Kapiʻolani CC Library LibGuides: Hawaiʻi & Pacific Book Displays: Spring 2025

Books Currently on Display

Mahina ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi (Hawaiian Language Month)

Ke Ao Nani: He Puke Huaʻōlelo 1000
Call Number: PL6446 .H68 2012 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st Floor)
Teaches Hawaiian words for everyday things through word and picture association.
Treasury of Hawaiian Words in One Hundred and One Categories by Harold W. Kent
Call Number: PL6446 K46 1993 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
See list of rains on p. 377 & winds on p. 437
He Mau Nane Hawaiʻi: Hawaiian Riddles by Kimo Armitage; Meleanna Aluli Meyer
Call Number: PZ7.A72 He 2004 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Nānā i ke Kumu = Look to the Source (vol. 1) by Mary Kawena Pukui; E. W. Haertig; Catherine A. Lee
Call Number: DU624.5 P85
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Describes Hawaiian cultural practices, concepts, and beliefs.
Also available online via Ulukau.
Kapaemahu by Hinaleimoana Wong-Kalu; Dean Hamer; and Joe Wilson; Illustrated by Daniel Sousa
Call Number: PZ90.H27 W66 2022 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Kalaupapa Place Names, Waikolu to Nihoa by John R. K. Clark; Iāsona Ellinwood; Keao NeSmith
Call Number: RC154.5.H32 C53 2018 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Also available online via Ebook Central.
Learn Hawaiian at Home by Kahikāhealani Wight
Call Number: PL6443 .W544 2005 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Na Mele Aimoku, Na Mele Kupuna, A Me Na Mele Ponoi O Ka Moi Kalakaua I by Kalākaua
Call Number: GR385.H3 K14 2001 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Also available online via Ulukau.
Prefatory matter in English; text in Hawaiian.
Illustrated Hawaiian Dictionary by Kahikāhealani Wight; Robin Yoko Racoma (Illustrator)
Call Number: PL6446 .W54 2005 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st Floor)
Living With Nature in Hawaii by Jan Moon
Call Number: TX811 .M66 1987 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Go Native: Your Guide to Growing Native Hawaiian and Canoe Plants Wherever You Live, Work or Play by Hilary Parkinson, Paul Arinaga, Jonathan P. Price, Tom Foye, Samuel M. Gon, III, Heather McMillen
Call Number: QK473.H4 P37 2022 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)