Body Language for Women: Learn to Read People Instantly and Increase Your Influence by Donna Van NattenBodies talk. Do you know how to listen? A quick glance, a twist of the hips, or a biting of the lower lip can speak volumes about what someone is thinking or feeling. The powerful messages our bodies send can make all the difference when interviewing for a new job, going on a date, or detecting when a person is lying to you. In Body Language for Women, body language expert Dr. Donna Van Natten provides you with the tools and resources that you need to analyze the movements of those around you. She helps you detect what you are subtly and unconsciously saying with your own body and the implications these communications are having on your life. Further, Dr. Van Natten challenges you to understand the nonverbal cues of other women and men in general, your family members, and your romantic interests. Finally, she fine-tunes your gut instinct to confirm the truth or deception of what others are saying. Clear, concise, and filled with expert knowledge, Body Language for Women will help you win in the workplace, successfully navigate social situations, and gain a greater understanding of what's really going on when we communicate with others.
Family Communication by Chris Segrin; Jeanne FloraThis advanced text carefully examines state-of-the-art research and theories of family communication and family relationships. In addition to presenting cutting-edge research, authors Chris Segrin and Jeanne Flora focus on classic theories and research findings that have influenced and revolutionized the way scholars conceptualize family interaction. Showing that answers to many questions about family communication can be found in current scientific research, the book introduces readers to fundamental issues in the study of family communication; explores what is known about communication in different types of families and family relationships; and examines problematic issues in family communication. Family Communicationoffers a thorough and up-to-date presentation of scientific research in family communication for students and teachers of family communication, as well as professionals who work with families. Undergraduate readers will find the text to be accessible, engaging andeasy to understand while graduate students and professionals will utilize the work as a comprehensive reference to classic and contemporary research on family communication and relationships. xt to be accessible, engaging andeasy to understand while graduate students and professionals will utilize the work as a comprehensive reference to classic and contemporary research on family communication and relationships.
Social Intelligence and Nonverbal Communication by Robert J. Sternberg; Aleksandra Kostic; (Eds.)This book offers a comprehensive overview of the latest developments in the social psychology of nonverbal communication. It explores topics including social skill, empathy, adaptive advantage, emotion-reading and emotion-hiding; and examines personal charisma, memory and communicating with robots. Together, the authors present diverse, cutting-edge research on nonverbal social intelligence as an adaptive strategy for survival and success. The collection provides an effective demonstration of the interdisciplinary nature of this topic, and it's relevance to researchers across the social sciences and beyond.
Understanding Nonverbal Communication: A Semiotic Guide by Marcel DanesiThe human body is a primary source of meaning-making, with the body conveying over two-thirds of our messages. But how can we understand these physical communicative cues? How are they being expressed and exploited in new media and multimodal online and mobile interaction?Offering an in-depth guide to help you investigate and understand real and virtual nonverbal communication using semiotic theory, this book assumes little previous knowledge of semiotics or linguistics. With in-depth, comparative case studies, each chapter deals with a traditional aspect of nonverbal communication, such as facial expressions, touch, and gesture, before extending the discussion to new media and cyberspace.Explaining the issues step by step and supported by exercises, directed further reading and a glossary of key terms, Understanding Nonverbal Communication provides you with all the tools you need to understand how nonverbal communication unfolds in all kinds of contexts, and the kinds of messages that it makes possible.
Call Number: BF637.N66 D36 2022
Publication Date: 2021-10-07
Widening the Family Circle: New Research on Family Communication by Kory W. Floyd; Mark T. Morman (Eds.)Widening the Family Circle: New Research on Family Communication, Second Edition continues to address historically under-studied family relationships, such as those involving grandparents, in-laws, cousins, stepfamilies, and adoptive parents. In this engaging text, editors Kory Floyd and Mark T. Morman bring together a diverse collection of empirical studies, theoretic essays, and critical reviews of literature on communication to constitute a stronger, more complete understanding of communication within the family.
The Routledge Handbook of Emotions and Mass Media by K. Doveling; E. Konijn; C. von Scheve (Eds.)The impact of mass media on individuals and society is to a great extent based on human emotions. Emotions, in turn, are essential in understanding how media messages are processed as well as media's impact on individual and social behavior and public social life. Adopting an interdisciplinary approach to the study of emotions within a mass media context, the Handbook of Emotions and Mass Media addresses areas such as evolutionary psychology, media entertainment, sociology, cultural studies, media psychology, political communication, persuasion, and new technology. Leading experts from across the globe explore cutting-edge research on issues including the evolutionary functions of mediated emotions, emotions and media entertainment , measurements of emotions within the context of mass media, media violence, fear-evoking media, politics and public emotions, features , forms and functions of emotions beyond the message, and provide the reader a glimpse into future generations of media technology. This compelling and authoritative Handbook is an essential reference tool for scholars and students of media, communication studies, media psychology, emotions, cultural studies, sociology, and other related disciplines.
