Hawaiian Issues - Hawaiʻi Today: Current Events & Issues - the Hawaiian Nation & Sovereignty - Kapiʻolani CC Library LibGuides at Kapi'olani Community College

Books & eBooks

From a Native Daughter: Colonialism and Sovereignty in Hawaiʻi by Haunani-Kay Trask
Call Number: DU627.8 .T73 1999 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Also available online from eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
Land and Power in Hawaii: The Democractic Years by George Cooper; Gavan Daws

Call Number: HD266.H3 C66 1985 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Hawaiian Blood: Colonialism and the Politics of Sovereignty and Indigeneity by J. Kēhaulani Kauanui
Call Number: KFH454 .K38 2008 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Also available online via Ebook Central.
Dismembering Lahui: A History of the Hawaiian Nation to 1887 by Jonathan K. K. Osorio

Call Number: DU624.6 .O86 2002
Publication Date: 2002

This book can be found in the Hawaiian Collection on the first floor of the library
Hāʻena: Through the Eyes of the Ancestors by Carlos Andrade
Call Number: DU629.H18 A53 2008 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Also available online via Ebook Central.
Native Land and Foreign Desires: Pehea Lā E Pono Ai? How Shall We Live in Harmony? by Lilikalā Kameʻeleihiwa

Call Number: DU624.65 .K357 1992 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Aloha Betrayed: Native Hawaiian Resistance to American Colonialism by Noenoe K. Silva
Call Number: DU625 .S49 2004 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Also available online via Ebook Central.
Law and Empire in the Pacific: Fiji and Hawaiʻi by Sally Engle Merry; Donald Lawrence Brenneis

Call Number: GN673.H3 L39 2003
Not available at Kapiʻolani CC library. This book can be requested from other UH system libraries.
Rethinking the Native Hawaiian Past by Kanalu G. Terry Young
Call Number: DU624.65 .Y68 2016 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Also available online via Ebook Central.

Statistics on Native Hawaiians

Ka Huakaʻi: 2014 Native Hawaiian Educational Assessment
Data on Native Hawaiian Population, Material & Economic Well-Being, Social, Emotional, & Cultural Well-Being, Physical Well-Being, and Cognitive Well-Being. Also available in print at Kapiʻolani CC Library.
Research: Hawaiian Education & Well-being (Kamehameha Schools)

Native Hawaiian Data Book
Demographic data on Native Hawaiians.

Online Resources & Articles

"What Kine Hawaiian Are You?" A Moʻolelo about Nationhood, Race, History, and the Contemporary Sovereignty Movement in Hawaiʻi
by Jonathan Kamakawiwoʻole Osorio, The Contemporary Pacific (2001)

Kuleana: Toward a Historiography of Hawaiian National Consciousness, 1780-2001
by Kanalu Young, Hawaiian Journal of Law and Politics (2006)

Kue: The Hui Aloha Aina Anti-Annexation Petitions, 1897-1898

The Annexation of Hawaiʻi: A Collection of Documents

Sovereignty Groups & Community Organizations

MANA: Movement for Aloha No Ka ʻĀina

Ka Lāhui Hawaiʻi: a native initiative for sovereignty

The Hawaiian Kingdom

Naʻi Aupuni

Hawaiʻi Today: Current Events & Issues - the Hawaiian Nation & Sovereignty: Hawaiian Issues

Table of Contents

Books & eBooks

Statistics on Native Hawaiians

Online Resources & Articles

Sovereignty Groups & Community Organizations