Kapiʻolani CC Library LibGuides: ECON 130: Principles of Microeconomics: ʻIke Wai-nomics: Hawaiʻi Watersheds and Water Resources

ʻŌlelo Noʻeau: Hawaiian Proverbs

ʻŌlelo Noʻeau: Hawaiian Proverbs & Poetical Sayings by Mary Kawena Pukui
Call Number: PN6519.H4 P84 1983 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)
Includes index to place names, personal names, birds, fishes and other aquatic animals, and plants. Also available online via eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).

AVAKonohiki.org
ʻAhupuaʻa and ʻIli names. Historic maps.
Kīpuka Database
Geographical information system (GIS) that "links historic data sets to geographic locations reinforcing the concept of information embedded in the ‘aina (land), encoded in the wahi inoa (place name)."
Kūikaunupaʻa
A Kohala Community Resource Site.
Wahi Hoʻōla Inventory: Moku o Kona, Mokupuni o Oʻahu
"The overall goal of this project was to develop an inventory of wahi hoʻōla or “healing spaces” for Kona moku, Oʻahu."
Honouliuli ʻĀina Hoʻohuli
"An online exhibit that allows visitors the opportunity to interact and dive deeper into the history of Honouliuli as an ahupua'a." Includes historical maps.

Search here to help you locate myths and legends indexed in 77 books.

Hānau Ka Ua: Hawaiian Rain Names by Collette Leimomi Akana with Kiele Gonzalez
Call Number: PL6449 .A43 2015 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
The Wind Gourd of Laʻamaomao by Moses K. Nakuina
Call Number: GR110.H38 N3413 2005 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
See pp. 132-135 for "Winds and Rains of Hawai'i" list (compiled from the Pukui-Elbert Hawaiian Dictionary).
Treasury of Hawaiian Words in One Hundred and One Categories by Harold W. Kent
Call Number: PL6446 K46 1993 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)
See list of rains on p. 377 & winds on p. 437
Nā Makani o ka Mokupuni [PDF] by Compiled by Roy Kākulu Alameida
Winds by Island
Ka Ua: Mai ka Puke Wehewehe ʻŌlelo ʻo Hawaiian Dictionary [PDF] by e Samuel Elbert a me Mary Kawena Pukui
Rains from the Hawaiian Dictionary by Elbert & Pukui, 1971.
Ua hoʻonohonoho ʻia kēia wahi puke e Kati Loke Rose, Iulai 1980.
Index of Winds [PDF] by Genie Alvarado
Index of Winds by Island [PDF] by Genie Alvarado
Index of Rains [PDF] by Genie Alvarado
Index of Rains by Island [PDF] by Genie Alvarado
Winds of Oʻahu
Ahupuaʻa maps & wind names. Asia-Pacific Digital Library.

Sites of Oahu by Sterling, Elspeth P.; Catherine C. Summers (Compiled by)
Call Number: DU628.O3 S8 1993 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)
Refer to the Detailed Index online via Ulukau to see what might be included about your area.

Sugar Water: Hawaii's Plantation Ditches by Carol Wilcox
Call Number: SB228 .W55 1997 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Sovereign Sugar: Industry and Environment in Hawaiʻi by Carol A. MacLennan
Call Number: HD9107.H3 M33 2014 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Native Hawaiian Law: A Treatise
Call Number: KFH454 .N37 2015 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
See Chapter 9: From Wai to Kānāwai: Water Law in Hawaiʻi pp.525-577

Chronicling America: Historic Newspapers
Digitized English-language newspapers published in Hawaiʻi from 1836-1922.
Papakilo Database
Search Hawaiian-language newspapers (1834-1948), Māhele land records, moʻokūʻauhau (genealogy), maps, and more.

Honolulu Newspapers (via ProQuest)
Full text access to articles from:
Honolulu Star-Advertiser: 06/07/2010 - Present
Honolulu Advertiser: 01/01/1999 - 06/06/2010
Honolulu Star-Bulletin: 03/18/1996 - 06/06/2010

Use these databases to find journal articles, reports, and other documents:

Thrum's Hawaiian Annual (1875-1923)
Statistics on business, population, government, weather, geography; Articles on a wide variety of topics.

eVols
Digital institutional repository for the University of Hawaiʻi community and researchers around the world.

ScholarSpace
Intellectual works and unique collections of the UHM academic community.

The Hawaiian Journal of History
Devoted to orginal articles on the history of Hawaiʻi, Polynesia, and the Pacific area.

Pacific Science
Research on the biological and physical sciences of the Pacific basin.

Hawaiʻi & Pacific Journal Index
Index to magazines and journals published in or about Hawaiʻi & the Pacific (citations only).

Papakilo Database
Online documents of culturally significant places, events, history of Hawaiʻi.

The University of Hawaiʻi Sea Grant College Program
Search for online articles, videos, podcasts, and other resources, including Ka Pili Kai.