Intellectual Property Law Fundamentals by 
The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation by
A Uniform System of Citation: The Bluebook is the definitive style guide for legal citation in the United States. For generations, law students, lawyers, scholars, judges, and other legal professionals have relied on The Bluebook's uniform system of citation in their writing. In a diverse and rapidly changing legal profession, The Bluebook continues to provide a systematic method by which members of the profession communicate important information to one another about the sources and legal authorities upon which they rely in their work.
The Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation: An Easy-to-Use Guide by
This concise, entertaining workbook makes learning English grammar and usage simple and fun. This updated 12th edition reflects the latest updates to English usage and grammar, and includes answers to all reproducible quizzes to facilitate self-assessment and learning. Clear and concise, with easy-to-follow explanations, offering "just the facts" on English grammar, punctuation, and usage Fully updated to reflect the latest rules, along with even more quizzes and pre- and post-tests to help teach grammar Ideal for students from seventh grade through adulthood in the US and abroad For anyone who wants to understand the major rules and subtle guidelines of English grammar and usage, The Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation offers comprehensive, straightforward instruction.
Basic Legal Writing for Paralegals by
Basic Legal Writing for Paralegals, Sixth Edition, teaches students the skills they need to effectively work with cases, legal authorities, documents, and professional correspondence. Samborn and Yelin guide students through the writing process, using the objective memo as a teaching tool. At every stage of a well-defined writing process, the authors provide lucid explanations, visual aids, and plenty of examples. With practice exercises throughout the book, students can develop the skills that will become indispensable to their careers as paralegals. New to the Sixth Edition: New and refreshed exercises Streamlined presentation, making the material even more accessible and teachable Updated website resources Revised and updated chapter on Case Briefing and Analysis Expanded coverage of email and e-memos. Professors and students will benefit from: Thorough and readable coverage of case briefs, legal memoranda, correspondence, and persuasive writing A practical approach that emphasizes the role of the paralegal, and how different types of legal writing are used in practice Step-by-step instruction that guides students through every stage of the writing process, from pre-writing planning to drafting and revising An overview of the legal system that shows how different forms of legal writing are used in different contexts Synthesizing and presenting legal authorities How to use the IRAC method of legal analysis Examples, exhibits, writing tips, exercises, ethics alerts, practice pointers, and web resources Additional student resources in its appendices on citation rules and writing strategies.
Advanced Manual for the Legal Professional,15th Ed. (and Study Guide) by
NALS Advanced Manual for the Lawyer's Assistant lays out legal principles and approved law office procedures. It is the required text for the NALS Legal Training Course, is the reference for the Professional Legal Secretary and Professional Paralegal exams, and can be used as a reference guide for experienced legal support staff. It offers chapters on career development, ethics, law office management, computer information systems, accounting, legal writing, legal research, the courts, administrative agencies, trial preparation, civil procedure, criminal procedure, and torts, as well as dozens of legal practice areas.
Paralegal Ethics Handbook, 2022 Ed. by
A resource for all paralegals that addresses ethical considerations for 17 practice areas, as well as considerations for in-house, corporate, freelance, administrative, governmental, and regulatory law paralegals.
The Paralegal's Guide to Professional Responsibility by
To help paralegals stay on top of ethics issues, the ABA Center for Professional Responsibility has updated The Paralegal's Guide to Professional Responsibility. The fifth edition reviews the ethics issues that are relevant to paralegals, legal assistants, secretaries, and other employees of law firms, corporations, and law-related organizations and offers guidance that can be adapted to practice in any jurisdiction. This edition encompasses all recent changes to the Model Rules, along with updated references to court decisions and other resources.
Paralegal Career for Dummies by
Your career as a top-notch paralegal starts here The demand for paralegal professionals is exploding, and Paralegal Career For Dummies, 2nd Edition explains the skills and requirements needed to pursue this rewarding career. Inside, you'll discover the ins and outs of paralegal skills, from preparing documents and performing legal research to obtaining certification, job hunting, and understanding legal concepts. Use this hands-on guide to help in your career considerations, bolster your paralegal training, or as an everyday on-the-job reference. Paralegal Career For Dummies will be your trusty assistant through all phases of your life as a paralegal, taking you forward with tips on networking and joining professional organizations that will enhance your career. Discover the job skills required for success as a paralegal Learn important legal concepts you'll need on the job Access forms, templates, and examples on the companion website Develop strategies to manage time and advance your career Complete with a companion website containing a wealth of valuable information, this book covers everything you need to become a top-notch paralegal.
