Kapiʻolani CC Library LibGuides: Hawaiʻi Place Names: Home

Find Books & eBooks

Search the Library and Beyond

Advanced Search

General - Books & eBooks

Place Names of Hawaii by Mary Kawena Pukui; Samuel H. Elbert; Esther T. Mookini
Call Number: DU622 .P79 1976 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online as an eBook via Ulukau,
OR Search via Hawaiian Dictionaries Tip: Under CUSTOMIZE SEARCH, select PLACE NAMES OF HAWAII
Hawaiʻi Place Names: Shores, Beaches, and Surf Sites by John R. K. Clark
Call Number: DU622 .C546 2002 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Available online via Ebook Central.
Also available online as an eBook via Ulukau.
Native Planters in Old Hawaii: Their Life, Lore, and Environment by E.S. Craighill Handy, Elizabeth Green Handy, & Mary Kawena Pukui
Call Number: GN424 .H3
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

See pt. 5: Descriptions of areas of habitation on each island.
Also available online via eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
ʻŌlelo Noʻeau: Hawaiian Proverbs & Poetical Sayings by Mary Kawena Pukui
Call Number: PN6519.H4 P84 1983 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

See p. 344 for Index to Place Names. Also available online via eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).

Kepano's Complete Hawaiian Concordance to Mary Kawena Pukui's ʻŌlelo Noʻeau
An index to all the Hawaiian words in the ʻōlelo noʻeau themselves.

Hawaiian Surfing: Traditions From the Past by John R. K. Clark
Call Number: GV839.65.H3 C53 2011 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ebook Central.
Legacy of the Landscape: An Illustrated Guide to Hawaiian Archaeological Sites by Patrick Vinton Kirch
Call Number: GN875.H3 K55 1996 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Oʻahu

The moku (districts) of Oʻahu (click to see a map of the ahupuaʻa of each district):

Wahi Hoʻōla Inventory: Kona Moku, Oʻahu
"The overall goal of this project was to develop an inventory of wahi hoʻōla or 'healing spaces' for Kona moku, Oʻahu; with this initial research laying the kahua, or foundation, for future work."
Honouliuli Ahupuaʻa
"This Story Map provides the reader with a literal bird’s eye view of the Honouliuli ahupua‘a and it’s rich cultural history." Audio interviews from Uncle Shad Kane share about wahi pana and moʻolelo attached to the place names that are featured. Includes historical photos and archival documentation.

Sites of Oahu by Sterling, Elspeth P.; Catherine C. Summers (Compiled by)
Call Number: DU628.O3 S8 1993 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Refer to the Detailed Index online via Ulukau to see what might be included about your area.
Ancient Sites of Oʻahu: A Guide to Hawaiian Archaeological Places of Interest by Van James
Call Number: DU624.65 .J36 2010 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Hawaiian Street Names by Rich Budnick; Duke K. Wise
Call Number: DU629.O3 B84 1989 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Beaches of Oʻahu by John R. K. Clark
Call Number: GB458.8 .C59 2005 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Hawaiian Place Names: The Significance of Hawaiian Sites, Their Locations, and Interpretation of Their Names
Call Number: DU622 .H388 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
The View from Diamond Head by Don Hibbard; David Franzen
Call Number: HD268.H66 H53 1986 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Na Wahi Pana o Ko'olau Poko by Anne K. Landgraf; Fred K. Meinecke (Translator)
Call Number: DU628.O3 L36 1994 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Pana Oʻahu: Sacred Stones, Sacred Land
Call Number: DU624.65 .P36 1999 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ebook Central.
Ancient Oʻahu: Stories from Fornander & Thrum by Dennis Kawaharada (Editor)
Call Number: GR110.H3 A53 2001 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)
Oʻahu's Hidden History: Tours Into the Past by William H. Dorrance
Call Number: DU628.O3 D67 1998 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Secrets of Diamond Head: A History and Trail Guide by Denby Fawcett
Call Number: DU629.D53 F39 2014 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
North Shore Place Names: Kahuku to Kaena by John R. K. Clark; Translations by Keao NeSmith
Call Number: DU628.O3 C59 2014 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ebook Central.
The Saga of the Sandwich Islands by E. B. Scott
Call Number: DU623 S37 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Includes historic photos. See Part 2: Place Names on Oʻahu.
Stories Along Skyline: He Ala Meheuheu a nā Hānauna = A Customary Path Traveled Over the Generations by Honolulu Authority for Rapid Transportation (HART)
Call Number: HE4491.H65 H73 2024 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via HART's "Educational Materials" on its Historic & Cultural Preservation webpage.

