This is the "Home" page of the "Ancestry Library: Schools, Directories, & Church Histories" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Ancestry Library: Schools, Directories, & Church Histories  

Last Updated: Dec 23, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu/ancestrydirectories Print Guide
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About School, Directories, & Church Records

 "Ancestry is home to an extensive collection of city and county directories, as well as telephone books, professional directories, church centennial books, school lists, and yearbooks. City and county directories typically contain entries for working family members and include name, occupation, and home and business addresses. Early phone books may contain similar information in addition to the phone number.

Church histories and records may include indexes to parish records and in some cases, actual church records. The collection also includes many church histories and centennial books, which can contain the names of members of the congregation, as well as historical background information on the origins of the church.

Also among the collections in this category are school alumni lists and yearbooks which can be rich in details about your ancestor's school experience and may even include a photograph.

These records are helpful in placing your ancestor in a specific location in a particular year. Other collections in this category include church histories, church records, alumni lists, yearbooks, professional directories, and phone books." -Ancestry Library

 

Find Additional Records here:

1869-1947+: Honolulu/Hawaiʻi Directories 
                          Print copies available at:
                          UHM - Hamilton Library
                          Hawaiʻi State Library 

Selected yearbooks available at the Hawaiʻi State Library

Thrum's Hawaiian Annual / Almanac Online
The Hawaiʻi almanac now commonly known as "Thrum's" was published annually between 1875 and 1974. In addition to statistical reports on business, population, government, weather and geography, each volume included directories of government, businesses and organizations, and articles and essays on a wide variety of topics.

 

Includes records from these collections:

U.S. City Directories, 1821-1989
Includes Honolulu directories for the following years:

1869, 1884, 1890, 1892, 1896, 1898, 1902-1959

U.S. School Yearbooks, 1880-2012
Includes selected yearbooks from Hawaiʻi

History of the LDS Church, 1830-1930

Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress, 1774-2005

And much more...


Kapi'olani Community College Library  •  4303 Diamond Head Road  •  Honolulu Hawai'i 96816
library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu  •   Reference: 808-734-9359   •   Circulation: 808-734-9268   •   Contact Us

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip