Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hawaiʻi Genealogy Research: Birth, Marriage, & Death Records: Home

Types of Records to Search For:

Census Records

Birth, Marriage, Death Records

Immigration & Travel

Military

Schools, Directories, & Church Histories

Tax, Criminal, Land, and Wills

Questions?

Erica Dias's picture
Erica Dias
Contact:
Call or email to schedule a Zoom!
(808) 734-9599

Hawaiʻi Birth Records

1826-1929: Hawaiʻi State Archives
                      Digital Collections: see Vital Statistics
                      Collection; birth records are limited.
                      (Online)      

1850-1950: Index to Birth Notices Published in 
                      Hawaii's Newspapers
 (microfilm)
                       Available at: 
                       UH Mānoa -  Hamilton Library
                       Hawaiʻi State Library
                       Hawai'i State Archives       

1859-1970: Delayed Birth Records
                       Index 
(microfilm)
                       Lists those who applied for a 
                       "Certificate of Hawaiian Birth" if their 
                       birth was was not initially registered. 
                       Available at: Hawaiʻi State Library

1896-1909: Index to Hawaiʻi Department of Health
                      birth
records (print) 
                      Searchable by name of father, mother,
                      or child. Available at:
                      UH Mānoa -  Hamilton Library
                      Hawaiʻi State Library

1909-1949: Index to Hawaiʻi Department of Health
                 birth records 
(microfilm)
                 Available at: Hawaiʻi State Library

1909-1921: Birth certificates from the Hawaiʻi
                 Dept. of Health 
(microfilm)
                 Available at: Hawaiʻi State Library 

Official birth records for Hawaiʻi are located at
the Hawaiʻi State Department of Health:

To apply for an official birth certificate, you must have the following information: Name on Certificate, Date of Birth, Place of Birth, Names of Father & Mother. 

                                              

Hawaiʻi Marriage Records

1826-1929: Hawaiʻi State Archives
                      Digital Collections: (Online)
                      Includes records for these islands only:
                      Hawaiʻi Island, Kauaʻi, Molokaʻi, and Niʻihau
                      Maui
                      Oʻahu (Partial)

1850-1950: Index to Marriage Notices Published
                      in Hawaii's Newspapers (microfilm)
                      Available at:
                      UH Mānoa -  Hamilton Library
                      Hawaiʻi State Library
                      Hawai'i State Archives       

1909-1949: Index to Hawaiʻi Department of Health
                      marriage records 
(microfilm)
                      Available at: Hawaiʻi State Library

1909-1921: Marriage certificates from the Hawaiʻi
                      Dept. of Health 
(microfilm)
                      Available at: Hawaiʻi State Library 

Official marriage records for Hawaiʻi are located at
the Hawaiʻi State Department of Health.     

Hawaiʻi Obituaries

1836-1950: Index to Obituaries published in 
                      Hawaii's
 Newspapers, 1836-1950 
                     (microfilm)
                      Available at: 
                      UH Mānoa -  Hamilton Library
                      Hawaiʻi State Library

1929-1969Index to the Honolulu Advertiser and
                      Honolulu Star-Bulletin (online)
                      Search by name or browse DEATHS
                      section. Does not include full-text
                      article. 
                      Also available in print at Kapiʻolani CC Library.  

1929-1994: Index to the Honolulu Advertiser and 
                      Honolulu Star-Bulletin (Print)
                      Obituary citations from 1929-1969 are 
                      listed under DEATHS;  From 1970+ 
                      search under OBITUARIES
                      Available at Kapiʻolani CC Library
                      Hawaiʻi State Library       

1989-curr.: Hawaiʻi Newspaper Index (online)
                     Search by name for obituary citation. 
                     Does not include full-text article

1991-2012: State of Hawaiʻi Island Newspaper
                      Obituaries (online, full-text)
                      Must know year of death.

 

Other Hawaiʻi Death Records

Ancestry Library (Kapiʻolani CC Database; If off-campus, must use your UH user name and password to access) for:
                 U.S. Social Security Death Index (1935-2014)
                 WWI, WWII, Korean War, Vietnam War Casualties
                 Find A Grave Index

1832-1929Hawaiʻi State Archives Digital
                 Collections  
                 See Vital Statistics Collection;
                 death records are limited.    

1852-1916: Hawaiian Genealogy Indexes 
                 via the Hawaiʻi State Archives.
                 Includes index to Probate records
                 & Wills.

1962-curr.: Social Security Death Index 

CEMETERY RECORDS

 Directory of Names & Cemetery Sites,
                     Island of Oahu, 1986 Survey

                     by Nanette Napoleon Purnell
                     List of names on tombstones 
                     Available: online
                     Kapiʻolani CC Library-Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection 
                     Call Number: RA629.A4 H362 1986

Island of Maui Cemetery (Name) Directory 
                     by Nanette Napoleon Purnell
                     Available at Kapiʻolani CC Library
                     Location: Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference
                     Call Number: RA629.M38 I852 1990

Islands of Molokai and Lanai (Cemetery Directory)
                    by Nanette Napoleon Purnell
                    Available at Kapiʻolani CC Library
                    Location: Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference
                    Call Number: RA629.M65 I85 1990

Cemeteries of Kauai (Cemetery Directory)
                    by William K. Kikuchi
                    Available at Kapiʻolani CC Library
                    Location: Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference
                    Call Number: RA629.K38 K55

Official death records for Hawaiʻi are located
at the Hawaiʻi State Department of Health:

To apply for an official death certificate, you must
have the following information:
     Name on Certificate, Date of Death,
     Place of Death, Names of Father & Mother.