Kapiʻolani CC Library LibGuides: STEM Resources in the Library: Databases (articles & more)

Accessing Databases

The Library subscribes to databases, which contain thousands of articles, images, eBooks, and other online media. This page features STEM-related databases. You may be prompted to log on with your UH username when accessing these databases. You must be a Kapiʻolani CC student, faculty, or staff member to access articles within these databases. If you experience any issues, please email kapccref@hawaii.edu for assistance.

Didn't find what you were looking for?
The full list of library databases can be found on the Library's Database A-Z page.

Science Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now.
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970 and includes more than 4.8 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture. Subjects include: Animal and veterinary sciences, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, forestry, entomology, plant sciences, and extension and education.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete contains nearly 4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888 (including over 1,350 active core titles) as well as more than 190 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 1,200 journals. Subjects include: Ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, environmental policy, environmental technology, geography, marine and freshwater science, natural resources, pollution and waste management, renewable energy sources, social impact of the environment, and urban planning.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE is a free research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Lama Library has access to thousands of JSTOR Ebooks, in addition to articles which are part of the following collections: Arts & Sciences I-XV, Life Sciences, and Lives of Literature. These collections provide full-text journal backfiles in various disciplines. Selected journals in the following subject areas are available: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Aquatic Sciences, Archaeology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance History, Law, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology and Statistics.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Access journals and other publications for the biomedical and life sciences. Overlaps with MEDLINE and PubMed.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is the world's largest electronic collection of information in science (including social sciences, arts and humanities), technology, and medicine. It includes over 6 million articles and over 60 million abstracts in over 1,800 scholarly journals. The University of Hawaii System Libraries have purchased full text access to hundreds of journals in ScienceDirect: look for green Subscribed content icons.
Sustainability Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text database covering all aspects of sustainability, including environmental stewardship, corporate social responsibility and federal, state and local regulations. It includes full text journals, magazines, books and trade publications, plus expert analyses, benchmarks and best practices for sustainability initiative management. Topics include: corporate social responsibility, environmental stewardship, federal, state and local regulations, "green" issues and initiatives, ISO 14000.

Video Databases

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
The Films on Demand Master Academic Collection is a user-friendly online streaming media system including more than 5,000 high-quality educational video titles covering Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science, and Health. All programming includes public performance rights.
AVON This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online from Alexander Street Press delivers more than 82,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, science, and more.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a streaming video service with over 26,000 films. Titles range from documentaries, indie and foreign films, to must-see classics and award-winning movies. Touching on all topics, featured producers in Kanopy's collection include Criterion Collection, PBS, HBO Documentaries, The Video Project, New Day Films, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation, First Run Features, BBC, and many more. Films can be watched from anywhere, anytime by all staff and students.
Ethnographic Video Online: Volume III, Indigenous Voices This link opens in a new window
This online video collection offers teachers, researchers, and students a rare look inside the cultures of Oceania through the lens of indigenous peoples. More than 180 hours of documentaries, shorts, and narrative feature films explore the stories, dances, art, history, and contemporary issues of Indigenous Australians, Maoris and Pacific Islanders.