PACS 201 - Islands of Globalization: Home

• 

  Food of the Pacific Islands

  Find recipes, books, eBooks, websites, and more.

• Globalization and Culture Change in the Pacific Islands by Victoria S. Lockwood (ed.)

  Call Number: GN663 .G56 2004 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
• We are the Ocean: Selected Works by Epeli Hauʻofa

  Call Number: PR9655.9.H38 A6 2008 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

  Also available online via Ebook Central.
• The Critical Surf Studies Reader by Dexter Zavalza Hough-Snee and Alexander Sotelo Eastman (eds.)

  Call Number: GV839.5 .C75 2017 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
• An Indigenous Ocean: Pacific Essays by Damon Salesa

  Call Number: DU28.3 .S35 2023 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

• Ethnographic Video Online: Volume III, Indigenous Voices

  Provides access to streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork.
• Films on Demand

  Films on Demand provides streaming access to a large variety of educational videos in the humanities, social and natural sciences, business and health. Ability to search for individual clips within films. Transcripts available. Pacific films include, Made in Taiwan, Papuans: Between Two Worlds, Māori Land Protests, and others.
• Kanopy

  With over 30,000 documentaries, classic and indie films, Kanopy provides streaming access to films on a variety of subjects, including social sciences, the arts, business, global studies & languages, etc.
• Micronesian Seminar

  The Micronesian Seminar video studio has produced over 72 videos on healthcare, migration, history, youth, land, education, economics, business, and social issues. Most videos are available for free viewing online.
• NZ On Screen

  NZ On Screen is the online showcase of NZ television, film, music video and web series. All content is free to view – around 4,000 titles from the beginning of the screen industry to the present day.

• Aloha Hawaiʻi Scrapbook

  A collection of black and white and hand-colored photographs of scenic sites and identifiable landmarks in Hawaii, programs, tickets, etc.
• Creating Siapo: American Samoa 1967

  Eighteen images documenting the process of making siapo (kapa or tapa) in American Samoa.
• Douglas Oliver Bougainville Research Collection

  Between 1938 and 1939, Oliver conducted research on Bougainville, among the Siwai (a.k.a. Siuai) people. The majority of these images derive from that period, and were donated to UHM's Pacific Collection following Dr. Oliver's death in 2009.
• Filipino Workers in Hawaiʻi, 1926

  "Photographs in Connection with the Investigation of Working Conditions of Filipino Laborers on Hawaiian Sugar Plantations, 1926," by Lt. Colonel Robert A. Duckworth-Ford, Aide-de-Camp to Governor-General of the Philippines Leonard Wood.
• George Grace Linguistic Research and Slides of Melanesia

  Photos from throughout Melanesia, on a variety of subjects, taken between 1955 and 1956.
• Hawaiian & Pacific Images

  These 297 images mostly derive from 18th- through early 20th-century published works that are held in UHM's Hawaiian and Pacific Collections rare vault. A wide variety of images documenting early depictions of Hawaiʻi and Pacific culture and society.
• Hawaiian Photo Album

  A collection of black and white photographs of scenic sites and identifiable landmarks in Hawaiʻi. Images are from a variety of albums and scrapbooks acquired by or donated to the UHM's Hawaiian Collection.
• Jack Tobin Marshall Islands Anthropology Collection

  Documents Dr. Tobin's lifetime of working within the Marshall Islands and Micronesia more generally, beginning in the 1950s and ranging through the 1980s. Includes images relating to nuclear testing and dislocation/relocation of Marshall Islanders. Note: This collection is currently under construction, with more photos to be added over time.
• Margo Duggan Collection: Slides of Micronesia and Hawaiʻi, 1949-1954

  Early post-WWII images of Micronesia, as shot by a civilian employee of the Trust Territory. A good companion to the Trust Territory Photo Archives.
• Nuclear Diaspora: Bikini and Enewetak

  Photographs by Dr. Robert Kiste and Dr. Leonard Mason, documenting the lives of Bikini and Enewetak islanders in the wake of U.S. nuclear testing program. Photos range from late 1940s through 1980s.
• The Pacific in Wartime

  The 304 images contained in this online collection are digital reproductions of materials in several distinct art and photograph collections, covering a range of geographic regions and time periods. Taken as a whole, these collections document many facets of life in the Pacific during World War II, from the brutal and the tragic to the mundane.
• Rapanui: The Edmunds/Bryan Photograph Collection

  Photographs of Rapa Nui, or Easter Island, during the early 1900s. Documenting a variety of places and subjects.
• Save Our Surf

  Unpublished material from the SOS organization - an environmental, social, political, and cultural movement that contributed to the contemporary Hawaiian Sovereignty movement.
• Steve Thomas Traditional Micronesian Navigation Collection

  Documents life on Satawal and surrounding islands/atolls in the early 1980s. Photos are not limited to navigation, and include a great deal of information on day-to-day life.
• Trust Territory Photo Archives

  Documents the entire Trust Territory period in Micronesia, via more than 8,000 photos.

• UH Mānoa: Center for Pacific Islands Studies
• Digital Pasifik

  "Explore, discover and view thousands of items held in museums, libraries, galleries, and collections around the world. Celebrate the rich and diverse cultures of the Pacific." Includes images, objects, videos, audio, texts, and maps.
• Asian & Pacific Islander American Health Forum
• Digital Micronesia

• eVols at University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa This link opens in a new window

  eVols is an open-access, digital institutional repository for the University of Hawaii community and researchers around the world. eVols provides a home for material which the Library or the University digitizes as part of grant projects and digital library program initiatives.

