Fan, Y. (2000). A classification of Chinese culture. Cross Cultural Management, 7(2), 3-10.
Ng, F. (2010). Food and culture: Chinese restaurants in Hawaii. In Chinese America: History and Perspectives: Hawaii Chinese (special issue), pp. 113-121. Chinese Historical Society of America. https://chsa.org/wp-content/uploads/2010/12/CHSA_HP2010_00_FM.pdf
Abbato, S. (2011). Community profiles for health care providers.
People and Cultures of Hawaii: The Evolution of Culture and Ethnicity by 
Cultural Awareness in Nursing and Health Care by
This introductory textbook relates theory to practice and enhances students' learning and understanding of cultural issues that impact on patient care and their own practice as nurses, while considering wider social and political issues. Cultural Awareness in Nursing and Health Care has been updated to include new research, evidence and a completely new chapter focusing on the health care workforce itself and the issues it's facing. Other topics include: Health, illness and religious beliefs; Mental health and culture; Women's and men's health in a multicultural society; Caring for the elderly; Death and bereavement.
Key features: Includes international perspectives and issues relating to overseas nurses studying and working in the UK; Case studies, reflective exercises, summary boxes and website links designed to stimulate discussion and shared practice.
Asian American History and Culture: an Encyclopedia by
With overview essays and more than 400 A-Z entries, this exhaustive encyclopedia documents the history of Asians in America from earliest contact to the present day. Organized topically by group, with an in-depth overview essay on each group, the encyclopedia examines the myriad ethnic groups and histories that make up the Asian American population in the United States. "Asian American History and Culture" covers the political, social, and cultural history of immigrants from East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, the Pacific Islands, and their descendants, as well as the social and cultural issues faced by Asian American communities, families, and individuals in contemporary society. In addition to entries on various groups and cultures, the encyclopedia also includes articles on general topics such as parenting and child rearing, assimilation and acculturation, business, education, and literature.
Birthing in the Pacific: Beyond Tradition and Modernity? by
This collection explores birthing in the Pacific against the background of debates about tradition and modernity. A wide-ranging introduction and conclusion, together with case studies from Papua New Guinea, New Caledonia, Vanuatu, Fiji, and Tonga, show how simple contrasts between traditional and modern practices, technocratic and organic models of childbirth, indigenous and foreign approaches, and notions of "before" and "after" can be potent but problematic. The difficulties entailed confront public health programs concerned with practical issues of infant and maternal survival in developing countries as well as scholarly analyses of birthing in cross-cultural contexts. The introduction analyzes central concepts and themes: questions of survival, safety, and well-being; the significance of postures, practices, and sites; the role of midwives, traditional birth attendants, and nurses; and the role of men in birthing and reproduction. Contributors--four anthropologists, a historian, and a community health worker--offer insights into the ways mothers, midwives, and nurses relate the traditional and the modern, and how ideas of tradition and modernity have shaped representations of Pacific childbirth. The conclusion provides researchers with a guide to relevant literature from several disciplines. As a whole the collection warns against either a celebration of emancipation through biomedicine or a recuperative romance about women's past powers in reproduction.
Health Promotion and Aging 8th ed by
This acclaimed text promotes healthy aging by demonstrating how health practitioners, program developers, and policymakers can prevent or manage disease and make large-scale improvements toward health and wellness in the older adult population. The eighth edition encompasses major new research that substantially updates previous recommendations. It provides important new content on Medicare, Medicaid, Social Security and the ACA; clinical preventive services; global aging; sexual health; saving for retirement; long-term care alternatives; and much more. Accessible and comprehensive, this text is supported by abundant tables, figures, and illustrations. It describes practical strategies--including model community and government initiatives--that have proven markedly successful, as well as health-promotion tools, resource lists, assessment tools, and checklists. New trends such as green burials, LGBT aging, yoga, and dancing exercise regimens are also covered. Additionally, each chapter features key terms, learning objectives, summary, and thought-provoking questions. An improved instructor package includes upgraded PowerPoints, a new test bank, sample syllabi, chapter summaries, discussion questions, chapter exams, and more. Purchase includes access to the ebook for use on most mobile devices or computers. New to the Eighth Edition: Updated research findings, demographics, figures, and statistics regarding health/social/medicaltrends/exercise/weight managementNew content on global aging, sexual health, and substance abuseNew information on medical screening recommendations, cancer treatments, complementary and alternative medicine, and moreNew findings regarding mental health and older adultsSignificant updates to Medicare, Medicaid, Social Security, and the ACAExpanded section on global health and older adultsUpgraded instructor support package Key Features: Provides an interdisciplinary view of how practitioners, program developers, and policymakers can improve health and wellness in older adultsDescribes successful community and government model programs and initiativesDelivers health-promoting tools, resource lists, checklists, and assessment toolsOffers key terms, learning objectives, critical-thinking questions and reflection boxesIncludes a robust instructor package
Handbook of Neuroscience Nursing by
The authors lay a foundation with an in-depth description of central nervous system anatomy, followed by step-by-step processes required to perform accurate and thorough neurological assessments. Subsequent chapters describe common neurological disorders and conditions such as tumors, vascular anomalies, and traumatic brain injury. The authors deftly guide the reader through managing neurological diagnoses and help the reader understand the treatment that patients with these conditions may undergo. Key Highlights Superb illustrations and 10 animations created by master artists bring to life the anatomical structures, pathologies, and mechanisms of injury described in the chapters Lists, tables, and boxes are organized in a concise layout that allows quick consultation and implementation Diagnostic images, medical illustrations, and treatment algorithms help elucidate the implications of managing patients with complex neurological conditions Appendices contain extensive complementary information including discharge instructions and checklists that are of great help to family caregivers and healthcare professionals alike
The Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Certification Review Manual by
This review manual prepares students to successfully pass the ANCC Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner board certification examination. It encompasses all of the essential knowledge required, uses a succinct outline format that highlights critical detail, and systematically follows the test blueprint so that those taking the exam will be optimally prepared.The review manual begins with an overview of the certification examination, self-care, and test tips; the role of the psychiatric-mental health nurse practitioner, scope of practice, and regulations; and the theoretical foundations of care. Other topics examined include the neuroanatomy and physiology of mental illness; psychopharmacology; physical assessment, diagnostic tests, and differential diagnosis. A wide range of psychiatric disorders, as organized in the DSM-5, are also reviewed. Each of the chapters include learning objectives, and easy-to-read outline format, and end-of-chapter review questions. The review manual concludes with a 150-question practice test. Key Features: Reflects the latest ANCC test blueprint Includes test-taking strategies and tips for preparing for the big day; scope of practice; and theoretical foundations of care Covers a wide range of psychiatric disorders, as organized in the DSM-5 Includes end-of-chapter review questions and rationales, PLUS a valuable 150-question practice test with rationales-more than 400 questions in total Purchase includes access to the eBook for use on most mobile devices or computers