Skip to main content

PACS 201 - Islands of Globalization: Home

Research Topics

Find Books & eBooks

Use the Library's Online Search Tool to find books and DVDs at KCC and other UH System Campuses.

See example books below for selected works by and/or about Pacific Island authors.

Books

Online Film Resources

UH-Mānoa Online Image Collections

Find Articles

The Contemporary Pacific Journal

The Contemporary Pacific Journal

A journal featuring articles covering the entire Pacific Islands region, including Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia. Each issue highlights the work of a Pacific Islander artist. Search and download full-text of past issues (online 1989-2020). Current & past issues are also available in print at Lama Library.

The Hawaiian Journal of History

The Hawaiian Journal of History

An annual scholarly journal devoted to original articles on the history of Hawai‘i, Polynesia, and the Pacific area. Search and download full-text of past issues (online 1967-2017). Current & past issues are also available in print at Lama Library.

The Journal of the Polynesian Society

The Journal of the Polynesian Society

A journal focusing on the past and present New Zealand Māori and other Pacific Island peoples and cultures. Search and download full-text articles (online 1892-Present). Current & past issues are also available in print at Lama Library.

Te Kaharoa: the eJournal on Indigenous Pacific Issues

Te Kaharoa: the eJournal on Indigenous Pacific Issues

With a focus on indigenous issues in the Pacific region, this electronic journal features articles "dealing with language, culture, art, history, anthropology, development studies, and other disciplines associated with the indigenous peoples of the Pacific." Search and download full-text articles (online 2008-Present).

Ethnobotany Research and Applications

Ethnobotany Research and Applications

"An electronic, peer-reviewed, multi-disciplinary and multi-lingual journal devoted to the rapid dissemination of current research. Articles can also be based on the perspectives of cultural practitioners, poets and others with insights into plants, people and applied research. Database papers, Ethnobiological inventories, Photo essays, Methodology reviews, Education studies and Theoretical discussions are also published."  Search and download full-text articles (online 2003-Present).

Hawaiʻi Pacific Journal Index

Hawaiʻi Pacific Journal Index

An index to magazines and journals published in or about Hawaiʻi & the Pacific; citations only. See the Reference Desk for help locating the print issue. List of journals and magazines indexed.

EBSCOhost Research Databases

EBSCOhost databases cover a wide range of subject areas, including social sciences, health, business, computer science, psychology, religion, education, and more. Over 20,000 journal titles are indexed with the majority available in full text. Start with Academic Search Complete, or select all four databases and click Continue.

Websites

Kōkua?

Erica Dias's picture
Erica Dias
Contact:
Call or email to schedule a Zoom!
(808) 734-9599

Reference Books

Pacific Island Literature - History & Criticism