This is the "Home" page of the "Genealogy Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Genealogy Research  

Last Updated: Sep 15, 2015 URL: http://guides.library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu/hawaiigenealogy Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Types of Records to Search For:

Census Records

Birth, Marriage, Death Records

Immigration & Travel

Military

Schools, Directories, & Church Histories

Tax, Criminal, Land, and Wills

Questions?

Profile Image
Annie Thomas
Contact Info
(808)734-9599
athomas@hawaii.edu
office: Lama 114A
Send Email
Subjects:
Hawaiʻi, Pacific
 

Suggestions?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Genealogy Research Tips

1. Your family is a great starting place!
Find out as much as you can from your parents, grandparents, aunties, uncles, etc. They might be able to provide you with essential information and/or give you leads on where to search.

2. Keep track of what you find!
Use a genealogy or family tree chart to keep track of your ancestors. You can download free charts here:

3. Ask for Help.
Librarians and Archvists can help lead you to more sources. For additional genealogy research, visit the Hawaiʻi State Library, the Hawaiʻi State Archives, and UH Mānoa's Hamilton Library.

 

Hawaiʻi Genealogies @ KCC

Cover Art
Hawaiian Genealogies - Edith McKinzie; Ishmael W. Stagner (Editor)
Call Number: CS2203 .M35 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Researching one's Chinese roots - Kum Pui Lai and Violet Lau Lai
Call Number: CS2203 .G43 1985 (Hawaiian Collection)



Cover Art
Fornander's Ancient History of the Hawaiian People - Abraham Fornander
Call Number: DU625 .F67 1996 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Na lani Kamehameha : the Kamehameha Dynasty, the founding chiefs of the Kingdom of Hawaii
Call Number: DU624.96.K35 K43 1989 (Hawaiian Collection)
"Includes extensive genealogy chart that traces the ancestors of Kamehameha I back nine generations."

Cover Art
The Royal Lineages of Hawai'i - Anne H. Spoehr
Call Number: CS2204 .S66 1989 (Hawaiian Reference)

Cover Art
Iʻi/Brown family: oral histories
Call Number: CT274.I38 I38 1999 (Hawaiian Collection)



Cover Art
The Mau Lineage - Edward Seu Chen Mau
Call Number: CS71.M2945 1989 (General & Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
The Shipmans of East Hawai'i - Emmett Cahill
Call Number: CS71 .S55675 1996 (Hawaiian Collection)

 

Ancestry Library

Use Ancestry Library Edition to search genealogical records and discover more about your family history. (Login with your UH username and password if accessing off-campus).

This database includes records from the U.S. Census, military records, court, land and probate records, vital and church records, directories, passenger lists, and more. More information here. 

 

More Online Resources

FamilySearch
This free, online resource has an extensive collection of genealogy records.

Hawai'i State Archives Digital Collections 
Includes vital statistics (birth, marriage, & death records, passenger manifests, Hawai'i government office holders (1843-1959), etc. (Hawaiʻi records only)

Ulukau Hawaiian Genealogy Indexes 
Online indexes for marriage (1826-1929), divorce (1848-1915), wills (1852-1916), and citizenship (late 1800s) records (Hawaiʻi records only)

Papakilo Database (Hawaiʻi records only)
A database of databases, Papakilo searches the Hawaiʻi State Archives online collections, land records, Hawaiian newspapers, etc.

Anti-Annexation Petitions, 1897-1898
Hand-written signatures of Native Hawaiians who signed the Hui Aloha ʻĀina's petition protesting annexation.

Hawaiian-language Newspapers: Hoʻolaupaʻi Hawaiian Nūpepa Collection (1834-1948)

English-language Newspapers: Chronicling America Historic Newspapers (1836-1922)

 

Genealogy Resources at the Hawaiʻi State Library

Honolulu Library

HAWAIʻI STATE LIBRARY 
478 S. King St. (downtown, next to ʻIolani Palace)

To search for family in Hawaiʻi, go to the Hawaiʻi & Pacific section

To search for family outside of Hawaiʻi, go to the Language, Literature, & History section

Genealogy Resources at the Hawaiʻi State Archives

Hawai'i State Archives

HAWAIʻI STATE ARCHIVES 
Location: 364 S. King St. (Kekāuluohi Building, ʻIolani Palace Grounds)


Kapi'olani Community College Library  •  4303 Diamond Head Road  •  Honolulu Hawai'i 96816
library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu  •   Reference: 808-734-9359   •   Circulation: 808-734-9268   •   Contact Us

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip