Who is the target audience for these websites? Do they provide scientific evidence?
Website 1: Why Do Older Adults Have More Falls?
Website 2: Falls in older people
Website 4: Get the facts on falls prevention
Website 5: 8 things to have the doctor check after an aging person falls
Find research journal articles from publicly available databases:
Find research journal articles from library databases:
Find (e)books:
Try: major depression | major depression "occupational therapy" | suicide major depression "occupational therapy"
APA Template Paper | APA Guide | Checklist | Citation Machine | AI Use | AI Citation Examples
Fundamentals of Occupational Therapy: An Introduction to the Profession by
Fundamentals of Occupational Therapy: An Introduction to the Profession is a comprehensive, introductory text that provides first year students with foundational knowledge of occupational therapy as a profession and the construct of occupation. Due to the broadness of the profession this text identifies basic concepts and areas to novice students and helps inform them of the topics and components they will come across later in their studies. Inside the text, Dr. Bernadette Hattjar provides a general introduction, the historical development of the profession, and a basic review of the three major employment areas- physical disabilities, paediatrics and psychosocial occupational therapy. It also covers the topics of theoretical constructs, legislative and political influences on the profession, the use of adaptive devices in concert with major client groups, and the identification of influential professional individuals. Fundamentals of Occupational Therapy analyses the historical foundation, philosophical assumptions, ethical issues, core concepts, theories, models and frames of reference that have shaped the profession of occupational therapy. Fundamentals of Occupational Therapy: An Introduction to the Profession will provide entry level occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant students with the information and tools they need to better understand, synthesize, and integrate the diverse elements of the profession into professional level courses, where in-depth understanding of these basic concepts occur in education programs.
Occupational Therapy Placements : A Pocket Guide by 
Pocket Guide to Intervention in Occupational Therapy 2nd ed. by
A useful quick reference of occupational therapy terms and interventions regarding specific diagnoses and conditions. Occupational therapy is an evidence-based health care profession that uses scientifically based research to justify clinical practice. These interventions are intended to prevent injury and maintain or improve client function, including physical, psychosocial, cognitive, geriatric, and pediatric diagnoses. Intervention guidelines are outlined for the major disabilities. In addition, there are brief descriptions of the intervention techniques that therapists use and definitions of terms that are relevant to interventions. Intervention techniques encompass the following: Non-medical techniques such as client health education or counseling Instruction in activities of daily living, modifying of environment such as in ergonomics Teaching and demonstrating arts and crafts as therapeutic activities Providing sensory stimulating activities, especially for children. The appendices include an outline of essential skills for occupational therapists, general developmental guidelines, an overview of muscles and movements, orthotic devices, tables of muscles, average range of motion measurements, prime movers for upper and selected lower extremity motions, and substitutions for muscle contractions.
Occupational Group Therapy by
Occupational Group Therapy helps group leaders achieve a higher and more dynamic level of therapeutic intervention, gain a better understanding of foundational concepts and research, and utilise active techniques that have meaningful and lasting effects on their clients. This practical guide encourages readers to use and develop their skills creatively in a range of interventions, including hospital-based work with acutely ill clients, physical acute care, and rehabilitation. The text presents both the theoretical background and practical applications of occupational group therapy: core skills and concepts, styles of group leadership, clinical and ethical reasoning, and different models of therapy such as the functional group model, the model of human occupation (MOHO), and the occupational therapy interactive group model (OTIGM), alongside warm-up and ice-breaker techniques, role-play exercises, assertiveness and social skills training strategies, guidance on using psychodrama and the therapeutic spiral model (TSM) in group settings, and more. Develops the skills and self-confidence occupational therapists need to be effective group leaders Covers the functional and performance aspects necessary for occupational therapy intervention, including client handling, and structuring and communication skills. Discusses new ways of addressing common concerns and issues in various intervention settings Offers ideas and techniques for using higher-level interventions, such as psychodrama and the Therapeutic Spiral model Helps readers to design effective group experiences that allow their clients to "work on themselves" both inside and outside of the group Written by an esteemed expert with decades of practical experience in the field, with a chapter from Louise Fouché, an accomplished occupational group therapist and developer of OTIGM, and foreword by Professor Emerita Sharon Brintnell, former President of World Federation of Occupational Therapy (WFOT): Occupational Group Therapy is a must-have teaching manual and guide for undergraduate and post-graduate occupational therapy students, and for practitioners looking to increase their use of group work as a therapeutic intervention.
