Kapiʻolani CC Library LibGuides: Remote Learning Assistance Guide: Ebooks, Books + Textbooks

ProQuest Ebook Central

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central is a full-text collection of over 80,000 books covering all subjects from the world's leading publishers, plus special technology to help you effectively use these online books for research.

EBSCOHost Ebooks

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Almost 4,000 titles are available online in full-text in EBSCO's eBook Collection, including several books in the successful For Dummies series, and over 300 titles from the University of Hawaii Press. A large collection of publicly accessible eBooks is also included, containing many classic works of literature and history.

Related Library Guides

Ebook Help Guide
Want to know more about ebooks at the Library? Check this out!

Hawaiʻi & the Pacific

Ulukau: Hawaiian Electronic Library
Contains books, Hawaiian-English Dictionary, Newspapers, etc.
Hawaiʻi Open Books (UH Press Open Access)
Includes books and journals, and provides access to UH Press titles in Asian, Hawaiian, and Pacific studies.

Temporary Free Access

Public Books Database
Access hundreds of free titles offered by academic publishers in response to COVID-19.

Online Libraries

Hawai'i State Public Library System
Ebooks, EAudiobooks, Newspapers, magazines, New York Times, online classes, online language learning, and resources for homework, recreation and research.

HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust has a collection of ebooks, reports, and manuscripts in the public domain accessible to all users.

Open Access & Free Ebook Sources

Digital Public Library of America: Open Bookshelf
Browse and download free ebooks. The public is welcome to browse the Open Bookshelf and download ebooks for free. No log-in, password, or registration required.
Project Muse Open Access E-Books
Selections from scholarly presses and societies
Standard Ebooks
Accessible, open source, and free public domain ebooks. Available in epub, kindle, & kobo formats.

Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
A library of over 60,000 free eBooks with free epub and Kindle eBooks, which can be downloaded or read online. Focus is on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.

Search the Library and Beyond

Advanced Search

Search the library for books, ebooks, journal articles, book chapters, videos, newspaper articles, and more.

How to Find Books, and Ebooks in the Library's Online Search Tool

Course Reserves + Scanning Requests

Many instructors put textbooks or other required course materials into our Course Reserves section. These books can typically be borrowed for either 2 hours, or up to 7 days. They are held behind the Circulation Desk, which is located near the entrance of the library, and can be requested from staff working at the desk. You are also welcome to come into the library and check out course reserves and scan them for free on our scanner. Or, you can request up to 20% or 2 chapters per course reserve item, by following the instructions below:

Scanning Services for Course Reserves Only:
How to request a course reserves scan.

Open Educational Resources (OER) Content

Open Kapiʻolani: Resources
See a list of various resources for finding more OER textbooks, course materials, images, video, and more.
Open Textbook Library
Textbooks in the Open Textbook Library are considered open because they are free to use and distribute, and are licensed to be freely adapted or changed with proper attribution. Many have been reviewed by faculty from Open Textbook Network member institutions.
OER Commons
A public digital library of open educational resources
OpenStax
OER textbooks created by Rice University
UH Pressbooks
University of Hawaiʻi OER Catalog. Featuring Open Educational Resources written specifically to support curriculum at the University of Hawaiʻi. No login necessary.