SOCS 225 Literature Review Worksheet
Tips
Journal Article Databases
Sample original research articles:
Cohen-Marks, M. A., & Stout, C. (2011). Can the American dream survive the new multiethnic America? Evidence from Los Angeles. Sociological Forum, 26(4), 824-845. doi:10.1111/j.1573-7861.2011.01286.x
Fujita, Y. (2011). Fabricating Japaneseness? The identity politics of young designers and artists in global cities. International Journal of Japanese Sociology, 20(1), 43-58. doi:10.1111/j.1475-6781.2011.01147.x
Glenn, N., Uecker, J., & Love, R. Jr. (2010). Later first marriage and marital success. Social Science Research, 39(5), 787-800. doi: 10.1016/j.ssresearch.2010.06.002.
Sample research review article:
Byington, E., & Felps, W. (2010). Why do IQ scores predict job performance?: An alternative, sociological explanation. Research in Organizational Behavior, 30, 175-202. doi:10.1016/j.riob.2010.08.003.
Eckstein, R., Moss, D. M., & Delaney, K. J. (2010). Sports sociology’s still untapped potential. Sociological Forum, 25(3), 500-518. doi:10.1111/j.1573-7861.2010.01193.x
Medical Statistics: A Textbook for the Health Sciences 5th ed by
The 5th edition of this popular introduction to statistics for the medical and health sciences has undergone a significant revision, with several new chapters added and examples refreshed throughout the book. Yet it retains its central philosophy to explain medical statistics with as little technical detail as possible, making it accessible to a wide audience. Helpful multi-choice exercises are included at the end of each chapter, with answers provided at the end of the book. Each analysis technique is carefully explained and the mathematics kept to minimum. Written in a style suitable for statisticians and clinicians alike, this edition features many real and original examples, taken from the authors' combined many years' experience of designing and analysing clinical trials and teaching statistics. Students of the health sciences, such as medicine, nursing, dentistry, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, and radiography should find the book useful, with examples relevant to their disciplines. The aim of training courses in medical statistics pertinent to these areas is not to turn the students into medical statisticians but rather to help them interpret the published scientific literature and appreciate how to design studies and analyse data arising from their own projects. However, the reader who is about to design their own study and collect, analyse and report on their own data will benefit from a clearly written book on the subject which provides practical guidance to such issues. The practical guidance provided by this book will be of use to professionals working in and/or managing clinical trials, in academic, public health, government and industry settings, particularly medical statisticians, clinicians, trial co-ordinators. Its practical approach will appeal to applied statisticians and biomedical researchers, in particular those in the biopharmaceutical industry, medical and public health organisations.
Medical Statistics at a Glance by
Now in its fourth edition, Medical Statistics at a Glance is a concise and accessible introduction to this complex subject. It provides clear instruction on how to apply commonly used statistical procedures in an easy-to-read, comprehensive and relevant volume. This new edition continues to be the ideal introductory manual and reference guide to medical statistics, an invaluable companion for statistics lectures and a very useful revision aid. This new edition of Medical Statistics at a Glance: Offers guidance on the practical application of statistical methods in conducting research and presenting results Explains the underlying concepts of medical statistics and presents the key facts without being unduly mathematical Contains succinct self-contained chapters, each with one or more examples, many of them new, to illustrate the use of the methodology described in the chapter. Now provides templates for critical appraisal, checklists for the reporting of randomized controlled trials and observational studies and references to the EQUATOR guidelines for the presentation of study results for many other types of study Includes extensive cross-referencing, flowcharts to aid the choice of appropriate tests, learning objectives for each chapter, a glossary of terms and a glossary of annotated full computer output relevant to the examples in the text Provides cross-referencing to the multiple choice and structured questions in the companion Medical Statistics at a Glance Workbook Medical Statistics at a Glance is a must-have text for undergraduate and post-graduate medical students, medical researchers and biomedical and pharmaceutical professionals.
