While some of these resources are free, many are only available to Kapiʻolani CC affiliates.If you are a Kapiʻolani CC student, instructor, or staff experiencing issues with access, please see our Troubleshooting Help Guide, or contact us for assistance.
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Register or log in with your free Artstor account (separate from your UH account) to use full functionality, e.g. download images. Artstor, is a database of over two million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
Academic Video Online from Alexander Street Press delivers more than 82,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, science, and more.
HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Among the many databases included, HeinOnline’s journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases.
PolicyMap is a U.S. national data and mapping tool that combines a curated, comprehensive geographic data library with simple, robust mapping and analytics tools. University faculty, researchers, and students use it to create compelling maps of up to five layers, export trend-charts with key benchmarks, download data for use in other tools, generate on-the-fly reports and upload your own data to view it with ours. You can create maps covering Demographics, Incomes & Spending, Housing, Lending, Quality of Life, Economy, Education, and Health. With a better understanding of your community, you can solve real-world problems faced by real people in real places. On a map, you can see what life is like in a neighborhood. Learn how best to help your community with data at the neighborhood or zip code level.
Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information, integrating data on over 80.000 topics from over 18.000 sources onto a single platform. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
Use Ancestry Library Edition to search genealogical records and discover more about your family history. This database includes records from the U.S. Census, military records, court, land and probate records, vital and church records, directories, passenger lists, and more.
Ebook Central is a full-text collection of over 80,000 books covering all subjects from the world's leading publishers, plus special technology to help you effectively use these online books for research.
Almost 4,000 titles are available online in full-text in EBSCO's eBook Collection, including several books in the successful For Dummies series, and over 300 titles from the University of Hawaii Press. A large collection of publicly accessible eBooks is also included, containing many classic works of literature and history.
Use EBSCOhost Health Databases for more focused research in the health sciences. CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is included here, providing full text for more than 600 of the 3,000 current nursing and allied health journals and other medical publications indexed in CINAHL dating back to 1981.
EBSCOhost databases cover a wide range of subject areas, including social sciences, health, business, computer science, psychology, religion, education, and more. Over 20,000 journal titles are indexed with the majority available in full text. Start with Academic Search Complete, or select all four databases and click Continue.
The Encyclopaedia Britannica Online delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. Written by Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors, and other notable experts, the Encyclopaedia Britannica articles are trusted resources with balanced, global perspectives and unique insights that users will not find anywhere else. Includes articles, images, videos, and primary sources.
Issues & Controversies is an authoritative source of up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on the most prominent and hotly debated current issues. Each topic combines factual analysis with clear explanations of opposing points of view, plus related chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies, contact information, and links.
ScienceDirect is the world's largest electronic collection of information in science (including social sciences, arts and humanities), technology, and medicine. It includes over 6 million articles and over 60 million abstracts in over 1,800 scholarly journals. The University of Hawaii System Libraries have purchased full text access to hundreds of journals in ScienceDirect: look for green Subscribed content icons.
Popular streaming video content used for specific courses during the semester, but open to all of Kapiʻolani CC. Plug-ins may be necessary to download to view videos. When first connecting, choose Instructor or Student (based on what you are). Instructors can request titles through the dashboard and the library will receive requests.