Maui

Sites of Maui by Elspeth P. Sterling
Call Number: DU628.M3 S72 1998 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference - Ask at Circulation)
Ancient Sites of Maui, Molokaʻi and Lānaʻi by Van James
Call Number: DU624 .J35 2001 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)
The Beaches of Maui County by John R. Clark
Call Number: DU628.M3 C55 1989 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Maui Street Names: The Hawaiian Dictionary and History of Maui Street Names by Rich Budnick; Hōkūlani Holt-Padilla
Call Number: DU628.M3 B84 1991 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference, Ask at Circulation)
Exploring Historic Maui by George Engebretson; Jill Engledow; Summer Kupau
Call Number: DU628.M3 K87 2019 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Molokaʻi

Tales of Molokai by Gloria L. Cronin (Editor); Harriet Ne
Call Number: GR110.H38 N4 1992 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Ancient Sites of Maui, Molokaʻi and Lānaʻi by Van James
Call Number: DU624 .J35 2001 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)

Moaʻe Molokaʻi Digital Repository

Lanaʻi

Ancient Sites of Maui, Molokaʻi and Lānaʻi by Van James
Call Number: DU624 .J35 2001 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)
The Story of Lana'i by George C. Munro
Call Number: DU628.L3 M86 2007 (Hawaiian Reference-Ask for Assistance
The Island of Lanai: A Survey of Native Culture by Kennth P. Emory
Call Number: DU624.65 E47 1969 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Lānaʻi: The Elusive Hawaiian Island — the One that Captain Cook Missed by Anderson Duane Black
Call Number: DU628.L3 B52 2001 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Kahoʻolawe

Kahoʻolawe: Nā Leo o Kanaloa by Wayne Levin
Call Number: DU628.K25 K26 1995 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Kahoʻolawe Island : restoring a cultural treasure : final report of the Kahoʻolawe Island Conveyance Commission to the Congress of the United States
Call Number: DU628.K25 K255 1992 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Alphabetical listing of known place names: pp. 131-147.
This title is also available online [PDF] via Kahoʻolawe Island Reserve Commission.

Hawaiʻi Island

Beaches of the Big Island by John R. Clark
Call Number: DU628.H28 C53 1985 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Ancient Sites of Hawaiʻi: Archaeological Places of Interest on the Big Island by Van James
Call Number: DU624.H32 J36 1995b (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Honokaa Town by Laura Ruby; Ross W. Stephenson
Available online via eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
Noho Papa: Kahaluʻu, Kona, Hawaiʻi by Papakū Makawalu; Edith Kanakaʿole Foundation
Call Number: DU628.H28 N65 2011 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Ka Leo o ka Uluau
Beginning January 2021, join a huakaʻi or journey around Hawaiʻi Island as storytellers explore the six traditional moku or districts of the Island in this 24-episode podcast series.
Kūikaunupaʻa
A Kohala Community Resource Site.
Ua Hilo ʻia i ke Aho a ke Aloha (The Intertwining Stories of Hilo)
A Historic Hawaiʻi Foundation Story Map with Cultural Surveys Hawaiʻi & UH Hilo from December 10, 2021.

Niʻihau

Aloha Niihau: Oral Histories
Call Number: DU624.65 .A45 2007 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Niʻihau Place Names by John R. K. Clark; translated by Keao NeSmith
Available online via eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) and UH Press books at DeGruyter.
Niʻihau: Pele's Hawaiian Landfall -- A History by Steven Gentry
Call Number: DU628.N55 G46 2023 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Kauaʻi

Archaeology of Kauai by Wendell Clark Bennett
Call Number: GN670 .B4 no.80 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference, Ask for Assistance)
Kauaʻi in History: A Guide to the Resources by Christopher Leland Cook
Call Number: DU628.K3 K346 2000 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Kaua'i: Ancient Place Names and Their Stories by Frederick B. Wichman
Call Number: GR110.H38 W47 1998 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Kauai Tales by Frederick B. Wichman
Call Number: GR385.H3 W53 1985 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
More Kauaʻi Tales by Frederick B. Wichman
Call Number: PS571.H3 B35 no.70 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Polihale and Other Kauaʻi Legends by Frederick B. Wichman
Call Number: GR110.H38 W5 1991 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Hāʻena: Through the Eyes of the Ancestors by Carlos Andrade
Call Number: DU629.H18 A53 2008 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ebook Central.

