Kapiʻolani CC Library LibGuides: The Value of Hawai'i: Hawaiian Sustainability: Hawaiian Sustainability

Books & eBooks

Hāʻena: Through the Eyes of the Ancestors by Carlos Andrade
Call Number: DU629.H18 A53 2008 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ebook Central.
Kahoʻolawe : nā leo o Kanaloa : chants and stories of Kahoʻolawe by Wayne Levin
Call Number: DU628.K25 K26 1995

Publication Date: 1995

To get this book ask at the circulation desk
Nā Kuaʻāina: Living Hawaiian Culture by Davianna Pōmaikaʻi McGregor
Call Number: DU624.65 .M39 2007 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ebook Central.
ʻŌlelo Noʻeau: Hawaiian Proverbs & Poetical Sayings by Mary Kawena Pukui
Call Number: PN6519.H4 P84 1983 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Includes index to place names, personal names, birds, fishes and other aquatic animals, and plants. Also available online as an eBook.

Kepano's Complete Hawaiian Concordance to Mary Kawena Pukui's ʻŌlelo Noʻeau
An index to all the Hawaiian words in the ʻōlelo noʻeau themselves.

Place Names of Hawaii by Mary Kawena Pukui; Samuel H. Elbert; Esther T. Mookini
Call Number: DU622 .P79 1976 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online as an eBook via Ulukau,
OR Search via Hawaiian Dictionaries Tip: Under CUSTOMIZE SEARCH, select PLACE NAMES OF HAWAII
Kahana : how the land was lost by Robert H. Stauffer

Call Number: HD1333.U62 H368 2004

Publication Date: 2003

This book can be found in the Hawaiian Collection on the first floor of the library
Water and the Law in Hawai'i by Lawrence H. Miike

Call Number: KFH446 .M55 2004

Publication Date: 2004

This book is not available at the Kapiʻolani CC library. This item can be requested from other University System libraries.
Kailua : in the wisps of the Malanai breeze by Kailua Historical Society

Call Number: DU629.K244 K244 2009

Publication Date: 2009

This item is not available at the Kapiʻolani CC library. This item can be requested from other University System libraries
Sustainable Community Development: Studies in Economic, Environmental, and Cultural Revitalization by Marie D. Hoff

Call Number: HC79 .E5 S86 1998 (UHM Hamilton Library-Main Collection)

This book is not available at the Kapiʻolani CC library. This item can be requested from UH Mānoa.

Online Resources & Articles

Chapter eBook: Hawaiian Sustainability

The Value of Hawaiʻi eBook. Page 249 contains additional resources and page 254 includes a bio of the chapter's author, Davianna Pōmaikaʻi McGregor.
Community Based Economic Development

State of Hawai'i, Department of Business, Economic Development and Tourism, Community-Based Economic Development
The Health of Native Hawaiians

Special Issue of Pacific Health Dialog. The articles in this issue can all be downloaded from this link.

Citation Style For This Chapter

Remember to apply "Hanging Indent" to your citations.

MLA

McGregor, Davianna Pōmaikaʻi. "Hawaiian Sustainability." The Value of Hawaiʻi: Knowing the Past, Shaping the Future, edited by Craig Howes and Jonathan Kay Kamakawiwoʻole Osorio, U of Hawaiʻi P, 2010, pp. 209-216. ProQuest Ebook Central, https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/kapcclib-ebooks/reader.action?docID=3413446&ppg=218.

APA

McGregor, D. P. (2010). Hawaiian sustainability. In C. Howes & J. K. K. Osorio (Eds.), The value of Hawaiʻi: Knowing the past, shaping the future (pp. 209-216). University of Hawaiʻi Press.

The Value of Hawai'i: Hawaiian Sustainability: Hawaiian Sustainability

Table of Contents

Books & eBooks

Online Resources & Articles

Citation Style For This Chapter