Kapiʻolani CC Library LibGuides: ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi: Hawaiian Language Resources: Home

ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi Dictionaries

Hawaiian Dictionary (1986 ed.) by Mary Kawena Pukui; Samuel H. Elbert
Call Number: PL6446 .P795 1986 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st Floor)

Also available online via Ulukau.
Only the 1971 Edition includes the "Glossary of Hawaiian gods, demigods, family gods, and a few heroes."
Wehewehe
Online Hawaiian Dictionaries via Ulukau
Wehewehe Wikiwiki (Wehe²wiki²)
Online Hawaiian Dictionaries via UH Hilo

Māmaka Kaiao: A Modern Hawaiian Vocabulary by Kōmike Huaʻolelo; Hale Kuamoʻo; ʻAha Pūnana Leo
Call Number: PL6446 .M36 2003 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ulukau (2003 edition)
We also have the print copy of the 1998 edition.
We also have the print copy of the 1996 edition.
New Pocket Hawaiian Dictionary by Mary Kawena Pukui; Samuel H. Elbert
Call Number: PL6446 .P84 1992 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st Floor)
Illustrated Hawaiian Dictionary by Kahikāhealani Wight; Robin Yoko Racoma (Illustrator)
Call Number: PL6446 .W54 2005 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st Floor)
A Dictionary of the Hawaiian Language by Lorrin Andrews
Call Number: PL6446 .A57 2003 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)
Place Names of Hawaii by Mary Kawena Pukui; Samuel H. Elbert; Esther T. Mookini
Call Number: DU622 .P79 1976 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online as an eBook via Ulukau,
OR Search via Hawaiian Dictionaries Tip: Under CUSTOMIZE SEARCH, select PLACE NAMES OF HAWAII
Treasury of Hawaiian Words in One Hundred and One Categories by Harold W. Kent
Call Number: PL6446 K46 1993 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Lists of Hawaiian words, including birds, insects, places, plants, fish, rains, shellfish, etc.
A Dictionary of Hawaiian Legal Land-Terms by Paul F. Nahoa Lucas
Call Number: KFH126.A68 D53 1995 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference - Ask at Circulation)
He Buke Wehewehe Huaʻōlelo Baibala me nā Palapala ʻĀina a me nā Kiʻi = A Dictionary of Biblical Words with Maps and Pictures by translated by E.W. Clark
Call Number: BS440 .C52 2001 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st Floor)
Ke Ao Nani: He Puke Huaʻōlelo 1000
Call Number: PL6446 .H68 2012 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st Floor)

Teaches Hawaiian words for everyday things through word and picture association.

Textbooks @ Kapiʻolani CC

Ka Lei Haʻaheo by Alberta Pualani Hopkins
Call Number: PL6445 .H66 1992 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

A copy for Japanese speakers can be found in the Japan Collection-2nd floor (Call #: PL6445 .H6616 1997).
ʻŌlelo ʻŌiwi: Hawaiian Language Fundamentals by Hōkūlani Cleeland
Call Number: PL6443 .C54 2022 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Hawaiian Grammar by Samuel H. Elbert; Mary Kawena Pukui
Call Number: PL6443 .E37 2001 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)

Also available online via Ulukau.
Conversational Hawaiian by Samuel H. Elbert; Samuel A. Keala
Call Number: PL6445 .E4 1965 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference - Ask at Circulation)
Spoken Hawaiian by Samuel H. Elbert
Call Number: PL6443 .E4 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ulukau.
Learn Hawaiian at Home by Kahikāhealani Wight
Call Number: PL6443 .W544 2005 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
The Voices of Eden: A History of Hawaiian Language Studies by Albert J. Schütz
Call Number: PL6441 .S38 1994 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)

Also available online via Ulukau.
Nā Kai ʻEwalu: Beginning Hawaiian Lessons, Puke 1 by Kamanā & Wilson
Call Number: TXBK 247 (Course Reserves - Ask at Circulation)
Nā Kai ʻEwalu: Beginning Hawaiian Lessons, Puke 2 by Kamanā & Wilson
Call Number: TXBK 107 (Course Reserves - Ask at Circulation)

Need Citation Help? Have No Fear!

