 M32 1995 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ulukau.
Lei Momi O ʻEwa by Sarah Keliʻilolena Nākoa
Call Number: DU 629 .E9 N34 2016 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
He Mele Aloha: A Hawaiian Songbook by Carol Wilcox; Kimo Hussey; Vicky Hollinger; Puakea Nogelmeier
Call Number: M1844.H3 H4 2008 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Ka moʻolelo o Hiʻiakaikapoliopele : ka wahine i ka hikina a ka lā, ka uʻi palekoki uila o Halemaʻumaʻu by Hoʻoulumāhiehie, author.; Nogelmeier, Puakea, translator.; Enos, Solomon, illustrator.
Call Number: GR385.H3 H66 2013 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Ka hopita : a iʻole, i laila a hoʻi hou mai by Tolkien, J. R. R. (John Ronald Reuel), 1892-1973, author, illustrator.; NeSmith, Keao, translator.
Call Number: PL6448.9.T648 Hop 2015 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Kūkaukaʻi ka ʻapapane a me ka ʻōhiʻa by Pāhana ʻĀina Lupalupa, author.
Call Number: PL6445 .P2485 2019 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

We also have this book in English.
Nā keiki ʻelima = The Five Keiki by Wilson, William H.; Andrews, Lilinoe.
Call Number: PL6445 .W555 2011 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ulukau .

Black History Month - Featured Books Display

Books and DVDs about Black History in Hawaiʻi and beyond can be found on the Featured Books Display (computer lab area).

Hawaiʻi and Pacific

Hawaiʻi is My Haven: Race and Indigeneity in the Black Pacific by Nitasha Tamar Sharma
Call Number: E185.93.H3 S53 2021 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
Strange Fruit of the Black Pacific: Imperialism's Racial Justice and its Fugitives by Vince Schleitwiler
Call Number: DU18 .S45 2017 (General Collection, 2nd floor)
And they came : a brief history and annotated bibliography of Blacks in Hawaii by Jackson, Miles M.
Call Number: E185.93.H3 J33 2001 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
African Americans in Hawai'i by D. Molentia Guttman; Ernest Golden; African American Diversity Cultural Center Hawai'i
Call Number: E185.93.H3 G87 2011 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Opele : report on African Americans at the University of Hawaiʻi by Takara, Kathryn Waddell.; University of Hawaii at Manoa. Office of Student Affairs.
Call Number: LC2781 .T35 1992 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
They Followed the Trade Winds by Miles M. Jackson (Editor)
Call Number: (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Oral histories of African Americans by University of Hawaii at Manoa. Center for Oral History.
Call Number: DU624.7.N4 A31 1990 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

The print book is unavailable because it is being mended. An online version is available via ScholarSpace.
Holding fast the dream : Hawaiʻi's African American experience by Jackson, Miles M., 1929-; Altieri, Lisa.; Okino, Steve.; Aranita, Aaron.; Wallace Alexander Gerbode Foundation.; Hawaiʻi Council for the Humanities
Call Number: KDVD 227 (AV/Media Collection, 1st floor)
The World and All the Things upon It : native Hawaiian geographies of exploration by David A. Chang
Call Number: G222 .C53 2016 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via JSTOR .
The Dream Begins : how Hawai'i shaped Barack Obama by Stu Glauberman; Jerry Burris
Call Number: E901.1.O23 G55 2008 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
People and Cultures of Hawaiʻi: The Evolution of Culture and Ethnicity by John F. McDermott and Naleen Naupaka Andrade (editors)
Call Number: BF698.9.C8 P46 2011 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Chapter 10 "The Blacks," pp.220-239

United States

March by Lewis, John, 1940-2020, author.; Aydin, Andrew, author.; Powell, Nate, illustrator
Call Number: E840.8.L43 A3 2013 (General Collection, 2nd floor)

Volume 1, Volume 2, and Volume 3 are all on display.
The Black Panther Party by David F. Walker; Marcus Kwame Anderson (Illustrator)
Call Number: E185.615 .W275 2021 (General Collection, 2nd floor)
The Jemima Code by Toni Tipton-Martin
Call Number: TX715.2.A47 T57 2015 (Oversized Collection, 2nd floor)
Eating While Black by Psyche A. Williams-Forson
Call Number: E185.89.F66 W55 2022 (General Collection, 2nd floor)
African American Dance by Barbara S. Glass
Call Number: GV1624.7.A34 G53 2007 (General Collection, 2nd floor)
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot
Call Number: RC265.6.L24 S55 2010
The warmth of other suns : the epic story of America's great migration by Isabel Wilkerson
Call Number: E185.6 .W685 2010 (General Collection, 2nd floor)
Twisted : my dreadlock chronicles by Bert Ashe
Call Number: GT2295.U5 A74 2015 (General Collection, 2nd floor)
Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi
Call Number: PS3607.Y37 H66 2016 (General Collection, 2nd floor)
The color purple by Spielberg, Steven, 1946- film director
Call Number: KDVD 302 (AV/Media Collection, 1st floor)

We also have the book this movie is based on in General Collection, 2nd floor.
The Langston Hughes Reader : [the selected writings of Langston Hughes] by Langston Hughes
Call Number: PS3515.U274 A6 1958 (General Collection, 2nd floor)

Last Updated: Sep 23, 2025 12:26 PM
URL: https://guides.library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu/hpdisplays
Print Page

Subjects: Hawaii, Hawaiian Studies (HWST)