Skip to Main Content

Library and Learning Resources, Kapiʻolani Community College

ENG 272B - Multiethnic Literatures of Hawaiʻi (Kanae): Unit 1: Ka Wā Māmua: Ka Wā Mahope

This guide will direct you to resources related to the social history of Hawaiʻi Creole English, or pidgin.

Books

Hawaii, Its People, Their Legends by Emma M. Nakuina
Call Number: DU623 .N16 1904a (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference, Ask for Assistance)

Also available online via HathiTrust.
Nanaue the Shark Man and Other Hawaiian Shark Stories by Emma M. Nakuina
Call Number: GR110.H38 N36 1994 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
He Moʻolelo Kaʻao o Kamapuaʻa = [A Legendary Tradition of Kamapuaʻa, the Hawaiian Pig-God] : An Annotated Translation of a Hawaiian Epic from Ka Leo o ka Lāhui, June 22, 1891-July 23, 1891 by Lilikalā Kameʻeleihiwa
Call Number: GR110.H38 M68 1996 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
The Legends and Myths of Hawaii by David Kalakaua
Call Number: GR385.H3 K3 1972 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Akua Hawaiʻi: Hawaiian Gods and Their Stories by Armitage, Kimo; Solomon Enos (Illustrator)
Call Number: BL2620.H3 A76 2005 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)
Fornander Collection of Hawaiian Antiquities and Folk-lore by Fornander, Abraham; with translations revised and illustrated with notes by Thomas G. Thrum.
Call Number: GN670 .B5 vols. 4-6 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Text in Hawaiian and English.
Also available online via Archive.org: Vol. 4.
online via Archive.org: Vol. 5.
online via Archive.org: Vol. 6.
Folktales of Hawaiʻi = He Mau Kaʻao Hawaiʻi by Pukui, Mary Kawena (Compiled by)
Call Number: GR110.H38 P85 1995 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Hawaiian and English
Hawaiian Mythology by Martha W. Beckwith
Call Number: GR385 .B43 1970 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Available as an eBook via Ulukau.
Hawaiian Fishing Traditions by Moke Manu; Dennis Kawaharada
Call Number: GR110.H38 H387 2006 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Introduction by Dennis Kawaharada available online.
Hawaiian Legends of the Guardian Spirits by Caren Loebel-Fried
Call Number: PZ8.1.L934 Haw 2002 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).

Periodicals

The Legend of Kalaipahoa: The Famous Poison god of Molokai [PDF]
From Paradise of the Pacific, v.33 no. 5

Hawaiian Place Names

Hawaiian Place Names: The Significance of Hawaiian Sites, Their Locations, and Interpretation of Their Names
Call Number: DU622 .H388 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Hawaiʻi Place Names: Shores, Beaches, and Surf Sites by John R. K. Clark
Call Number: DU622 .C546 2002 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Available online via Ebook Central.
Also available online as an eBook via Ulukau.
North Shore Place Names: Kahuku to Kaena by John R. K. Clark; Translations by Keao NeSmith
Call Number: DU628.O3 C59 2014 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ebook Central.
Kalaupapa Place Names, Waikolu to Nihoa by John R. K. Clark; Iāsona Ellinwood; Keao NeSmith
Call Number: RC154.5.H32 C53 2018 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ebook Central.
Niʻihau Place Names by John R. K. Clark; translated by Keao NeSmith
Available online via eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) and UH Press books at DeGruyter.
Hawaiian Surfing: Traditions From the Past by John R. K. Clark
Call Number: GV839.65.H3 C53 2011 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ebook Central.

Hawaiian Place Names (via Ulukau.org)
A Catalog of Hawaiian Place Names Compiled from the Records of the Boundary Commission and The Board of Commissioners to Quiet Land Titles of the Kingdom of Hawaii Collected and annotated by Lloyd J. Soehren
Ulukau - the Hawaiian Electronic Library