Successful Legal Analysis and Writing by
Designed for first-year students, it is also a valuable refresher text for more advanced students and practitioners. This easy-to-read book features fundamental advice on how to communicate written and oral legal analysis from a problem-solving perspective. It features illustrative examples and templates. The fifth edition includes additional examples and models, and appendices with practice exercises and sample answers, all created in collaboration between one author with recent practice experience and one who has been teaching for over twenty years.
Recommended by Cindy Ching
Liar in a Crowded Theater by
Thanks to the First Amendment, Americans enjoy a rare privilege: the constitutional right to lie. And although controversial, they should continue to enjoy this right. When commentators and politicians discuss misinformation, they often repeat five words: "fire in a crowded theater." Though governments can, if they choose, attempt to ban harmful lies, propaganda, misinformation, and disinformation, how effective will their efforts really be? Can they punish someone for yelling "fire" in a crowded theater--and would those lies then have any less impact? How do governments around the world respond to the spread of misinformation, and when should the US government protect the free speech of liars? In Liar in a Crowded Theater, law professor Jeff Kosseff addresses the pervasiveness of lies, the legal protections they enjoy, the harm they cause, and how to combat them. From the COVID-19 pandemic to the 2016 and 2020 presidential elections and the January 6, 2021, insurrection on the Capitol building, Kosseff argues that even though lies can inflict huge damage, US law should continue to protect them. Liar in a Crowded Theater explores both the history of protected falsehoods and where to go from here. Drawing on years of research and thousands of pages of court documents in dozens of cases--from Alexander Hamilton's enduring defense of free speech to Eminem's victory in a lawsuit claiming that he stretched the truth in a 1999 song--Kosseff illustrates not only why courts are reluctant to be the arbiters of truth but also why they're uniquely unsuited to that role. Rather than resorting to regulating speech and fining or jailing speakers, he proposes solutions that focus on minimizing the harms of misinformation. If we want to seriously address concerns about misinformation and other false speech, we must finally exit the crowded theater.
How Rights Went Wrong by
Rights are a sacred part of American identity. Yet they also are the source of some of our greatest divisions. We believe that holding a right means getting a judge to let us do whatever the right protects. And judges, for their part, seem unable to imagine two rights coexisting--reducing the law to winners and losers. The resulting system of legal absolutism distorts our law, debases our politics, and exacerbates our differences rather than helping to bridge them. As renowned legal scholar Jamal Greene argues, we need a different approach--and in How Rights Went Wrong, he proposes one that the Founders would have approved. They preferred to leave rights to legislatures and juries, not judges, he explains. Only because of the Founders' original sin of racial discrimination--and subsequent missteps by the Supreme Court--did courts gain such outsized power over Americans' rights. In this paradigm-shifting account, Greene forces readers to rethink the relationship between constitutional law and political dysfunction and shows how we can recover America's original vision of rights, while updating them to confront the challenges of the twenty-first century.
Stand Your Ground by
A history of America's Stand Your Ground gun laws, from Reconstruction to Trayvon Martin After a young, white gunman killed twenty-six people at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, Connecticut. In December 2012, conservative legislators lamented that the tragedy could have been avoided if the schoolteachers had been armed and the classrooms equipped with guns. Similar claims were repeated in the aftermath of other recent shootings-after nine were killed in a church in Charleston, South Carolina, and in the aftermath of the massacre in the Pulse nightclub in Orlando, Florida. Stand Your Ground explores the development of the American right to self-defense and reveals how the original "duty to retreat" from threat was transformed into a selective right to kill.
