Kapiʻolani CC Library LibGuides: COM 201: ʻĀina Research: Home

COM 201 ʻāina-based assignment

COM 201 ʻāina-based research worksheet (in Hawaiʻi) and worksheet for outside of Hawaiʻi
Download and save before filling out.

Online Hawaiian Dictionary: wehewehe.org

Find Books & eBooks

Search the Library and Beyond

Advanced Search

Hawaiʻi Place Names

Place Names of Hawaii by Mary Kawena Pukui; Samuel H. Elbert; Esther T. Mookini
Call Number: DU622 .P79 1976 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online as an eBook via Ulukau,
OR Search via Hawaiian Dictionaries Tip: Under CUSTOMIZE SEARCH, select PLACE NAMES OF HAWAII
Sites of Oahu by Sterling, Elspeth P.; Catherine C. Summers (Compiled by)
Call Number: DU628.O3 S8 1993 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Refer to the Detailed Index online via Ulukau to see what might be included about your area.
Ancient Sites of Oʻahu: A Guide to Hawaiian Archaeological Places of Interest by Van James
Call Number: DU624.65 .J36 2010 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Hawaiʻi Place Names: Shores, Beaches, and Surf Sites by John R. K. Clark
Call Number: DU622 .C546 2002 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Available online via Ebook Central.
Also available online as an eBook via Ulukau.
Native Planters in Old Hawaii: Their Life, Lore, and Environment by E.S. Craighill Handy, Elizabeth Green Handy, & Mary Kawena Pukui
Call Number: GN424 .H3
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
ʻŌlelo Noʻeau: Hawaiian Proverbs & Poetical Sayings by Mary Kawena Pukui
Call Number: PN6519.H4 P84 1983 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

See p. 344 for Index to Place Names. Also available online via eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).

Kepano's Complete Hawaiian Concordance to Mary Kawena Pukui's ʻŌlelo Noʻeau
An index to all the Hawaiian words in the ʻōlelo noʻeau themselves.

Hawaiian Surfing: Traditions From the Past by John R. K. Clark
Call Number: GV839.65.H3 C53 2011 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ebook Central.

Additional Help

APA Format and Citation Style

How to create a References or Works Cited page

Questions? Contact me!

Erica Dias

Email Me

Contact:

Call or email to schedule a Zoom!

(808) 734-9599

Subjects: Hawaii, Hawaiian Language (HAW), Hawaiian Studies (HWST), Pacific Islands Studies (PACS)

Land Divisions: maps & names

AVAKonohiki.org
ʻAhupuaʻa and ʻIli names. Historic maps.
Kīpuka Database
Geographical information system (GIS) that "links historic data sets to geographic locations reinforcing the concept of information embedded in the ‘aina (land), encoded in the wahi inoa (place name)."
Kūikaunupaʻa
A Kohala Community Resource Site.
Wahi Hoʻōla Inventory: Kona Moku, Oʻahu
"The overall goal of this project was to develop an inventory of wahi hoʻōla or 'healing spaces' for Kona moku, Oʻahu; with this initial research laying the kahua, or foundation, for future work."
Honouliuli ʻĀina Hoʻohuli
"An online exhibit that allows visitors the opportunity to interact and dive deeper into the history of Honouliuli as an ahupua'a." Includes historical maps.

Hawaiian Legends Index

Search here to help you locate myths and legends indexed in 77 books.

Additional Moʻolelo

Kapaemahu Film and Book

Kapaemahu by Hinaleimoana Wong-Kalu; Dean Hamer; and Joe Wilson; Illustrated by Daniel Sousa
Call Number: PZ90.H27 W66 2022 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Waimānalo Mau a Mau Wahipana Project
"Waimānalo Mau a Mau was a collaborative initiative dedicated to documenting and celebrating the beauty and richness of Waimānalo." Watch interviews, learn about Indigenous research protocols, read moʻolelo in children's books, etc.

Ulukau eBooks

Ulukau.org includes full-text digitized books on Hawaiian culture, history and language. Remember to try your search with and without the diacritics. Need help? Click here.

Newspaper & Journal Articles

Papakilo Database
Search Hawaiian-language newspapers (1834-1948), Māhele land records, moʻokūʻauhau (genealogy), maps, and more.
The Hawaiian Journal of History
An annual scholarly journal devoted to original articles on the history of Hawai‘i, Polynesia, and the Pacific area. Available online in full-text from UH Mānoa eVols (1967-2020) and via EBSCOhost's Academic Search Complete (2003-2024).
Current & past issues are also available in Print at Lama Library.
ScholarSpace
An open-access, digital institutional repository for the intellectual works and unique collections of the UH Mānoa academic community. Publications from the Center for Pacific Island Studies are available here.
Google Scholar
How-to Video for Setting Up & Using Google Scholar [2:20].

Hawaiʻi Pacific Journal Index
An index to magazines and journals published in or about Hawaiʻi & the Pacific; citations only. See the Reference Desk for help locating print issues. See Titles and Coverage for a list of the journals and magazines included.