Kapiʻolani CC Library LibGuides: Lāʻau Lapaʻau: Hawaiian Medicinal Plants: Home

Books @ Kapiʻolani CC Library

These books are located in the Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection on the 1st floor of Kapiʻolani CC Library. Search for more books in the library catalog.

Plants in Hawaiian Medicine by Beatrice H. Krauss; Martha Noyes
Call Number: DU624.65 .K73 2001
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Available online from eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
Plants in Hawaiian Culture by Beatrice H. Krauss
Call Number: DU624.65 K72 1993
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

See chapter on "Medicine and Medicinal Herbs."
Lāʻau Hawaiʻi: Traditional Hawaiian Uses of Plants by Isabella Aiona Abbott
Call Number: QK473.H4 A33 1992
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

See chapter 13 on "Medicines and Healing."
Native Planters in Old Hawaii: Their Life, Lore, and Environment by E.S. Craighill Handy, Elizabeth Green Handy, & Mary Kawena Pukui
Call Number: GN424 .H3
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

See pt. 2: Plants and Animals for therapeutic and cultural uses of Hawaiian plants.
Also available online via eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
Kāhuna Lāʻau Lapaʻau: Hawaiian Herbal Medicine by June Gutmanis; Theodore Kelsey (translations); Susan G. Monden (illustrations)
Call Number: QK99.H3 G88 2004
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Native Hawaiian Medicine. Vol. III by Rev. David Kaluna Kaʻaiakamanu and Malcolm Nāea Chun
Call Number: QK99.H3 K36 2003
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Medicine at Your Feet: Healing Plants of the Hawaiian Kingdom
Call Number: QK99.H3 L46 1998
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Buke ʻOihana Lapaʻau me nā ʻApu Lāʻau Hawaiʻi (Book of Medical Practices and Hawaiian Prescriptions) by Thomas (Kamaki) P. Spencer (Editor)
Call Number: GN477.4 .B85 2003 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)
Folk Remedies from Hawaiʻi by Ann Kondo Corum
Call Number: QK99.H3 C67 1987
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Ethnobotany of the Hawaiians by Beatrice H. Krauss
Call Number: DU624.65 .K7
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Plants of Old Hawaiʻi by Lois Lucas
Call Number: DU624.65 L84 1982
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Available online from eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
Hawaiʻi's Native Plants
Call Number: QK473.H4 B64 2004
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Growing Native Hawaiian Plants
Call Number: SB439.24.H3 B67 2005
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
A Native Hawaiian Garden by John L. Culliney; Bruce P. Koebele
Call Number: SB439.24.H3 C85 1999
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Available online from eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
Traditional Trees of Pacific Islands
Call Number: SB171.I746 T73 2006
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference-Ask for Assistance)
Noni: the complete guide for consumers and growers
Call Number: QK495.R85 N45 2006
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Ancient Hawaiian Civilization: A Series of Lectures Delivered at the Kamehameha Schools
Call Number: DU624.5 A6 1965
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

See Ch. 24: Medicine
Nānā i ke Kumu = Look to the Source (vol. 1) by Mary Kawena Pukui; E. W. Haertig; Catherine A. Lee
Call Number: DU624.5 P85
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Describes Hawaiian cultural practices, concepts, and beliefs.
Also available online via Ulukau.
Limu: An Ethnobotanical Study of Some Edible Hawaiian Seaweeds by Isabella Aiona Abbott
Call Number: QK578.H4 A22 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
A Tropical Garden Flora: Plants Cultivated in the Hawaiian Islands and Other Tropical Places by George Staples; Derral R. Herbst
Call Number: QK473.H4 S75 2005
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Reference Books @ Kapiʻolani CC Library

Native Plants Used As Medicine in Hawaii by Beatrice H. Krauss
Call Number: QK99.H3 K73 1981
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference-Ask for Assistance)
Hawaiian Medicine Book = He Buke Laau Lapaau by Malcolm Naea Chun
Call Number: QK99.H3 H38 1986
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference-Ask for Assistance)

The books are located in the Hawaiian Reference Collection and are for library use only. Request them at the Circulation Desk.

Ethnobotany of Hawaii by Beatrice H. Krauss
Call Number: QK471 .K72
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference, Ask for Assistance)
Kahua Kukui: Ethnobotany of the Hawaiians by R. Hikoula Hanapi
Call Number: QK473.H4 H36 1996
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference, Ask for Assistance)

Also available online via eVols.
Hawaiian Heritage Plants by Angela K. Kepler
Call Number: QK473.H4 K46 1998
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference-Ask for Assistance)
Amy Greenwell Garden Ethnobotanical Guide to Native Hawaiian Plants & Polynesian-Introduced Plants
Call Number: QK473.H4 .A53 2009
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Hawaiian ʻAwa: Views of an Ethnobotanical Treasure
Call Number: RS165.K3 H393 2006
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference-Ask for Assistance)
Polynesian Herbal Medicine by W. Arthur Whistler
Call Number: QK99.P75 W45 1992
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference-Ask for Assistance)
Plants of the Canoe People by W. Arthur Whistler
Call Number: GN476.73 .W55 2009
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Ancient Hawaiian Life by E. H. Bryan
Call Number: DU624.5 B7 1938
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference-Ask for Assistance)

See chapter: "Medicine, death, burial."

