Paralegal Program Library Resources: Paralegal Books

[ebook] Offering a straightforward introduction to contract law for paralegal students, this market-leading text covers all the key topics--from offer, acceptance, and consideration, to discharge of obligations and remedies. Written and crafted by Jeffrey A. Helewitz specifically for paralegal students, the Eleventh Edition balances coverage of case law with professional skills development, which culminates with a chapter that asks students to draft a standard contract.

[ebook] Contracts for Paralegals: Legal Principles and Practical Applications engages students with a practical, applied approach. Using a clear and accessible writing style, Wendling makes a comprehensive presentation of contracts, rounded out by current exercises that motivate lively discussions. Students are encouraged to develop critical thinking, vocabulary, and analytical and writing skills through a variety of real-world exercises, portfolio creation, and team exercises.

[ebook] Using actual examples from practice, this introduction to criminal law teaches students about the real-world experience of the paralegal, with coverage of local, state, and federal criminal cases. Working with the various types of cases presented in this book familiarizes students with the role of the paralegal in the process of investigation, prosecution, and defense in criminal cases.

Thorough yet succinct, the 4th Edition equips readers with a solid understanding of the principles of criminal law as well as the skills for daily practice in a law office. It delivers a blend of theory with practice as it presents material in a clear, logical, outline format. It also provides opportunities for readers to apply both critical thinking and law-office practice skills. The text enriches learning by providing insights into crime, punishment, criminal justice standards for prosecution, defense, and the court, and the competing policies behind the law and judicial decisions.

Provides complete coverage of traditional family law topics with historical context and dynamic cutting-edge issues--such as non-marital families, child abuse and neglect, and same-sex marriage. J. Shoshanna Ehrlich's balanced approach prepares students to handle the work of a paralegal through examples, assignments, and sample forms that mirror legal practice.

Textbook for LAW 145: Computer Applications in the Law Office
"This guide explores how computers can make paralegals and legal professionals more productive on the job...provides comprehensive coverage of computer concepts, including the latest versions of common programs like Microsoft® Word, Excel®, and PowerPoint®, and specialized applications such as CaseMap®, Clio®, HotDocs®, TimeMap®, and TrialDirector®. With a clear and engaging writing style, real-life examples, helpful tutorials, ethical considerations, and detailed hands-on exercises."

[ebook] This concise version of Cannon and Taylor Aytch's highly successful textbook provides brief coverage of ethical principles from the perspective of the practicing paralegal. This book is written for paralegal students, working paralegals, and lawyers who use their services. The clearly written text, enhanced by readable pedagogy, provides up-to-date coverage of all the major areas of legal ethics, placing special emphasis on how the rules affect paralegals.

[ebook] This book is written for paralegal students, working paralegals, and lawyers who use their services. Each chapter includes cases that demonstrate how the principles and rules are applied. Discussions of areas of growth and change in the legal profession, including the integration of technology, the use of marketing and advertising, greater competitiveness among firms, increased attorney mobility, the development of mega-firms, the impact of a global economy, more complex laws, legal specialization, and virtual work environments.

[ebook] Introducing students to the basic tenets of legal ethics, this text explores the regulations affecting the paralegal's relationships with clients and ethical requirements that legal professionals follow within the justice system. The book closely aligns to the NALA and NFPA codes of responsibility, providing side-by-side comparison of their similarities and differences that offers students opportunities for critical analysis.

To help paralegals stay on top of ethics issues, the ABA Center for Professional Responsibility has updated The Paralegal's Guide to Professional Responsibility. The fifth edition reviews the ethics issues that are relevant to paralegals, legal assistants, secretaries, and other employees of law firms, corporations, and law-related organizations and offers guidance that can be adapted to practice in any jurisdiction. This edition encompasses all recent changes to the Model Rules, along with updated references to court decisions and other resources.

[ebook] Professional responsibility is at the core of delivering effective legal services. Paralegals are expected to obey the ethics rules by which their lawyer employers are bound. To help paralegals stay on top of ethics issues, the ABA Center for Professional Responsibility has updated The Paralegal's Guide to Professional Responsibility. The fifth edition reviews the ethics issues that are relevant to paralegals, legal assistants, secretaries, and other employees of law firms, corporations, and law-related organizations and offers guidance that can be adapted to practice in any jurisdiction.

Basic Legal Writing for Paralegals teaches students the skills they need to effectively work with cases, legal authorities, documents, and professional correspondence. Samborn and Yelin guide students through the writing process, using the objective memo as a teaching tool. With practice exercises throughout the book, students can develop the skills that will become indispensable to their careers as paralegals.

Written by a trial lawyer with 37 years of practical experience in torts and personal injury law and moving beyond traditional torts textbooks, Tort and Personal Injury Law for the Paralegal covers the topics that help win and lose cases. In addition to the traditional black letter law of torts, the book offers unique chapters on medical and insurance issues — preparing paralegals for the real tasks they are likely to face in the workplace.

[ebook] Offers an introduction to law and legal concepts combined with practical information about what paralegals actually do in the legal system. A critical thinking approach is used to introduce students to the study of law, encouraging them to interact with the materials through hypotheticals, examples, and discussion questions. Includes coverage of specialized practice areas such as business, employment, immigration, real estate, and family law, and changes that have occurred in the legal profession due to COVID-19. Paralegal profiles provide context and real-world perspective.

NALS Advanced Manual for the Lawyer's Assistant lays out legal principles and approved law office procedures. It is the required text for the NALS Legal Training Course, is the reference for the Professional Legal Secretary and Professional Paralegal exams, and can be used as a reference guide for experienced legal support staff. It offers chapters on career development, ethics, law office management, computer information systems, accounting, legal writing, legal research, the courts, administrative agencies, trial preparation, civil procedure, criminal procedure, and torts, as well as dozens of legal practice areas.

Unlock the path to a successful paralegal career with this detailed and accessible guide, designed for both newcomers and those looking to advance their expertise. This comprehensive resource examines the paralegal profession, providing practical knowledge about the essential roles and responsibilities that make paralegals vital to the legal system, and explores the changing dynamics of paralegal employment, offering readers a clear picture of the qualifications, certifications, and skills needed to thrive.

Packed with valuable insights, this book offers practical tips specifically tailored for legal assistants and paralegals, drawing from the author's extensive litigation experience. You'll gain a deep understanding of the essential skills sought by employers and learn effective work strategies to excel as a top-performing legal assistant or paralegal.

[ebook] In Paralegal Career For Dummies, you'll find everything you need to know about how to begin an exciting new chapter in your professional journey. This hands-on guide walks through choosing what type of law firm you should work in, becoming certified, and networking with others in the field. It's also full of the legal concepts and procedures you need to understand to succeed in this area, including legal drafting, research, interviews, and more.

Paralegal Career For Dummies, 2nd Edition explains the skills and requirements needed to pursue this rewarding career. You'll discover the ins and outs of paralegal skills, from preparing documents and performing legal research to obtaining certification, job hunting, and understanding legal concepts. Use this hands-on guide to help in your career considerations, bolster your paralegal training, or as an everyday on-the-job reference.