MLA Citations Help Guide

APA Citations Help Guide

Online ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi Books for Keiki

Noʻeau (Warner Nā Puke)
Read Noʻeau Warner's books online. Or, have them read aloud to you in Hawaiian!
Ulukau: Nā Puke Ulukau
Browse Ulukau's selection of books in ʻōlelo Hawaiʻi, with over 50 books for keiki.
The Kūkulu Kumuhana Project (by Hale Kuamoʻo)
40 informational books in two sets: "Place-based Knowledge Set" and "Career Awareness Set"
Lau Nehenehe - Storytime for the Ohana
"Watch" a book in ʻōlelo Hawaiʻi. Produced for ʻŌiwi TV by Kamehameha Publishing and presented in both ʻōlelo Hawaiʻi and English, Lau Nehenehe brings to life some of Hawaiʻi's popular children's titles through animation, imagination, sound and story.

Pōmai Lāua ʻo Papa (Pōmai and Her Papa)
Available online in both ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi and English from Hā Kūpuna.

Reference Books

Hawaiian Language Imprints, 1822-1899: A Bibliography by Bernice Judd; Janet E. Bell; Clare G. Murdoch
Call Number: Z7112.H38 J84 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference - Ask at Circulation)

A bibliography of titles published in Hawaiian from 1822-1899.
The Hawaiian Newspapers by Esther K. Moʻokini
Call Number: Z6953.5.H3 M66 1974 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st Floor)

Also available online via Ulukau.
ʻŌlelo Noʻeau: Hawaiian Proverbs & Poetical Sayings by Mary Kawena Pukui
Call Number: PN6519.H4 P84 1983 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Includes index to place names, personal names, birds, fishes and other aquatic animals, and plants. Also available online as an eBook.

Kepano's Complete Hawaiian Concordance to Mary Kawena Pukui's ʻŌlelo Noʻeau
An index to all the Hawaiian words in the ʻōlelo noʻeau themselves.

Hawaiian National Bibliography, 1780-1900 by David W. Forbes
Call Number: Z4701 .F67 1999 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference, Ask at Circulation)

Volumes 1-4 available in print.
Volume 1: 1780-1830 also available online via Ebook Central.
-and-
Volume 2: 1831-1850 also available online via Ebook Central.

ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi Fonts & Keyboards

Click on "Mac Resources" or "Technology Resources" links to read more about the fonts, keyboards, and other resources that are available for download from Kualono.

Reference Grammar for ka ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi

He Papa Kuhikuhi Pilina‘ōlelo
Online grammar book

Audio-Visual Resources

Ka Leo Hawaiʻi Radio Program (1972-1988)
A Hawaiian language radio program. Host Larry Kimura interviews native speakers.
Ka Leo Hawaiʻi Radio Program (1991-2000)
A weekly Hawaiian language radio program co-hosted by Puakea Nogelmeier, Tuti Kanahele, and Hauʻoli Akaka.
Clinton Kanahele Collection (BYUH)
Audio of Hawaiian language interviews + transcripts
ʻŌiwi TV
Hawaiian language programming.
Kamehameha Schools - Exploring Cultural Identity Videos
A video showcase of cultural programs sponsored by Kamehameha Schools and other community organizations. Its purpose is to record Hawaiian cultural presentations, conversations and events, and to share them with the community and succeeding generations of Hawaiians.
Nā Mele a me Nā Moʻolelo o Maui: Ka Moʻolelo o ka Makani Kāʻili Aloha
Kīʻope Raymond discusses the song "Ka Makani Kāʻili Aloha" with mānaleo. A production of Maui Community College Media Center. (via ʻUluʻulu: The Henry Kuʻualoha Moving Image Archive of Hawaiʻi)
Lau Nehenehe - Storytime for the Ohana
Produced for ʻŌiwi TV by Kamehameha Publishing and presented in both ʻōlelo Hawaiʻi and English, Lau Nehenehe brings to life some of Hawaiʻi's popular children's titles through animation, imagination, sound and story.
Kaniʻāina "Voices of the Land"
Provides interactive access to Native Hawaiian speech and transcripts through an ʻōlelo Hawaiʻi and English digital library interface.
Noʻeau (Warner Nā Puke)
Read Noʻeau Warner's books online. Or, have them read aloud to you in Hawaiian!

Film

Mānaleo (Television Program)

A selection of streaming episodes of Mānaleo, a television program featuring native speakers.

To find similar videos, search MANALEO in the library catalog.

