Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Careers Research: Finding Resources

Research Challenge

At the end of this workshop (6-minute video), you will:

  1. Find magazine/journal articles, books, and websites on your topic.
  2. Evaluate and provide a summary of a source.
  3. Compile an annotated bibliography (citation & your summary paragraph)

Research Challenge Worksheet | Research Challenge Help
Annotated Bibliography Template (3-min video)
What Goes in My Annotated Bibliography?

Websites

O#Net Online

Occupational Outlook Handbook (1-min video)
Use the Search Handbook box to find information

APA: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. (2019, December 4). Flight attendants. Occupational Outlook Handbook. Dept of Labor. Retrieved from https://www.bls.gov/ooh/transportation-and-material-moving/flight-attendants.htm

MLA: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. "Librarians." Occupational Outlook Handbook,  U.S. Dept of Labor, 2 July 2018. www.bls.gov/ooh/education-training-and-library/librarians.htm. 

Using Google and Applying the CRAAP Test video


Local infoHawaiʻi Careers Explorer & Hawaiʻi Jobs Explorer

Find Journal Articles

Vocational & Career database has lots of career articles (2-min video).
 Use EBSCO Research Databases to find journals, magazines & newspapers.
 
 

Conducting an Informational Interview

APA: Cited in-text but not in the References list.
MLA: Oehlers, Joy. Personal interview. 19 July 2016.

 

 

Find Videos

 

 

Films on Demand

  Use Films on Demand to find:

 

Resumes & Interviews

Questions?

  

 ENG 22 Hirata-Knight

  Research Challenge Help

   joy.oehlers@hawaii.edu
  TXT: 919.695.3688 
  Office: 808.734.9352
  Office: Lama 117

General Vocational & Career Books