Land Divisions: maps & names

AVAKonohiki.org
ʻAhupuaʻa and ʻIli names. Historic maps.
Kīpuka Database
Geographical information system (GIS) that "links historic data sets to geographic locations reinforcing the concept of information embedded in the ‘aina (land), encoded in the wahi inoa (place name)."
Kūikaunupaʻa
A Kohala Community Resource Site.
Wahi Hoʻōla Inventory: Kona Moku, Oʻahu
"The overall goal of this project was to develop an inventory of wahi hoʻōla or 'healing spaces' for Kona moku, Oʻahu; with this initial research laying the kahua, or foundation, for future work."
Honouliuli ʻĀina Hoʻohuli
"An online exhibit that allows visitors the opportunity to interact and dive deeper into the history of Honouliuli as an ahupua'a." Includes historical maps.

Moʻolelo: Find stories/legends - Hawaiian Legends Index

Search here to help you locate myths and legends indexed in 77 books.

Additional Moʻolelo

Kapaemahu Film and Book

Kapaemahu by Hinaleimoana Wong-Kalu; Dean Hamer; and Joe Wilson; Illustrated by Daniel Sousa
Call Number: PZ90.H27 W66 2022 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Waimānalo Mau a Mau Wahipana Project
"Waimānalo Mau a Mau was a collaborative initiative dedicated to documenting and celebrating the beauty and richness of Waimānalo." Watch interviews, learn about Indigenous research protocols, read moʻolelo in children's books, etc.

Nā Makani & Nā Ua: Winds & Rains

Winds & Rains of Hawaiʻi [PDF]
compiled by Annie Thomas
The Wind Gourd of Laʻamaomao by Moses K. Nakuina
Call Number: GR110.H38 N3413 2005 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

See pp. 132-135 for "Winds and Rains of Hawai'i" list (compiled from the Pukui-Elbert Hawaiian Dictionary).
Treasury of Hawaiian Words in One Hundred and One Categories by Harold W. Kent
Call Number: PL6446 K46 1993 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

See list of rains on p. 377 & winds on p. 437
Nā Makani o ka Mokupuni [PDF] by Compiled by Roy Kākulu Alameida
Winds by Island
Ka Ua: Mai ka Puke Wehewehe ʻŌlelo ʻo Hawaiian Dictionary [PDF] by e Samuel Elbert a me Mary Kawena Pukui
Rains from the Hawaiian Dictionary by Elbert & Pukui, 1971.
Ua hoʻonohonoho ʻia kēia wahi puke e Kati Loke Rose, Iulai 1980.
Index of Winds [PDF] by Genie Alvarado
Index of Winds by Island [PDF] by Genie Alvarado
Index of Rains [PDF] by Genie Alvarado
Index of Rains by Island [PDF] by Genie Alvarado
Hānau Ka Ua: Hawaiian Rain Names by Collette Leimomi Akana with Kiele Gonzalez
Call Number: PL6449 .A43 2015 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Winds of Oʻahu
Ahupuaʻa maps & wind names. Asia-Pacific Digital Library.

Nā Mele: Place Names in Song & Chant

Huapala: Hawaiian Music and Hula Archives
Hawaiian lyrics & translation. Many Hawaiian mele (songs) describe special places in Hawaiʻi.
Hawaiian Sheet Music Index
Search Hawaiian songs and sheet music in the Bishop Museum Library, the Hawaiʻi State Library and the UH Manoa Libraryʻs Hawaiian Collection.
MELE: Hawaiian Music Archive

The Eddie Kamae Songbook: A Musical Journey
Available online via The Hawaiian Legacy Foundation.
The songbook is a "compilation of thirty-four songs that played an important role in Eddie’s life. Each song is presented in the form of a digital pūʻolo (bundle): researched lyrics and translations, a story about the song and its importance, video and audio clips, a music sheet and multiple resources that range from important to fascinating" (About the songbook).