 |
joy.oehlers@hawaii.edu |
Introduction to Occupational Therapy 6th ed. by 
Crafts and Creative Media in Therapy 5th ed. by 
Occupational and Activity Analysis 3rd ed. by 
Occupational Therapy Practice Framework: Domain and Process 4th ed. by 
Pediatric Skills for Occupational Therapy Assistants, 5th ed. by 
Occupational Therapy Activities for Kids: 100 Fun Games and Exercises to Build Skills by 
Strategies for Collaborating with Children: Creating Partnerships in Occupational Therapy and Research by
Strategies for Collaborating With Children: Creating Partnerships in Occupational Therapy and Research applies client-centered and strengths-based theories to pediatric practice. The text is organized using a research-based conceptual model of collaboration. Within this text, there are detailed descriptions of how to engage and work with children aged 3 to 12 years, from the beginning to the end of therapy. Dr. Clare Curtin covers a variety of topics, such as how to interview children, involve them in defining the purpose of therapy, and develop self-advocacy. Similarly presented is the therapist's role as a guide in setting respectful limits, teaching self-regulation, avoiding power struggles, and co-creating educational experiences that are challenging and fun. The United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child, the new sociology of childhood, and childhood studies are discussed. Also included are children's perspectives on what therapists should know and what children said they might be thinking at each stage of therapy. The last chapter focuses on methods to enhance children's participation in research, including adaptations for children with disabilities. Unique features:-Describes a new research-based model of collaboration with children -Incorporates children's views and knowledge about therapy -Illustrates the use of client-centered and strengths-based theories as well as child-friendly approaches within pediatric practice -Provides over 1,600 practical strategies that are exemplified by stories with actual dialogue -Describes ways to involve children throughout the research process -Identifies verbal, visual, and activity-based participatory research methods for eliciting children's voices, including creative ways to involve children with different levels of abilities -Includes review questions at the end of each chapter Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional material to be used for teaching in the classroom. Strategies for Collaborating With Children: Creating Partnerships in Occupational Therapy and Research delivers a comprehensive resource for collaborating with children for the occupational therapist, occupational therapy assistant, or any other practitioner working with children in a therapeutic setting.
Mental Health Concepts and Techniques for the Occupational Therapy Assistant 5th ed. by 
Mental Health Practice for the Occupational Therapy Assistant by 
Patient Practitioner Interaction: An Experiential Manual for Developing the Art of Health Care 6th ed by 
Occupational Therapy with Elders: Strategies for the COTA 4th ed. by 
Movies, Music and Memory: Tools for Wellbeing in Later Life by
Presenting research findings from recent studies which use innovative, creative approaches, including pilot projects led by the authors in the UK and Brazil, this book provides an accessible, timely, practical and jargon-free overview of how music and films are currently used in nursing homes, dementia wards and day-care centres for the older population.
Complemented by a downloadable 'best-practice' toolkit that contains tips and materials relating to film- and music-related activities for use by carers (both professionals and family members).
Occupational Therapy Assessments for Older Adults: 100 Instruments for Measuring Occupational Performance by
The role of measurement and the benefits of outcome measures are defined as important tools used to document change in one or more constructs over time, help to describe a client's condition, formulate a prognosis, as well as to evaluate the effects of occupational therapy intervention. Presents over 100 outcome measures in the form of vignettes that encompass a brief description of each instrument, a review of its psychometric properties, its advantages and disadvantages, administration procedures, permissions to use, author contact information, as well as where and how to procure the instrument. Occupational Therapy Assessments for Older Adults by Dr. Kevin Bortnick narrows down the list of possible choices for the occupational therapy student or clinician to only those with an amount of peer review, bibliographic citations, as well as acceptance within the profession. The text also includes research-based information with text citations and has over 100 tables, diagrams, and figures. Included in the review of each outcome measure: Description: A brief record of the measure. Psychometrics: A review of the level of research evidence that either supports or does not support the instrument, including such items as inter-rater, intra-rater, and test-retest reliabilities, as well as internal consistencies and construct validities among others. Advantages: Synopsis of the benefits of using the measure over others including its unique attributes. Disadvantages: A summary of its faults. For example, the amount of research evidence may be limited or the measure may be expensive. Administration: Information regarding how to administer, score, and interpret results. Permissions: How and where to procure the instrument, such as websites where it may be purchased or journal articles or publications that may contain the scale. Summary: A brief summation of important information. Occupational Therapy Assessments for Older Adults: 100 Instruments for Measuring Occupational Performance encourages occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistants to expand their thinking about the use of appropriate outcome measures with older adult populations. Using the appropriate outcome measure based on evidence can aid in the promotion of health, well-being, and participation of clients.
Documentation Manual for Occupational Therapy 4th ed. by 
Adult Physical Conditions: Intervention Strategies for Occupational Therapy Assistants by 
Clinical Kinesiology and Anatomy 7th ed. by 
Introduction to Orthotics: A Clinical Reasoning and Problem-Solving Approach 5th ed. by 
Occupational Therapy and Stroke by 
Management and Administration for the OTA by 
National OTA Certification Exam and Review and Study guide by