Unit 2: Finding Intersections - ENG 272B - Multiethnic Literatures of Hawaiʻi (Kanae) - Kapiʻolani CC Library LibGuides at Kapi'olani Community College

Reference

Resource Units in Hawaiian Culture by Donald D. Kilolani Mitchell
Call Number: DU625.8 .M58 1992 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ulukau.
ʻŌlelo Noʻeau: Hawaiian Proverbs & Poetical Sayings by Mary Kawena Pukui
Call Number: PN6519.H4 P84 1983 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)

Includes index to place names, personal names, birds, fishes and other aquatic animals, and plants. Also available online via eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).

Kepano's Complete Hawaiian Concordance to Mary Kawena Pukui's ʻŌlelo Noʻeau
An index to all the Hawaiian words in the ʻōlelo noʻeau themselves.

Nānā i ke Kumu = Look to the Source (vol. 1) by Mary Kawena Pukui; E. W. Haertig; Catherine A. Lee
Call Number: DU624.5 P85
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Describes Hawaiian cultural practices, concepts, and beliefs.
Also available online via Ulukau.

Kaona

Finding Meaning: Kaona and Contemporary Hawaiian Literature by Brandy Nālani McDougall
Call Number: PS283.H3 M33 2016 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ebook Central.
He Mau Nane Hawaiʻi: Hawaiian Riddles by Kimo Armitage; Meleanna Aluli Meyer
Call Number: PZ7.A72 He 2004 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Hāpai nā Leo by Bill Teter; Sage Uʻilani Takehiro (editors)
Call Number: PS648.H3 H37 2010 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Kanaka Hawaiʻi Cartography: Hula, Navigation, and Oratory by Renee Pualani Louis and Moana Kahele
Call Number: GF504.H3 L68 2017 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Also available online via eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).

JSTOR Articles

JSTOR
Lama Library has access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-XV collections, Life Sciences collection, and Lives of Literature. These collections provide full-text journal backfiles in various disciplines. Selected journals in the following subject areas are available: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Aquatic Sciences, Archaeology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance History, Law, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology and Statistics.

Fostering Culturally Relevant Literacy Instruction: Lessons from a Native Hawaiian Classroom
Wurdeman-Thurston, Katherine, and Julie Kaomea. Language Arts, vol. 92, no. 6, 2015, pp. 424–435.
Navigating Uncharted Oceans of Meaning: Kaona as Historical and Interpretive Method
Arista, Noelani. PMLA, vol. 125, no. 3, 2010, pp. 663–669.
Nahenahe: The Sound of Kanaka Maoli Refusal
Fellezs, Kevin. Antiracism Inc.: Why the Way We Talk about Racial Justice Matters, edited by Felice Blake et al., Punctum Books, 2019, pp. 231–254.
Ma ka Hana ka ʻIke (In the Work Is the Knowledge): Kaona as Rhetorical Action
McDougall, Brandy Nālani, and Georganne Nordstrom. College Composition and Communication, vol. 63, no. 1, 2011, pp. 98–121.

Assimilation Policies

"How Japan Took Control of Korea" by Erin Blakemore, History, 28 May 2025.

Joseph Han

On Joseph Han

Nuclear Family: A Novel by Joseph Han
Call Number: PS3608.A6969 N83 2022 (Reserves Collection, Ask at Circulation)

Also available online via EBSCOhost.

Korean Films & KDrama Series

Korean Literature

Lost Names: Scenes from a Korean Boyhood by Richard E. Kim
Call Number: eBook

Available online via Ebook Central.
Pachinko by Min Jin Lee
Call Number: PS3612.E346 P33 2017 (General Collection, 2nd floor)
When My Name Was Keoko by Linda Sue Park
Available at Hawaiʻi State Public Library System.

Preview available online via Google Books.

Digital Library of Korean Literature: Yi Yongak(이용악)
Recommended Reading: Yi, Yong‑ak. Shabby House (낡은 집). Sammunsa, 1938.
Wave Books
Recommended Reading: Yi, Sang. Yi Sang: Selected Works. Edited and translated by Don Mee Choi et al., Wave Books, 2020.

Beasts of a Little Land by Juhea Kim
Available at Hawaiʻi Sate Public Library System.
Preview available online via Google Books.

Kāne

Hawaiian Legends Index
Use the Subject Search to search for Kāne, or use the Subject Browse for a listing of subjects indexed.