Websites

Census Interactive Online Maps
eVols
eVols is an open-access, digital institutional repository for material that UH Mānoa digitizes as part of grant projects and digital library initiatives.
Hawaiian Place Names (via Ulukau.org)
A Catalog of Hawaiian Place Names Compiled from the Records of the Boundary Commission and The Board of Commissioners to Quiet Land Titles of the Kingdom of Hawaii Collected and annotated by Lloyd J. Soehren
Papakilo Database - Office of Hawaiian Affairs
Includes historic sites database, māhele ʻāina index, maps.
Hawaiʻi -- Place Names Research Guide
Created by UH-Mānoa Hamilton Library Hawaiian Collections librarians
ScholarSpace
An open-access, digital institutional repository for the intellectual works and unique collections of the UH Mānoa academic community. Publications from the Center for Pacific Island Studies are available here.
Traditions of Oʻahu: Stories of an Ancient Island
Ulukau - the Hawaiian Electronic Library
Waikīkī Research Guide
Wehewehe
Online Hawaiian dictionary.
Search for a Hawaiian word or definition.
Wehewehe Wikiwiki (Wehe²wiki²)
Online Hawaiian Dictionaries via UH Hilo

Find Newspaper Articles

Current:

Honolulu Newspapers (via ProQuest)
Full text access to articles from:
Honolulu Star-Advertiser: 06/07/2010 - Present
Honolulu Advertiser: 01/01/1999 - 06/06/2010
Honolulu Star-Bulletin: 03/18/1996 - 06/06/2010

Honolulu Civil Beat (online newspaper)

Ka Wai Ola
The newspaper of the Office of Hawaiian Affairs (OHA). Full access to articles, including back issues. "Browse through 40 years of archives." Various videos included on the site.

Historic:

Papakilo Database
Search Hawaiian-language newspapers (1834-1948), Māhele land records, moʻokūʻauhau (genealogy), maps, and more.
Hoʻolaupaʻi: He ʻOhina Nūpepa ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi
An online collection of historic Hawaiian-language newspapers published between 1834 and 1948.
Chronicling America: Historic Newspapers
Digitized English-language newspapers published in Hawaiʻi from 1836-1922.

Hawaiʻi Newspaper Index

Search these indexes of Honolulu newspapers going back to 1929.

1989-Present: Hawaiʻi Newspaper Index Online

1929-1988: Index to the Honolulu Advertiser and
Honolulu Star-Bulletin (Print;
Located in the Hawaiʻi and
Pacific Reference Collection)

1929-1969: Online access to index

Once you find a citation to an article in the index, you must then go to the newspaper microfilm to find the full-text. Newspaper Microfilm is available at selected public libraries, including Kaimukī Public Library, and UH-Mānoa Hamilton Library.

1840-1944: Bob Krauss Research Index
                      an index of select English-language
                      newspapers from Hawaiʻi,
                      links to full-text if available online

Journal & Magazine Articles

Hawaiʻi Pacific Journal Index
An index to magazines and journals published in or about Hawaiʻi & the Pacific; citations only. See the Reference Desk for help locating print issues. See Titles and Coverage for a list of the journals and magazines included.

The Hawaiian Journal of History
An annual scholarly journal devoted to original articles on the history of Hawai‘i, Polynesia, and the Pacific area. Available online in full-text from UH Mānoa eVols (1967-2020) and via EBSCOhost's Academic Search Complete (2003-2024).
Current & past issues are also available in Print at Lama Library.
Thrum's Hawaiian Annual
"A handbook of valuable and statistical information relating to the Hawaiian Islands." Includes articles on a variety of Hawaiʻi-related topics. 1875-1936
Available online via eVols.
Paradise of the Pacific Magazine
Commissioned by King Kalākaua in 1888, this magazine promoted local business and tourism.
Some issues available online via Google Books. Additional issues available online via HathiTrust.
Hana Hou! The Magazine of Hawaiian Airlines
Selection of articles available online.
Honolulu Magazine
Articles available online from Feb. 2004-present.
Ke Ola Magazine
Digital issues available online from September 2009-present.

Citation Help

Check out our MLA Citation Guide for examples on citing books, ebooks (including ebooks from Ulukau), articles, websites, etc., including a sample paper and handouts.