Settler Colonialism, Race, and the Law by
2021 Outstanding Academic Title, Choice Magazine. How taking Indigenous sovereignty seriously can help dismantle the structural racism encountered by other people of color in the United States. Settler Colonialism, Race, and the Law provides a timely analysis of structural racism at the intersection of law and colonialism. Noting the grim racial realities still confronting communities of color, and how they have not been alleviated by constitutional guarantees of equal protection, this book suggests that settler colonial theory provides a more coherent understanding of what causes and what can help remediate racial disparities. Settler Colonialism, Race, and the Law concludes that rather than relying on promises of formal equality, we will more effectively dismantle structural racism in America by envisioning what the right of all peoples to self-determination means in a settler colonial state.
Bayonets in Paradise by
Bayonets in Paradise recounts the extraordinary story of how the army imposed rigid and absolute control on the total population of Hawaii during World War II. Declared immediately after the Pearl Harbor attack, martial law was all-inclusive, bringing under army rule every aspect of the Territory of Hawaii's laws and governmental institutions. Even the judiciary was placed under direct subservience to the military authorities. The result was a protracted crisis in civil liberties, as the army subjected more than 400,000 civilians--citizens and alien residents alike--to sweeping, intrusive social and economic regulations and to enforcement of army orders in provost courts with no semblance of due process. In addition, the army enforced special regulations against Hawaii's large population of Japanese ancestry; thousands of Japanese Americans were investigated, hundreds were arrested, and some 2,000 were incarcerated... The authors also provide a rich analysis of the legal challenges to martial law that culminated in Duncan v. Kahanamoku, a remarkable case in which the U.S. Supreme Court finally heard argument on the martial law regime--and ruled in 1946 that provost court justice and the military's usurpation of the civilian government had been illegal.
Raced to Death in 1920s Hawai I by
On September 18, 1928, Myles Yutaka Fukunaga kidnapped and brutally murdered ten-year-old George Gill Jamieson in Waikīkī. Fukunaga, a nineteen-year-old nisei, or second-generation Japanese American, confessed to the crime. Within three weeks, authorities had convicted him and sentenced him to hang, despite questions about Fukunaga's sanity and a deeply flawed defense by his court-appointed attorneys. Jonathan Y. Okamura argues that officials "raced" Fukunaga to death--first viewing the accused only as Japanese despite the law supposedly being colorblind, and then hurrying to satisfy the Haole (white) community's demand for revenge.
The Hawaiʻi Legal System by 
Introduction to Paralegal Studies by 
Unjust Debts: How Our Bankruptcy System Makes Ame4rica More Unequal by
"Scholar Melissa B. Jacoby shows how bankruptcy has become an escape hatch for powerful individuals, corporations, and governments, contributing in unseen and poorly understood ways to race, gender, and class inequality in America. When cities go bankrupt, for example, police unions enjoy added leverage while police brutality victims are denied a seat at the negotiating table; the system is more forgiving of civil rights abuses than of the parking tickets disproportionately distributed in African American neighborhoods. Across a broad range of crucial issues, Unjust Debts reveals the hidden mechanisms by which bankruptcy impacts everything from sexual harassment to health care, police violence to employment discrimination, and the opioid crisis to gun violence" -- from publisher.
Raced to Death in 1920s Hawaiʻi (JSTOR eBook) by 
Critical Data Literacies by
Data has become a defining issue of current times. Our everyday lives are shaped by the data that is produced about us (and by us) through digital technologies. In this book, Critical Data Literacies, Luci Pangrazio and Neil Selwyn introduce readers to the central concepts, ideas, and arguments required to make sense of life in the data age. The authors challenge the idea that datafication is an inevitable and inescapable condition. Drawing on emerging areas of scholarship such as data justice, data feminism, and other critical data studies approaches, they explore how individuals and communities can empower themselves to engage with data critically and creatively. Over the course of eight wide-ranging chapters, the book introduces readers to the main components of critical data literacies--from the fundamentals of identifying and understanding data to the complexities of engaging with more combative data tactics. Critical Data Literacies explores how the tradition of critical literacies can offer a powerful foundation to address the big concerns of the data age, such as issues of data justice and privacy, algorithmic bias, dataveillance, and disinformation. Bringing together cutting-edge thinking and discussion from across education, sociology, psychology, and media and communication studies, Critical Data Literacies develops a powerful argument for collectively rethinking the role that data plays in our everyday lives and re-establishing agency, free will, and the democratic public sphere.