Mea 'ai
Host, Hailama Farden ; native speaker host, Ipo Wong, Melelani Pang, ʻElikapeka Kauahipaula. The panel shares their stories on food and demonstrate how to make laulau and lūʻau stew.
Lei hulu
The panel shares with the viewers different varieties of feather lei as well as discuss other uses of feathers.
Ke Kupuna
The Kūpuna share their knowlege of the importance of Kūpuna in the schools and homes. They discuss the No Child Left Behind Act. They also answer numerous phone calls.
Kawai Cockett
Kawai Cockett talks about working with children, his music, shares stories with the panel and performs songs.
Lā Lei
A Lei Day special. The panel talks about lei and show a variety of lei.

Online Classes (Continuing Education)

Niuolahiki Online Hawaiian Language Courses
ʻAha Pūnana Leo
Kulāiwi: Hawaiian Language Video Lessons
Kamehameha Schools video series; 24 lessons available online
KS Distance Learning Hawaiian Resources
While direct service programs are no longer offered today, Kamehameha Schools eLearn continues to innovatively create and share Hawaiian resources through the website and various communication channels.
ʻŌiwi TV - Ka Leo ʻŌiwi Hawaiian Language Learning series
13 episodes
Duolingo: Learn Hawaiian Online
Duolingo offers self-paced, game-like lessons that are available online for free. Learn on-the-go with the Duolingo app.
Mango Languages via the Hawaiʻi State Public Library System: Learn Hawaiian Online
The Hawaii State Public Library System offers patrons (HSPLS card holders) free online language lessons. Mango provides self-paced learning, speech recording, social and cultural notes and more. Get a new library card from HSPLS.

Additional Resources

Ho‘opilipili ‘Ōlelo II: Hawaiian Language Crossword Puzzles, Word Search Puzzles, etc.
Click on the file name to download a PDF of the book.
Ka Olelo a me ke Kanawai: The Language and the Law
King Kamehameha V Judiciary History Centerʻs Online Exhibit

Questions? Suggestions?

Erica Dias

Email Me

Contact:

Call or email to schedule a Zoom!

(808) 734-9599

Subjects: Hawaii, Hawaiian Language (HAW), Hawaiian Studies (HWST), Pacific Islands Studies (PACS)

Books in ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi @ Kapiʻolani CC

Folktales of Hawaiʻi = He Mau Kaʻao Hawaiʻi by Pukui, Mary Kawena (Compiled by)
Call Number: GR110.H38 P85 1995 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Hawaiian and English

ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi ebooks via Ulukau.org

The following are just a selection of what is available. Also browse ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi picture books in the PL 6445 section of the Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection.

Use these search terms in the Library's Online Search Tool to locate more materials (include the dashes):

HAWAIIAN LANGUAGE--READERS
HAWAIIAN LANGUAGE--TEXTS

Ka Mooolelo Hawaii (The History of Hawaiʻi) by Sheldon Dibble
Call Number: DU625 .K36 2005 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)

Also available online via Ulukau.
"Ka Mooolelo Hawaii, printed in 1838, is the ﬁrst book credited to Native Hawaiian writers, the ﬁrst history of the islands published in the Hawaiian language, and the ﬁrst concentrated effort to commit Hawaiian oral traditions to paper."
Ka ʻOihana Lawaiʻa = Hawaiian Fishing Traditions by Daniel Kahāʻulelio; Puakea Nogelmeier
Call Number: SH319.H3 K34 2006 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Hawaiian and English.
Keaomelemele by Moses Manu & Mary Kawena Pukui (Translators); Puakea Nogelmeier (Editor)
Call Number: GR110.H38 K43 2002 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Hawaiian and English.
Kepelino's Traditions of Hawaii by Martha W. Beckwith (Editor)
Call Number: GN671.H3 K46 2007 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)

Hawaiian and English.
Kohala Kuamoʻo: Naeʻole's Race to Save a King by Kekauleleanaeʻole A. Kawaiʻaeʻa; Aaron A. Kawaiʻaeʻa (Illustrator)
Call Number: PZ7.K393 Koh 2010 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)

Hawaiian and English.
The Oʻahu Exploits of Kamapuaʻa, the Hawaiian Pig-God by Collette L. Akana-Gooch (Editor and Translator)
Call Number: BL2620.H3 O34 2004 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)

A translation of the Oʻahu section of a legend which was published serially in the Hawaiian language newspaper Ka Leo o ka Lahui from June 22 to September 28, 1891.
Hawaiian text and English translation.
Buke ʻOihana Lapaʻau me nā ʻApu Lāʻau Hawaiʻi (Book of Medical Practices and Hawaiian Prescriptions) by Thomas (Kamaki) P. Spencer (Editor)
Call Number: GN477.4 .B85 2003 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)
Ka Buke Moʻolelo o Honorable Robert William Wilikoki (The Biography of the Honorable Robert William Wilcox) by Thomas K. Nakanaela
Call Number: DU627.17.W55 N34 1999 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)
Ka Hoʻoilina: Puke Pai ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi (The Legacy: Journal of Hawaiian Language Sources)
Call Number: PL6448.A1 H6 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)

