Kapiʻolani CC Library LibGuides: PACS 108: Food of the Pacific Islands: Home

Research Topics

General Information

Food of the Pacific Islands

Pacific Islanders in Hawaiʻi

Questions?

Erica Dias

Email Me

Contact:

Call or email to schedule a Zoom!

(808) 734-9599

Subjects: Hawaii, Hawaiian Language (HAW), Hawaiian Studies (HWST), Pacific Islands Studies (PACS)

Books on Pacific Foods @ Kapiʻolani CC Library

Food Culture in the Pacific Islands by Roger Haden
Call Number: TX724.5.P28 H34 2009 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ebook Central.
Tradewinds and Coconuts: a reminiscence & recipes from the Pacific Islands by Jennifer Brennan
Call Number: TX725.P17 B7424 2000 (On Reserve-ask for this book at the Circulation desk)
These Roots Remain: food habits in islands of the central and eastern Pacific since western contact by Nancy J. Pollock
Call Number: GN670 .P59 1992 (On Reserve-ask for this book at the Circulation desk)
Cheap Meat: Flap Food Nations in the Pacific Islands by Deborah B. Gewertz; Frederick Karl Errington
Call Number: GN 635 P23 G49 2010 (On Reserve - ask for this book at the Circulation Desk)
From Kai to Kiwi Kitchen by Helen Leach (Editor)
Call Number: TX725.N4 F76 2010 ( General Collection )
Meʻai Samoa : recipes and stories from the heart of Samoa
Call Number: TX725.S25 O45 2013 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Breadfruit Bread and Papaya Pie: Recipes of Micronesia and the Outer Pacific
Call Number: TX725.M5 R64 1982 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Sam Choy's Polynesian Kitchen by Sam Choy
Call Number: TX724.5.P6 C48 2002 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)
The Polynesian Cookbook by Victor Bennett
Call Number: TX724.5.P6 B44 1974 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)
Tahitian Cooking by Michel Swartvagher
Call Number: TX725.T3 S8313 1980 (Hawaii & Pacific Collection)
Real Guamanian Recipes by Dorothy Horn
Call Number: TX724.5.G85 H67 1982 (General Collection)
Shared Wealth and Symbol: food, culture, and society in Oceania and Southeast Asia by Lenore Manderson (Editor)
Call Number: GN663 .S49 1986 (General Collection)
Maori Vegetable Cooking: Traditional and Modern Methods
Call Number: DU423 C6 R55 1988
Some Tropical South Pacific Island Foods: Description, History, Use, Composition, and Nutritive Value by Mary Murai; Carey Dunlap Miller; Florence Pen
Call Number: TX360.I77 M8 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online as an eBook from UHM ScholarSpace.
Cooking Guam Style
Available online from Ethnographic Video Online Vol. 3.

eBooks

Pacific Islands Cookbook
Some Tropical South Pacific Island Foods: Description, History, Use, Composition, and Nutritive Value by Mary Murai; Carey Dunlap Miller; Florence Pen
Call Number: TX360.I77 M8 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online as an eBook from UHM ScholarSpace.

Websites

Where did this ingredient come from?

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Call Number: GT2850 .E53 2003 vol.1-3 (Reference Collection)
The Cambridge World History of Food
Call Number: TX353 .C255 2000 (Oversize Collection)

Use these books to help you discover the external influences on your dish by tracing the origins of its ingredients.

Books at other UH libraries

Pacific Foods: The Staples We Eat by Meleʻofa Malolo; Taiora Matenga-Smith; Robert Hughes
Call Number: DU1 .S6883 no.35 (UH Mānoa Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection)

This book is not available at the Kapiʻolani CC library. This item can be requested from UH Mānoa.

To get books from other UH Libraries:

Go to that library in person, or
Click on "Request Specific Copy" in the library catalog to have books sent to KCC.

Deterioration of Traditional Food Systems, Increasing Malnutrition and Food Dependency in the Pacific Islands by R. R. Thaman; Susan Parkinson
Call Number: TX360.O3 T456 1982a (UHM: Hamilton Pacific - Library Use Only)
Food for Urbanising Polynesian Peoples by R. R. Thaman
Call Number: TX360.O3 T457 1983 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection - Library Use Only)

This book is not available at the Kapiʻolani CC library. This item can be requested from UH Mānoa.

Books in the Hawaiʻi State Public Library System

Breadfruit bread and papaya pie : recipes of Micronesia and the outer Pacific by Nancy Rody
Call Number: H 641.59965 R

Available at several libraries, including: Kaimukī and the Hawaiʻi State Library

Any Hawaiʻi resident or student may apply for a free library card at any branch of the Hawaiʻi State Public Library System. The public library nearest to KCC is Kaimukī Public Library at 1041 Koko Head Drive.

Sam Choy's Polynesian Kitchen by Sam Choy
Call Number: H 641.5996 Ch

Available at several libraries, including: Kaimukī (library use only), Waikīkī-Kapahulu and the Hawaiʻi State Library)
Tradewinds and Coconuts: a reminiscence & recipes from the Pacific Islands by Jennifer Brennan
Call Number: H 641.5995 Br

Available at several libraries, including: Kaimukī, McCully and the Hawaiʻi State Library
Food Culture in the Pacific Islands by Roger Haden
Call Number: H 394.12099 Ha

Available at several libraries, including: Kaimukī and the Hawaiʻi State Library
These Roots Remain: food habits in islands of the central and eastern Pacific since western contact by Nancy J. Pollock
Call Number: H 394.12099 P

Available at the Hawaiʻi State Library