Ka Loina Kāne: Changes in Station, Changes in Health [PDF]
Cook, Bud Pomaikaʻipuʻuwaihāmama and Lucia Tarallo-Jensen. "Ka Loina Kāne: Changes in Station, Changes in Health." Hūlili, vol. 3, no. 1, 2006, pp. 237-259.
Kāne - Kumukahi.org
Includes video, ʻŌlelo Noʻeau, and "He Mele no Kāne."
Wai - Kumukahi.org
Includes video and "He Mele no Kāne."

Books

The Water of Kāne: And Other Legends of the Hawaiian Islands by Mary Kawena Pukui; Caroline Curits; Oliver C. Kinney
Call Number: GR385 .P8 1994 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

eBook available via Ulukau. See ch. 6 for Kūʻula: God of Fishermen.
Native Men Remade: Gender and Nation in Contemporary Hawaiʻi by Ty P. Kāwika Tengan
Call Number: DU624.65 .T46 2008 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor
Also available online via Ebook Central.

Makai

From Mauka to Makai: Solomon Pili Kahoʻohalahala
Earth is Blue Magazine, June 2017.
Mālama ʻĀina: Waipā Foundation
Learn about mauka, kula, makai, and kahawai. Includes photos.
Makai Brochure [PDF]
State of Hawaiʻi Department of Land and Natural Resources, 2013.

Kumulipo by Queen Liliuokalani (trans.)
Call Number: BL2620.H3 K83 1978 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Internet Sacred Text Archive.

Annexation

Websites & Primary Documents

The Annexation of Hawaii: A Collection of Documents
UH Mānoa's Digital Collection on the annexation of Hawaiʻi.
The Truth Behind the Overthrow of the Hawaiian Kingdom
Kamehameha Schools, 17 January 2017.
Cleveland's Withdrawal of Hawaii Annexation Treaty: December 18, 1893
The 1897 Petition Against the Annexation of Hawaii. Teaching with Documents. [PDF]
This lesson plan by the National Archives and Records Administration provides two primary source documents; covers the historical background; addresses standards and cross-curricular connections; suggests diverse teaching activities; and offers a written document analysis worksheet.
Lā Hoʻihoʻi Ea: Politics of Restoration and Hawaiian Sovereignty
Maile, David. 03 August 2015. The Red Nation.

Books

Kūʻē Petitions: A Mau Loa Aku Nō by Nicole Duarte; Ahukini Fuertes; J. Hauʻoli Ikaika PoʻokelaLorenzo-Elarco; Matt Mattice; Maile Meyer; Teri Skillman-Kashyap; Nālani Minton; Jamaica Heolimeleikalani Osorio; Jon Kamakawiwoʻole Osorio; Noenoe K. Silva
Call Number: DU627.3 .K843 2020 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Aloha Betrayed: Native Hawaiian Resistance to American Colonialism by Noenoe K. Silva
Call Number: DU625 .S49 2004 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ebook Central.
Who Owns the Crown Lands of Hawaiʻi? by Jon M. Van Dyke
Call Number: KFH451 .V36 2008 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ebook Central.
Hawaiian by Birth: Missionary Children, Bicultural Identity, and U.S. Colonialism in the Pacific by Joy Schulz
Call Number: DU624.7.W45 S34 2017 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available as an eBook Online.
Nation Within: The Story of America's Annexation of the Nation of Hawaiʻi by Tom Coffman
Call Number: DU627.4 .C64 1998 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available as a streaming film via Ethnographic Video Online.
A Nation Rising: Hawaiian Movements for Life, Land, and Sovereignty by Noelani Goodyear-Kaʻōpua; Ikaika Hussey; Erin Kahunawaikaʻala Wright
Call Number: DU624.65 .N358 2014 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online from eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
Paradoxes of Hawaiian Sovereignty: Land, Sex, and the Colonial Politics of State Nationalism by J. Kēhaulani Kauanui
Call Number: DU627.8 .K38 2018 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ebook Central.
Unsustainable Empire: Alternative Histories of Hawaiʻi Statehood by Dean Itsuji Saranillio
Call Number: DU627.5 .S27 2018 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ebook Central.
Ua Mau Ke Ea: Sovereignty Endures by David Keanu Sai
Call Number: DU625 .S375 2011 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)
Night is a Sharkskin Drum by Haunani-Kay Trask
Call Number: PS3570.R3374 N54 2002 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Film

