Hawaiʻi & Pacific Book Displays

Learn about: the special hoʻokupu (tribute) and meaʻai (food) prepared for Lono during the makahiki festival; the hiʻuwai ceremony; the significance of the makahiki moʻolelo; games played and stories told; the net of Maoloha; etc.

Contains detailed information about ka makahiki (the lunar year), ka mahina (the lunar month), nā pō mahina (the lunar nights), nā anahulu (the lunar phases), including traditional Hawaiian inoa (names) for months (e.g. Kāʻelo for January) and descriptions of activities that are good/not good for each pō mahina. Also includes ka Mele Helu Pō (the Hawaiian moon phases song) and a pule (prayer) to Hina.

Includes in-depth details about the system of heiau in Kahikinui, southeast Maui, including those related to Lono; learn about names like Mata-fiti (Makahiki) and Mata-liki (Makaliʻi).

Read about the makahiki festival, makahiki akua, makahiki kapu, makahiki and makaliʻi moʻolelo, etc.

Includes "histories and descriptions of [54] traditional Hawaiian games with full directions for playing [22] of these games in contemporary settings" (from book cover). Provides details for referees and players, including tips to avoid injuries; illustrations enhance understanding of the games.

Read about the months and the seasons, including phases of the moon, in Part One. Part Four is dedicated entirely to The Makahiki Harvest Festival.

Information included for each hōʻailona hānau: traditional Hawaiian inoa for the month with translation; ʻŌlelo Noʻeau; associated akua and natural elements (e.g. hōkū, meakanu, holoholona); personality characteristics of individuals born in that month.

Read about the hoʻoilo (wet) and kau wela (dry) seasons in Hawaiʻi. View photos of Hawaiʻi associated with each season.

Read about the various ways ka mahina (the moon) and nā hoku (the stars) are described in mele. Some examples include: Hanalei Moon; I'll Weave a Lei of Stars for You; Lēʻahi; Mahina ʻO Hoku; Mī Nei; Pō Laʻilaʻi.

Learn about plants associated with makahiki and Lono; kuahu (roadside shrines) for makahiki; games played during makahiki.

Includes various moʻolelo about ka mahina (the moon) and nā hōkū (the stars), such as "The Lost Sun, Moon, and Stars;" "The Shark in the Milky Way;" "The Woman in Moon."

Read about the month of Makaliʻi, "The Story of Lono-I-Ka-Makahiki," and Kamehameha and makahiki.
Also available online via Ulukau.

Read about the connections of makahiki to Kamehameha and the Naha Stone and Hikiau Heiau, Kaʻawaloa Village, and Captain Cook.

See Vol. 8: Games and Recreation to learn about Hawaiian games, including some that were played during makahiki season. Also available online.

Includes a chapter on makahiki, which contains information about purification, the coming of Lono, games, hula, etc.
Also available online via Ulukau.

Learn about the makahiki festival, including the makahiki accounting system, collection of taxes, sports, games, hula, agricultural temples, ahupuaʻa, etc.
Also available online via Ebook Central.