• Micronesian Seminar
• Migration Information Source: Oceania
• News Sources

  (links from the Pacific Collection at UHM)
• Our World in Data

  Understand how global living conditions and the earth’s environment are changing through research and interactive data visualizations.
• Pacific Islands Report

  "After more than twenty years, the daily Pacific Islands news service [...] will cease. Founded in 1997 [...and] with an [accessible] archive of well over 100,000 articles."
• SDD: Explore the Statistics of Pacific Island Countries and Territories

  Redesigned and will replace the PRISM website (https://prism.spc.int/), which will soon be taken offline.
• ScholarSpace

  An open-access, digital institutional repository for the intellectual works and unique collections of the UH Mānoa academic community. Publications from the Center for Pacific Island Studies are available here.
• UCSD Pacific Islands Digital Collection

  Drawn primarily from the Tuzin Archive for Melanesian Anthropology, this collection of 14,312 digital objects documents the cultures and peoples of the Pacific Islands through 20th-century photographs, dissertations, and films. The majority of photos are from the Solomon Islands, but collection also includes images from throughout the Pacific, including the Cook Islands, Fiji, Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Tuvalu, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, and Vanuatu. Photos date from the 1930s through 1990s.
• The World Economic Forum

  The Forum brings together the collaborative efforts of multi-stakeholder groups, including industry, government, non-profits, social entrepreneurs, young people, artists, musicians, activists, academics, etc. to talk about the biggest issues facing the world.
• World Inequality Database

  “WID aims to provide open and convenient access to the most extensive available database on the historical evolution of the world distribution of income and wealth, both within countries and between countries” (quoted from About Us page).
• Yale Program on Climate Change Communication

  “Our mission is to advance the science of climate change communication, help leaders communicate more effectively, and increase the public's understanding of climate risks and opportunities. We conduct scientific research on public climate change knowledge, attitudes, policy preferences, and behavior at the global, national, and local scales. We publish our research in public reports, interactive maps, and scientific articles and provide public presentations and private briefings” (quoted from About the Program page).
• International Telecommunication Union (ITU)

  "ITU is the United Nations specialized agency for information and communication technologies – ICTs."

• APA Formatting by Purdue Owl (7th ed.)
• APA Resources by Kapiʻolani CC (7th ed.)
• APA Style Blog
• Website Evaluation & the CRAAP Test
• Reading Scholarly Journal Articles
• Annotated Bibliographies by Purdue OWL

• Historical Dictionary of Oceania by Robert D. Craig and Frank P. King (eds.)

  Call Number: DU10 .H57 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
• Atlas of the Pacific Islands by Max Quanchi

  Call Number: G9230 .Q36 2003 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
• The Pacific Islands: An Encyclopedia by Brij V. Lal; Kate Fortune

  Call Number: DU17 .P3 2000 (General Reference Collection - 1st Floor)

  Literature section includes biographies for many Pacific writers.
• Pacific Island Names: A Map and Name Guide to the New Pacific by Lee S. Motteler

  Call Number: DU10 .M67 2006 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
• The Pacific Islands: Environment & Society (1999 ed.) by Moshe Rapaport (ed.)

  Call Number: DU18.5 .P33 1999 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)
• The Pacific Islands: Environment and Society by Moshe Rapaport (ed.)

  Call Number: GF851 .P33 2013 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)
• The Far East and Australasia 2016 by Europa Publications Staff (ed.)

  Call Number: DS502 .F37 2016 (General Reference Collection-1st floor)

  "Comprehensive survey of the countries of East and South-East Asia, Australia and New Zealand, along with 22 Pacific islands, fully revised to reflect current economic and political developments." Includes a Calendar of Political Events.
• Art in Oceania: A New History by Peter Brunt and Nicholas Thomas (eds.)

  Call Number: N7410 .A735 2012 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

• Pacific Islands Writing: The Postcolonial Literatures of Aotearoa/New Zealand and Oceania by Michelle Keown

  Available online via Ebook Central.

• Indigenous Literatures From Micronesia by Evelyn Flores; Emelihter Kihleng (editors)

  Call Number: PL6198.5 .I53 2019 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

  Also available online via eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) .
• Reading Pakeha?: Fiction and Identity in Aotearoa New Zealand by Christina Stachurski

  Available online via Ebook Central.
• Routes and Roots: Navigating Caribbean and Pacific Island Literatures by Elizabeth M. Deloughrey

  Call Number: PN849.C3 D45 2007 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)

  Also available online via California Digital Library.
• Striding Both Worlds: Witi Ihimaera and New Zealand's Literary Traditions by Melissa Kennedy

  Available online via Ebook Central.
• Indigenous Literature of Oceania: A Survey of Criticism and Interpretation by Nicholas J. Goetzfridt

  Call Number: PN849.O26 I53 1995 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

  Includes indexes to title, author, subject and literary critics.
• South Pacific Literature: From Myth to Fabulation by Subramani

  Call Number: PR9645 S8 1985 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
• From Silence to Voice: The Rise of Maori Literature by Paola Della Valle

  Call Number: PR9625.5.I34 V35 2010 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)