Stat-Spotting: A Field Guide to Identifying Dubious Data by 
Wellness by the Numbers: Understanding and Interpreting American Health Statistics by
Ideal for high school and lower undergraduate readers, this book provides a holistic and multifaceted look at the state of health in the United States today by examining a wide variety of health indicators against necessary background and contextual information. This book documents how scholars and health professionals analyze data to draw conclusions and sharpen readers' critical thinking skills. The book begins with an introductory essay that provides a conceptual framework for readers and a general overview of the topic of analyzing health across the nation. The "Locating Accurate and Current Data on Health-Related Information" section clearly explains the process of analyzing and interpreting statistical information, describes how to find authoritative sources of data, and defines the steps to reading and interpreting data and how to draw conclusions from the information. Each of the more than 40 key health topics includes an introduction of the particular health indicator being discussed, presents the data in tables, charts, or figures with concise analysis and interpretation, and concludes with discussion questions that challenge the reader to find additional meaning or patterns in the data. Models data analysis and interpretation to demonstrate how scholars and health professionals analyze data to draw conclusions. Presents thought-provoking discussion questions that invite readers to explore topics further and think more deeply about the information presented
You May Ask Yourself: An Introduction to Thinking Like a Sociologist by 
Sociological Insights of Great Thinkers by 
The Theory Toolbox: Critical Concepts for the Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences by 
Essentials of Statistics for the Behavioral Science (3rd edition) by
With captivating storytelling, real-world examples, image-and graphic-rich design, accessible mathematics, and step-by-step worked examples, Nolan and Heinzen introduce students to the why and how of statistical practice in the behavioral sciences, while helping them break through common barriers to success in the course.This new edition of their briefer textbook offers fresh exercises throughout, stronger reinforcement of the material's relevance and mathematical requirements, more help with creating visual displays, and a dramatic expansion of its integrated online tools and activities in LaunchPad.
Essentials of Sociology (6th edition) by Books without call numbers are ebooks - Read online
Books with call numbers - Check availability first
American Foodie: Taste, Art, and the Cultural Revolution by
As nutrition, food is essential, but in today's world of excess, a good portion of the world has taken food beyond its functional definition to fine art status. From celebrity chefs to amateur food bloggers, individuals take ownership of the food they eat as a creative expression of personality, heritage, and ingenuity. Dwight Furrow examines the contemporary fascination with food and culinary arts not only as global spectacle, but also as an expression of control, authenticity, and playful creation for individuals in a homogenized, and increasingly public, world.
The American Way of Eating: Undercover at Walmart, Applebee's, Farm Fields, and the Dinner Table by
Investigates our food system to explain what keeps Americans from eating well--and what we can do about it. Getting Americans to eat well is one of today's hottest social issues, from childhood obesity to store brands trying to make their food healthier. Yet most Americans still eat poorly. In 2009 McMillan went to work undercover in our nation's food system alongside America's working poor, living and eating off her wages, to examine how we eat. McMillan worked on industrial farms in California, in a Walmart produce section outside Detroit, and at an Applebee's kitchen in New York City. Her vivid narrative brings readers along to grueling work places, introduces them to her coworkers, and takes them home to her kitchen, to see what kind of food she (and her coworkers) can afford to buy and prepare. With striking precision, McMillan also weaves in the story of how we got here, digging deep into labor, economics, politics, and social science to reveal new and surprising truths about how America's food is grown, sold, and prepared--and what it would take to change the system. This groundbreaking work examines why eating well in America--despite the expansion of farmer's markets and eat local movements--is limited to the privileged minority.
At the Table: Food and Family Around the World by
This book provides a fascinating insight into how dinner is defined in countries around the world. Almost universally, "dinner" is a key meal in most countries around the world, whether it be a simple dish of rice and beans, a slice of pizza on the go, or a multi-course formal meal. What do the specifics of how a meal is eaten--by hand instead of with utensils, for example--say about a specific culture? This guide examines all aspects of dinner in international settings, enabling insightful cross-cultural comparisons and an understanding of the effects of modernization and globalization on food habits. The commentary covers everything about the meal, such as the time, the cooking and preparation, shopping for ingredients, the clean-up process, gender-based participation roles, conversation or other social interactions, and etiquette--just about everything that happens at the table. Compares cooking methods, gender roles regarding food and meals, and the places of children or extended relatives at mealtime Underscores how food culture is universally and intrinsically related to ethnicity, family, and meal-time tradition Presents a combination of reference narrative, photographs, and recipes that make this a one-stop reference source ideal for students learning about other cultures
Foods That Changed History: Foods That Changed History by
This encyclopedia addresses the myriad and profound ways foods have shaped the world we inhabit, from prehistory to the present - fascinating topics that are rarely addressed in detail in traditional history texts. In learning about foods and their importance, readers will gain valuable insight into other areas such as religious movements, literature, economics, technology, and the human condition itself. Readers will learn how the potato, for example, changed lives in drastic ways in northern Europe, particularly Ireland; and how the potato famine led to the foundation of the science of plant pathology, which now affects how scientists and governments consider the dangers of genetic uniformity. The entries document how the consumption of tea and spices fostered global exploration, and how citrus fruits led to the prevention of scurvy. Gives attention to the relationships between foods and religious movements, such as the connections between fish, bread, and wine and the rise of Christianity Enables readers to grasp the connections between the history of foods and the Columbian Exchange
No One Eats Alone: Food As a Social Enterprise by 