Communication in Everyday Life by Steve Duck; David T. McMahanCommunication in Everyday Lifeis the first survey of communication textbook to explore fundamental communication concepts, theories, skills, and contexts with a thematic integration--the relational perspective--to everyday life that allows all of these things to cohere. The book′s approach is to make the topics covered--self-development; interpersonal communication; group communication; public speaking; media/technology; communicating in the workplace and in public; etc.--coalesce by pointing out the relational basis of all communication as a major feature of students′ lives. This text provides a basic introduction to the usual topics that are covered in a survey text but does so in a number of different ways by emphasizing the importance of relationship contexts in the enactment of social life. In addition, Communication in Everyday Lifeextends the topical coverage with chapters on family communication, health communication, communication in the workplace, and communication in the public arena. The authors explore the ways relationships (between each other, between family members, between media and end-user or consumer, and between self and the community) affect communication, and vice versa. When communicational life is seen as an everyday experience--and not some compilation of unusual or extraordinary sorts of activity that are usually offered in the separate and segregated topic chapters in most textbooks--then it becomes possible to explain many communication processes in a systematic and unified way, based on the fundamental relevance of human relationships to everyday experience. Even such activities as media consumption are moderated by the relationships with which people experience their daily lives. Hence, the underlying theme of relationships usefully connects many aspects of a survey text that will give it a coherence and a relevance to students that has been previously missing, obscure, or under emphasized.
Call Number: P90 .D8333 2010
Human Communication: Principles and Contexts by Stewart L. TubbsHuman Communication is an introductory text that links theory and research with the practical components of communication. This award-winning author presents the fundamental concepts in communication through stimulating case-studies and contemporary examples. The 13th edition includes new discussions of cutting edge research and additional self-tests for students.
Call Number: Reserves
Human Communication & the Brain: Building the Foundation for the Field of Neurocommunication by D. Egolf; D. da CostaHuman Communication and the Brain: Building the Foundation for the Field of Neurocommunications, by Donald B. Egolf, provides an introduction to the latest neuroscience research and expands its applications to the study of communication. Egolf explores both methodological and ethical issues that are surfacing as a result of the newest findings, revealing important new questions about the nature of communication and the brain, including: is there a way to communicate directly with the brain? What outside powers should be permitted to access that method of information dissemination? Egolf's text has implications for a number of communication subsets, including intrapersonal, interpersonal, political, marketing, and deception, and this new research undoubtedly will provoke debate amongst communication and neuroscience scholars for years to come.
Interplay: the Process of Interpersonal Communication by R. B. Adler; L. B. Rosenfeld; R. F. Proctor IIPacked with contemporary examples, cutting-edge research, and accessible writing, Interplay helps students apply insights from scholarship to everyday life. While highlighting the breadth of interpersonal communication research and theory, Interplay also gives students the practical skills they need to improve their own relationships. This new edition of Interplay is the most contemporary text available. The first chapter highlights masspersonal and multimodal communication, setting the stage for integration of social media and mediated communication throughout the book. Expanded discussions of intersectionality, code-switching, disability studies, and gender and language emphasize the role of culture and identity in shaping interactions. Every chapter is full of updated features, including"Focus on Research" and "Dark Side of Communication" boxes. Students can explore and apply concepts with the viral videos and discussion questions in the new "Watch and Discuss" activities that appear in every chapter. Oxford's easy-to-use Dashboard Online Assessment system now features an integrated eBook, video clips, and interactive assignments-everything you and your students need, all in one place.
Touch: The Science of Hand, Heart, and Mind by David J. LindenThe New York Times-bestselling author of The Compass of Pleasure examines how our sense of touch is interconnected with our emotions Dual-function receptors in our skin make mint feel cool and chili peppers hot. Without the brain's dedicated centers for emotional touch, an orgasm would feel more like a sneeze--convulsive, but not especially nice. From skin to nerves to brain, the organization of our body's touch circuits is a complex and often counterintuitive system that affects everything from our social interactions to our general health and development. In Touch, neuroscientist and bestselling author David J. Linden explores this critical interface between our bodies and the outside world, between ourselves and others. Along the way, he answers such questions as: Why do women have more refined detection with their fingertips than men? Is there a biological basis for the use of acupuncture to relieve pain? How do drugs like Ecstasy heighten and motivate sensual touch? Why can't we tickle ourselves? Linking biology and behavioral science, Touch offers an entertaining and enlightening answer to how we feel in every sense of the word.
Understanding Intercultural Communication: Negotiating a Grammar of Culture by Adrian HollidayIn this book, Adrian Holliday provides a practical framework to help students analyse intercultural communication. Underpinned by a new grammar of culture developed by Holliday, this book will incorporate examples and activities to enable students and professionals to investigate culture on very new, entirely non-essentialist lines. This book will address key issues in intercultural communication including: the positive contribution of people from diverse cultural backgrounds the politics of Self and Other which promote negative stereotyping the basis for a bottom-up approach to globalization in which Periphery cultural realities can gain voice and ownership Written by a key researcher in the field, this book presents cutting edge research and a framework for analysis which will make it essential reading for upper undergraduate and postgraduate students studying intercultural communication and professionals in the field.