Kapiʻolani CC Library Spotlight

Himeyuri and Hawaii Exhibition

When: August 14th - December 20th, 2024, during library hours 

Location: 1st Floor, Lama Library, near the Hawaiʻi-Pacific Collection

Lama Library invites you to visit us and view the traveling exhibition, “Himeyuri and Hawaii.” We are pleased to host this exhibit through the end of the Fall semester. Created by the Himeyuri Peace Museum in Okinawa, this exhibit tells the story of the Himeyuri Student Corps, comprised of female students from the Okinawa First Girls' High School and the Okinawa Female Normal School, who were mobilized to serve as assistant nurses during the Battle of Okinawa, in 1945.  Many of the young students lost their lives, and by the war's end, 136 out of 245 students had died. 

Learn about the story of the Himeyuri students, and discover the connections between Himeyuri and the people of Hawaiʻi through the years. 

The exhibition has 2 parts. Part 1, outlines the experiences of Himeyuri and the Battle of Okinawa, and Part 2 outlines the connections between Himeyuri and Hawaiʻi.

The exhibition was previously on display at the UH West Oʻahu Library, and at Hamilton Library at UH Mānoa.

With Principal Noda after a closing-of-the-school-year ceremony.

Looking for a space to jot down your big ideas for your paper? Have a long math equation that can't fit on a page of your notebook? Or, do you just want to doodle while waiting for your next class? The Library has whiteboards waiting to be filled with your ideas, math equations, and doodles! Bring friends, or your study group for brainstorming sessions on how to complete a project, or create a list on who will bring what to the next potluck. Whiteboards are located on both floors of the library. Dry-erase markers and erasers can be borrowed from the Circulation Desk located on the 1st floor.
                      

The Library has entered into a trial of Artstor, running through the end of the Fall 2022 semester: December 16, 2022. 

What is Artstor? 

Artstor is a database that features over 2 million images from museums, archives, libraries, scholars, and artists, which have all been cleared for educational and research use. "Scholars can examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single, easy-to-use resource" (Artstor, n.d.). During the trial, Artstor images will also appear directly through image searching within JSTOR. 

To take advantage of all the features Artstor has to offer during the trial, you will need to create a personal account. Please keep in mind the library is participating in a temporary trial, and the Library cannot guarantee this will become a permanent resource. See the video below for instructions on creating a personal account. Note: You are not required to subscribe to newsletters and promotions or surveys in order to create a login. 

How to Register for an Artstor Account

You can also check out the LibGuide: Artstor Across Disciplines to see how you can incorporate Artstor into your curriculum. 

Explore Collections in Artstor

Not sure where to begin your browsing? There are a number of different collections in Artstor for your perusal. 

Please let us know what you think of Artstor!

Please check out Artstor, and let us know how you feel about it! Whether you are a student, faculty, or staff member, we would appreciate your feedback on this resource! You can email kapccref@hawaii.edu and let us know if you would like the library to subscribe to this resource. Or, quickly submit feedback via our ARTSTOR Trial Feedback Google Form.

Questions? 

Contact the Library at:
☎️ (808) 734-9359,
📧 kapccref@hawaii.edu,
💬 or chat with us online through this site by clicking the orange tab on the upper-right!

References

Artstor. (n.d.). About Artstor. Artstor. https://www.artstor.org/about.

OK, so why the 3 links and separate dates?

     Long story short, the two most popular daily newspapers in the Honolulu area -- The Honolulu Advertiser and The Honolulu Star-Bulletin -- merged in 2010 to become The Honolulu Star-Advertiser. As such, each newspaper has different coverage dates, and even when the dates overlap, the content and stories vary because they were separate newspapers.

Here's an example: say you're looking for Merrie Monarch results for the past 20 years.

• When you search the current newspaper, The Honolulu Star-Advertiser [bit.ly/PQstar-adv], you would find Merrie Monarch results for this year and the prior 11 years. Remember, though, you're looking for 20 years' worth of festival results...
  
• So you go to the next newspaper on the list, The Honolulu Advertiser [bit.ly/PQhnladv], and start by locating Merrie Monarch Results for 2009, but then you realize the points breakdown is missing...
• Something tells you to check The Honolulu Star-Bulletin [bit.ly/PQstar-bull], and you're in luck! The Honolulu Star-Bulletin's Merrie Monarch Festival results for 2009 do include the points each hālau was awarded in the hula competition.

Try it out for yourself!

What is JSTOR?

JSTOR is a digital library that provides access to over 2,000 journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. There are also many images you can use in your research within. Kapiʻolani CC Library has access to the following collections: 

• Arts & Sciences I - XV
• Life Sciences

You can browse titles by subject or browse by title.

Check out special collections: 

• Sustainability
• Security Studies

If you're interested in analyzing text you can try the Text Analyzer tool which has cool features that lets you drag and drop a document (or paste article text into the search field) in order to search for related articles on JSTOR. 

You can also check out JSTOR Labs' Projects page, which features projects such as: the Plant Humanities Lab, where you can "explore the cultural histories of plants and their influence on human societies."

Check out the JSTOR Understanding Series which helps link original works to scholarship by selecting text and passages from works by writers such as Shakespeare, Frederick Douglass, Walt Whitman, Mary Shelley, the U.S. Constitution, speeches by Martin Luther King, Jr., and more; and connecting them to articles which have referenced these works.  

The Library is pleased to announce that the University of Hawaiʻi's 10-campus system now has access to JSTOR, thanks to the efforts of UH Mānoa's University Librarian, Clem Guthro. 

If you are a Kapiʻolani CC student looking to build-up your core academic skills, score higher on tests, learn about and explore new careers, or gain skills to use in the workplace, check out PrepSTEP for Community Colleges. Within this resource you will find interactive tutorials, practice exams, flashcards, articles and eBooks.

Practice tests include:

• Next-Generation ACCUPLACER
• ATI TEAS 
• Nursing exams
• Culinary Arts exams
• EMT & Paramedic certification exams
• Military Exams
• and more

Targeted learning centers include:

• College Success Skills
• Core Math and Science Skills
• Core English Skills
• Career Preparation
• Placement Test Preparation
• Basic Computer Skills

The URL for PrepSTEP on our campus is: https://guides.library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu/prepstep.

In order to make use of PrepSTEP's resources, you will be required to register for a free personal user account. 

The curtains are drawn and a sliver of light cuts through the darkened room, showing flecks of dust rising into the air.  In the next room, the whir of a drill can be heard. A smile tears across your face as you hear the sound of more drilling -- I’ve got plenty of time, you think to yourself. This sound comforts you even more than the smooth jazz playing above.

As you put down the latest copy of O, The Oprah Magazine, you let out a sigh and run a satisfied  hand through your hair. Her book list and the recipe for Green Pea Hummus have been saved on your phone for later, along with the recipe for the Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies.

On the table in front of you the covers of Consumer Reports, People, This Old House, Chickens continue to call out to you with their covers.

Fast Food Makeover - 17 Chains Rated!

The Untold Story of Tiger King!

Cozy Reading Nooks!

Tips to Avoid a Chick-tastrophe!

You place your finger across your lips and weigh your options only to freeze when you hear your dentist’s voice saying that he’s ready to take you now.

Oh, if only I had more time, you think to yourself.

Save yourself a trip to your dentist, and read all these magazines and more, by checking out Flipster, our latest magazine database, available now until July 6 (currently on a 90-day trial and evaluation period).

No appointments necessary.

KapCC students, faculty/staff may be prompted for a UH login in order to access Flipster.