Noho Hewa: The Wrongful Occupation of Hawaiʻi by Anne Keala Kelly
Call Number: KDVD 176 (AV/Media Collection, 1st floor)

Hawaiian Fishing Nets & Fishing Shrines

Books and Magazines

Resource Units in Hawaiian Culture by Donald D. Kilolani Mitchell
Call Number: DU625.8 .M58 1992 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Available as an eBook via Ulukau. See Unit 11: Fish and Fishing.
Native Use of Fish in Hawaii by Margaret Titcomb
Call Number: QL636.5.H3 T58 1972 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)

Also available as an eBook via Ulukau.
Hawaiian Antiquities (Moolelo Hawaii) by David Malo
Call Number: DU625 .M252 1951 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)

Includes chapters on the fishes and fishing. The 1903 version is available online via Google Books. Search inside the book for references to fish or fishing, or refer to
pages 105-106 for Poe ka Upena (Net Makers).
Nā Makana a Nā Iʻa = The Fish and Their Gifts by Joshua K. Stender; Alexa M. Bate
Call Number: PL6445.S76 2004 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available as an eBook
Volume 1: Ka Hana Lawaiʻa a me nā Koʻa o na Kai ʻEwalu = A History of Fishing Practices and Marine Fisheries of the Hawaiian Islands by Kepā Maly; Onaona Maly
Available as an eBook via Ulukau.
Volume 2 - Oral History Interviews: Ka Hana Lawaiʻa a me nā Koʻa o na Kai ʻEwalu = A History of Fishing Practices and Marine Fisheries of the Hawaiian Islands by Kepā Maly; Onaona Maly
Available as an eBook via Ulukau.
Ka ʻOihana Lawaiʻa = Hawaiian Fishing Traditions by Daniel Kahāʻulelio; Puakea Nogelmeier
Call Number: SH319.H3 K34 2006 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Hawaiian and English.
Hawaiian Fishing Traditions by Moke Manu; Dennis Kawaharada
Call Number: GR110.H38 H387 2006 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Introduction by Dennis Kawaharada available online.
Legends of Maui: A Demi-god of Polynesia and of His Mother Hina by W. D. Westervelt
Call Number: GR510 .W46 1913b (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Internet Sacred Text Archive. Refer to Chapter II: Maui the Fisherman and Chapter VII: Maui and Tuna.
Lawaiʻa Magazine

Articles

ʻUpena Poepoe
Young, Peter T. "ʻUpena Poepoe." Images of Old Hawaiʻi, 30 Mar. 2019.
Lawaiʻa Pono: Community-Based Fishing [PDF]
Blake, Ted Kawahinehelelani, and Charles Young. "Lawaiʻa Pono: Community-Based Fishing." Hūlili, vol. 11, no. 1, 2019, pp. 79-81.
Making and Mending Net: The Hana Lawelawe of Higher Education in Hawaiʻi [PDF]
Ah Nee-Benham, Maenette K. P. "Making and Mending Net: The Hana Lawelawe of Higher Education in Hawaiʻi." Hūlili, vol. 10, 2016, pp. 281-296.
The Fisherman’s Net
Penniman, Teya. Maui Nō Ka ʻOi Magazine. May-June 2014.
Chuck Leslie: The ‘Ōpelu Man
Anderson, Karen. Ke Ola Magazine. Mar-Apr. 2019.
Weaving Wisdom: Talking Story with Chuck Leslie
Olukai blog. 20 Feb. 2020.
Residents of the Last Hawaiian Fishing Village Look to Preserve Their Icebox
Ka Wai Ola, 1 Sept. 2021.

Film

Related Research Guides

Loko Iʻa: Hawaiian Fishponds
Native Hawaiian Fishpond Management
Principles of Microeconomics: Iʻa-nomics-Fish Culture & Industry

Websites

Spawning Guide, Hawaiian Moon Phases
Spawning Guide for the Leeward Coast of Hawaiʻi Island | A program of The Kohala Center: Includes images and descriptions of Hawaiian moon phases.
Lunar Calendars
From the Western Pacific Regional Fishery Management Council.

ENG 272B - Multiethnic Literatures of Hawaiʻi (Kanae): Unit 2: Finding Intersections

Kāmau by Alani Apio (and) Nuclear Family: A Novel by Joseph Han

Reference

Assimilation Policies

Joseph Han

Korean Films & KDrama Series

Korean Literature

Kāne

Makai

Annexation

Hawaiian Fishing Nets & Fishing Shrines