Also available online via HathiTrust Digital Library.

Find Journal & Magazine Articles

Hawaiian Journal of History
A scholarly journal devoted to original articles on the history of Hawaiʻi, Polynesia, and the Pacific area. Full-text. Print copies are available in the Hawaiian Reference Collection.

Hawaiʻi Pacific Journal Index
An index to magazines and journals published in or about Hawaiʻi & the Pacific; citations only. See the Reference Desk for help locating print issues. See Titles and Coverage for a list of the journals and magazines included.

eVols at University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
The University of Hawaiʻi digital institutional repository. Includes the Hawaiian Journal of History.

ScholarSpace
An open-access, digital institutional repository for the intellectual works and unique collections of the UH Mānoa academic community. Publications from the Center for Pacific Island Studies are available here.
Pacific Science
An international, multidisciplinary journal reporting research on the biological and physical sciences of the Pacific basin.

Google Scholar
How-to Video for Setting Up & Using Google Scholar [2:20].

Hana Hou! The Magazine of Hawaiian Airlines
Selection of articles available online.
Honolulu Magazine
Articles available online from Feb. 2004-present.
Ke Ola Magazine
Articles available online from September 2009-present.

Selected Articles

An Analysis of Limu Used in Hawaiian Medicine: An Interview with Esteemed Elder Henry Allen Auwae
UHM MS Botany Dissertation.
Investigating the Role of Epigenetics on the Anti-Cancer Activity of Noni (Morinda citrifolia)
Senior Honors Thesis, UHM.
The Antibacterial Properties of Some Plants Found in Hawaii
From the journal Pacific Science, 1950
Hawaiian 'awa Piper Methysticum: A Study In Ethnobotany
UHM MS Botany Dissertation. Must log-in with UH user name to access article.
"Hawaiian Medicinal Plants" by Kenneth M. Nagata
A compilation of plants which are known to have been used by the Hawaiians for medicinal purposes and includes introduced species as well as many endemics.

Find Newspaper Articles

Chronicling America: Historic Newspapers
Digitized English-language newspapers published in Hawaiʻi from 1836-1922.
Hoʻolaupaʻi: He ʻOhina Nūpepa ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi
An online collection of historic Hawaiian-language newspapers published between 1834 and 1948.

Honolulu Newspapers (via ProQuest)
Full text access to articles from:
Honolulu Star-Advertiser: 06/07/2010 - Present
Honolulu Advertiser: 01/01/1999 - 06/06/2010
Honolulu Star-Bulletin: 03/18/1996 - 06/06/2010

Ka Wai Ola
The newspaper of the Office of Hawaiian Affairs (OHA). Full access to articles, including back issues. "Browse through 40 years of archives." Various videos included on the site.

Websites

Māla Māunuunu
Māla Māunuunu is a Native Hawaiian dryland garden at Kapiʻolani Community College. Visit the site for information on upcoming workdays, workshops, and other mālama ʻāina opportunities.

Native Plants Hawaiʻi
A comprehensive and searchable knowledgebase that seeks to promote the understanding and use of native Hawaiian plants.
Hawaiian Ethnobotany Online Database
Hawaiian Native Plant Genera: UHM Botany Dept.
An excellent source for images of plants.
Plants of Hawaii
Over 100,000 images of 2,500 species. The personal collection of biologists Forest & Kim Starr. All the images are free to use, with attribution.
Botany Online Collections (maintained by Bishop Museum)
Includes these databases: Natural Sciences Taxonomic Name and Specimen Search, Hawaiian Vascular Plant Checklist, Annotated Checklist of Cultivated Plants of Hawaiʻi, Invasive Algae Database, etc.
Hawaiʻi's Endangered Plants
Canoe Plants of Ancient Hawaiʻi
Go Native: Growing a Native Hawaiian Urban Forest
Project of the Hawaiʻi Forest Institute
Ka Hā ‘Ō Ka ‘Āina, The Life Breath of the Land
Site includes a photo gallery of 30+ endangered, endemic, and indigenous plants. Some entries include cultural/historical uses and moʻolelo.

Kōkua?

Erica Dias

Email Me

Contact:

Call or email to schedule a Zoom!

(808) 734-9599

Subjects: Hawaii, Hawaiian Language (HAW), Hawaiian Studies (HWST), Pacific Islands Studies (PACS)