Also available online via Ulukau.
The first bilingual journal to make archival Hawaiian language materials accessible to the general public.
Ka Hoʻokahuli Aupuni Kaulana o 1893: Kaua Kūloko ma Honolulu, Ianuari 7, 1895 (The Famous Overthrow of 1893: Civil War in Honolulu, January 7, 1895)
Call Number: DU627.2 .H66 2000 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)

Facsimile reprint with new introduction. First published by Papapai Mahu Press Pub. Co., 1895.
Na Mele Aimoku, Na Mele Kupuna, A Me Na Mele Ponoi O Ka Moi Kalakaua I by Kalākaua
Call Number: GR385.H3 K14 2001 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ulukau.
Prefatory matter in English; text in Hawaiian.
O Na Holoholona Wawae Eha O Ka Lama Hawaii (The Four-Footed Animals of Ka Lama Hawaii) by G. W. Kahiolo; Esther T. Mookini (Editor, Translator)
Call Number: QL706 .K34 1985 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

A reprint and translation of a series of articles on four-footed animals published in 1834 in Ka Lama Hawaii.
Engish and Hawaiian on opposite pages.
Huakai Makaika a Kaupo, Maui by Thomas K. Maunupau
Call Number: DU624.5 .M3813 1998 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)

As published in Ka Nupepa Kuokoa, June 1, 1922-March 15, 1923 / edited by Naomi Noelaniokoʻolau Clarke Losch ; translated by Mary Kawena Pukui and Malcolm Naea Chun.
He Moʻolelo no Kapaʻahu by Emma K. Kauhi
Call Number: DU629.P86 K38 1996 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)

Stories cover the author's life in Kapaahu in the Puna District of the island of Hawaii during 1916-1935. The land has since been covered by the 1986 Kilauea lava flow.
Also available online via Ulukau.
He Moolelo Pokole no ka Huakai a ka Moiwahine Kapiolani a me ke Kamaliiwahine Liliuokalani i ka Lubile o ka Moiwahine Victoria o Beretania Nui by James W. L. McGuire
Call Number: DU627.17.K37 M32 1995 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ulukau.
Selections from Fornander's Hawaiian Antiquities and Folk-Lore by Samuel H. Elbert (ed.)
Call Number: GN670 .F64 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference Collection - Ask at Circulation)
Fornander Collection of Hawaiian Antiquities and Folk-Lore by Abraham Fornander; Thomas G. Thrum
Call Number: GN670 .B5 vols. 4-6 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)

Text in Hawaiian and English.
Also available online via Archive.org: Vol. 4.
online via Archive.org: Vol. 5.
online via Archive.org: Vol. 6.

Newspaper & Journal articles

Hoʻolaupaʻi: He ʻOhina Nūpepa ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi
An online collection of historic Hawaiian-language newspapers published between 1834 and 1948.
Hawaiian Language Dissertations & Theses
UHM Hamilton Library, Hawaiian Collection
Hawaiian Language Newspapers
UHM Hamilton Library
Ka Hoʻoilina: Puke Pai ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi = The Legacy: Journal of Hawaiian Language Sources
The Hawaiian Language Legacy Program (Papahana Hoʻoilina ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi) was created to preserve, publish and disseminate 19th and 20th century Hawaiian language materials (collectively called here the "Legacy Materials") for the teaching and revitalization of the Hawaiian language and culture. This Legacy Journal is the realization of those goals.
Aia ke Ola i ka ‘Ōlelo Hawai‘i: Revival of the Hawaiian Language By Jacqueline Ng-osorio and Brandon C. Ledward [PDF]
Hui Kīpaepae: ʻAha Pūnana Leo
The Hui Kīpaepae is where we learn different aspects of the Pūnana Leo focusing on the history of the Hawaiian language movement, the Hawaiian language itself and hands-on learning. Its purpose is to assist families in gaining knowledge and support for one another to create and reinforce a continuum between the home and the Pūnana Leo.
Helen Chapin's Guide to Newspapers in Hawaiʻi, 1834-2000
Content courtesy of Helen Chapin and the Hawaiian Historical Society; Database maintained by the UHM Library.