Skip to Main Content

Library and Learning Resources, Kapiʻolani Community College

Maunalua - Nā Wahi Pana o Maunalua (Storied places of Maunalua): Home

Nā Wahi Inoa: Place Names

Place Names of Hawaii by Mary Kawena Pukui; Samuel H. Elbert; Esther T. Mookini
Call Number: DU622 .P79 1976 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online as an eBook via Ulukau,
OR Search via Hawaiian Dictionaries Tip: Under CUSTOMIZE SEARCH, select PLACE NAMES OF HAWAII
Hawaiʻi Place Names: Shores, Beaches, and Surf Sites by John R. K. Clark
Call Number: DU622 .C546 2002 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Available online via Ebook Central.
Also available online as an eBook via Ulukau.
Kaua'i: Ancient Place Names and Their Stories by Frederick B. Wichman
Call Number: GR110.H38 W47 1998 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Refer to the Index for information on Menehune.
Hawaiian Surfing: Traditions From the Past by John R. K. Clark
Call Number: GV839.65.H3 C53 2011 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ebook Central.
Kawaihoa-Kuamoʻokāne, Hanauma and Kohelepelepe - the Koko Head Regional Park and Nature Preserve by Kumu Pono Associates
Cultural Report. PDF

Maps

Kīpuka Database
GIS mapping with historic data. (Use with Firefox browser)

1927 Maunalua Map (USGS, PDF)

1938 Map (from UH Mānoa, Hamilton Library; posted online here)

Maunalua Place Names from 1921 Bishop Estates Map (jpg)

AVA Konohiki

Websites

Maunalua.net
Exploring the History of Maunalua

Mālama Maunalua

Traditions of Maunalua (Asia-Pacific Digital Library)

Place Names of Hanauma

Maunalua Fishpond Heritage Center

Loko Iʻa: Hawaiian Fishponds (research guide)

Nā Moʻolelo me nā Kaʻao: History & Legends

Kuamoʻokāne (Koko Head) Source: Hawaiʻi State Archives Digital Collections

Kawaihoa-Kuamoʻokāne, Hanauma and Kohelepelepe - the Koko Head Regional Park and Nature Preserve by Kumu Pono Associates
Cultural Report. PDF
Ke Kula Wela La o Pahua: The Cultural & Historical Significance of Kahua Heiau, Maunalua, Oʻahu
OHA Report. PDF. Includes cultural history of Maunalua.
Native Planters in Old Hawaii: Their Life, Lore, and Environment by E.S. Craighill Handy, Elizabeth Green Handy, & Mary Kawena Pukui
Call Number: GN424 .H3
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

See pt. 5: Descriptions of areas of habitation on each island.
Also available online via eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
Sites of Oahu by Sterling, Elspeth P.; Catherine C. Summers (Compiled by)
Call Number: DU628.O3 S8 1993 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Refer to the Detailed Index online via Ulukau to see what might be included about your area.

Photos

Kuapā Fishpond (various photos/illus., Maunalua.net)

Kuapā Pond, (various photos from Hawaiʻi State Archives, etc. uploaded by Peter Young)

Hanauma Bay (historic, date unknown)

Koko Crater Cable Car, 1954 (National Archives, jpg)

Maunalua (with places names)

Ke Kula Wela La o Pahua: The Cultural and Historical Significance of Pahua Heiau, Maunalua, Oʻahu (Office of Hawaiian Affairs, 2014, PDF)
See pg. 41-50 for historical photographs

Kai Yama - Documents

Brochure template

Change & Community Impact

Hawaii Kai: The First 20 Years by Lambreth Hancock
Call Number: DU629.H7 H36 1983 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Home, Homelessness, and Homeland in Kalama Valley: Re-Imagining a Hawaiian Nation Through a Property Dispute [PDF] by Neal Milner
The Hawaiian Journal of History, vol. 40 (2006)
Hawaiʻi Current Events Research Guide

Find Newspaper & Journal Articles

The Hawaiian Journal of History
An annual scholarly journal devoted to original articles on the history of Hawai‘i, Polynesia, and the Pacific area. Available online in full-text from UH Mānoa eVols (1967-2020) and via EBSCOhost's Academic Search Complete (2003-2024).
Current & past issues are also available in Print at Lama Library.

Hawaiʻi Pacific Journal Index
An index to magazines and journals published in or about Hawaiʻi & the Pacific; citations only. See the Reference Desk for help locating print issues. See Titles and Coverage for a list of the journals and magazines included.
Honolulu Newspapers (via ProQuest)
Full text access to articles from:
Honolulu Star-Advertiser: 06/07/2010 - Present
Honolulu Advertiser: 01/01/1999 - 06/06/2010
Honolulu Star-Bulletin: 03/18/1996 - 06/06/2010

Chronicling America: Historic Newspapers
Digitized English-language newspapers published in Hawaiʻi from 1836-1922.

Newspaper, Journal, Magazine Articles & Reports

Ke Kula Wela La o Pahua: The Cultural and Historical Significance of Pahua Heiau, Maunalua, Oʻahu (Office of Hawaiian Affairs, 2014, PDF)

A Brief Geography of the Maunalua Region (PDF)

Kanewai Spring Complex (Honolulu Magazine, Nov. 2015, PDF)

Bringing Back Ancient Spring and FIshpond (MidWeek, Jan. 2015)

Eastermost Oʻahu (Paradise of the Pacific, Dec. 1918)

Action Plan for the Kalauhaʻihaʻi (Lucas Spring) Fishpond Restoration Project (NOAA, May 2010, PDF)

Kai Lawaiʻa (Fisheries) from Honolulu Harbor to Maunalua Bay
Refer to pp. 60-61 of Lawaiʻa Magazine, Issue 19