Skip to Main Content

Hawaiʻi: Current Events & Issues - Environmental Conservation: Terrestrial Ecosystems

Websites

Click on individual links below, or search them all at once by using the search bar.

State of Hawaiʻi

Federal

Community Organizations

Books - Land Conservation

Alteration of Native Hawaiian Vegetation: Effects of Humans, Their Activities and Introductions by Linda W. Cuddihy; Charles P. Stone

Call Number: QK473.H4 C83 1990 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Conservation Biology of Hawaiian Forest Birds: Implications for Island Avifauna by Thane K. Pratt
Call Number: QL684.H3 C66 2009 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference, Ask at Circulation)
Hawaii, a Natural History: Geology, Climate, Native Flora and Fauna Above the Shoreline by Sherwin Carlquist
Call Number: QH198.H3 C27 1980 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Hawaiian Natural History, Ecology, and Evolution by Alan C. Ziegler
Call Number: QH198.H3 Z54 2002 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Also available online from eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
Mammals in Hawaii; a Synopsis and Notational Bibliography by P. Quentin Tomich
Call Number: QL719.H3 T6 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Restoring Paradise: Rethinking and Rebuilding Nature in Hawaiʻi by Robert J. Cabin
Call Number: QH198.H3 C23 2013 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Wao Akua: Sacred Source of Life
Call Number: QH76.5.H3 W36 2003 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Ocean & Marine Life Conservation

Articles

Birth of 2 Monk Seal Pups in Remote Isles Marks Milestone
Honolulu Star-Advertiser, September 12, 2022

Books

Conservation of Pacific Sea Turtles by Peter H. Dutton; Dale Squires; and Mahfuzuddin Ahmed (editors)
Available online via eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
Endangered Oceans by Helga Schier; Lynn Marie Zott (eds.)
Call Number: QH541.5.S3 E535 2014 (General Collection, 2nd floor)
Hanauma Bay: Hawaiʻi's Coastal Treasure by Cheryl Chee Tsutsumi
Call Number: DU629.H28 T78 2005 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
The Ocean of Life: The Fate of Man and the Sea by Callum Roberts
Call Number: CB465 .R62 2012 (General Collection, 2nd floor)
Oceans: The Threats to Our Seas and What You Can Do to Turn the Tide by Jon Bowermaster
Available online from Ebook Central.
The Odyssey of KP2: An Orphan Seal, a Marine Biologist, and the Fight to Save a Species by Terrie M. Williams
Call Number: QL737.P64 W55 2012 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Plastiki: Across the Pacific on Plastic : An Adventure to Save Our Oceans by David de Rothschild; James Gorman
Call Number: G477 .R68 2011 (General Collection, 2nd floor)
Reef and Shore Fishes of the Hawaiian Islands by John E. Randall
Call Number: QL636.5.H3 R3588 2007 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference, Ask at Circulation Desk)
A World in a Shell: Snail Stories for a Time of Extinctions by Thom van Dooren
Available online via eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).

Websites

‘Īlioholoikauaua: Protecting This Endangered Species
2021 article published in Ka Wai Ola
Hawaiian Monk Seal Updates
Get the latest monk seal updates from NOAA Fisheries in the Pacific Islands.
Papahānaumokuākea Marine National Monument
Learn about Papahānaumokuākea's cultural significance; explore free resources, including maps, photos, videos, coloring pages, teaching tools, virtual visits, etc.
Mokupāpapa Discovery Center (MDC)
The visitor center for Papahānaumokuākea Marine National Monument. MDC is located in the historic Koehnen building along Hilo's bayfront and downtown district.
National Marine Sanctuaries Webinar Series Archives
The Webinar Series provides educational and scientific expertise, resources and training to support ocean and climate literacy.