Kapiʻolani CC Library Spotlight - Kapiʻolani CC Library LibGuides at Kapi'olani Community College

Extra, Extra...Read All About It! Honolulu Newspapers via ProQuest.

06/16/2022

Erica Dias

General, English (ENG), Hawaii, Culinary Arts (CULN), History (HIST), Hospitality & Tourism (HOST), Miscellaneous

OK, so why the 3 links and separate dates?

Long story short, the two most popular daily newspapers in the Honolulu area -- The Honolulu Advertiser and The Honolulu Star-Bulletin -- merged in 2010 to become The Honolulu Star-Advertiser. As such, each newspaper has different coverage dates, and even when the dates overlap, the content and stories vary because they were separate newspapers.

Here's an example: say you're looking for Merrie Monarch results for the past 20 years.

When you search the current newspaper, The Honolulu Star-Advertiser [bit.ly/PQstar-adv], you would find Merrie Monarch results for this year and the prior 11 years. Remember, though, you're looking for 20 years' worth of festival results...
So you go to the next newspaper on the list, The Honolulu Advertiser [bit.ly/PQhnladv], and start by locating Merrie Monarch Results for 2009, but then you realize the points breakdown is missing...
Something tells you to check The Honolulu Star-Bulletin [bit.ly/PQstar-bull], and you're in luck! The Honolulu Star-Bulletin's Merrie Monarch Festival results for 2009 do include the points each hālau was awarded in the hula competition.

Try it out for yourself!

This post has no comments.

Commenting on blog posts requires an account.

Subjects

General

8

Art (ART)

4

Culinary Arts (CULN)

3

Food Service & Hospitality Education (FSHE)

1

Philosophy (PHIL)

1

Religion (REL)

2

Theatre (THEA)

2

Exercise & Sport Science (ESS)

1

STEM

4

Information Technology (ITS)

1

See more...

Recent Posts

Himeyuri and Hawaii: A Traveling Exhibition

Himeyuri and Hawaii ExhibitionWhen: August 14th - December 20th, 2024, during library hours Location: 1st Floor, Lama Library, near the Hawaiʻi-Pacific CollectionLama Library invites you to visit us and view the traveling exhibition, “Himeyuri and Hawaii.” We are pleased to host this exhibit through the end of the Fall semester. Created by the Himeyuri Peace Museum in Okinawa, this exhibit tells the story of the Himeyuri Student Corps, comprised of female students from the Okinawa First Girls' High School and the Okinawa Female Normal School, who were mobilized to serve as assistant nurses during the Battle of Okinawa, in 1945. Many of the young students lost their lives, and by the war's end, 136 out of 245 students had died. Learn about the story of the Himeyuri students, and discover the connections between Himeyuri and the people of Hawaiʻi through the years. The exhibition has 2 parts. Part 1, outlines the experiences of Himeyuri and the Battle of Okinawa, and Part 2 outlines the connections between Himeyuri and Hawaiʻi.The exhibition was previously on display at the UH West Oʻahu Library, and at Hamilton Library at UH Mānoa. With Principal Noda after a closing-of-the-school-year ceremony....

✨ Fall Reading Picks: Library Folks Edition 📚

As the summer starts to wind down, here are a few more recommendations from folks here in the library! The Crimson Labyrinth by Yusuke Kishi; Translated into English by Camellia Nieh and Masami IsetaniCall Number: Japan Collection (2nd floor) ; PL855.I586 K8713 2006 Kishi’s novella, in the same vein as Hunger Games or Battle Royale, tightens up both the participant and kill-count such that a smaller pool of contestants makes for a more in-depth assessment of how personality defines outcomes in ‘the game.’ Rationalizing that each player’s initial choice in the zero sum game determines the outcome via North-East-South-West dynamics, the narrator’s survival largely depends on the support of a mystery woman who might be both the narrator’s lover or femme fatale.-Davin, English Professor You may also be interested in: Battle Royale by Koushun Takami; Translated into English by Yuji OnikiCall Number: PL876.A396 B3813 2009 (Japan Collection) Reading the Kimono in Twentieth-Century Japanese Literature and Film by Michiko SuzukiEbook Kafka on the Shore by Haruki MurakamiCall Number: Japan Collection (2nd floor) ; PL856.U673 U4813 2005 A Pacific Industry: The History of Pineapple Canning in Hawaii by Richard A. HawkinsCall Number: Hawaii and Pacific Collection (1st floor) ; HD9259.P53 H3 2020 "A Pacific Industry: The History of Pineapple Canning in Hawaii" is an enthralling journey into how a humble fruit revolutionized an entire island's destiny. Bursting with vivid tales of visionary pioneers and transformative innovations, this book captures the heart and soul of Hawaii's pineapple industry. It's a must-read for anyone who wants to feel the pulse of Hawaii's vibrant history and the incredible story of how pineapples became a symbol of the islands. -Heidi, Circulation Desk You may also be interested in: Food and Power in Hawaiʻi: Visions of Food DemocracyCall Number: HD9007.H3 F66 2016 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)Also available online via Ebook Central. Pineapple Culture: A History of the Tropical and Temperate Zones by Gary Y. OkihiroCall Number: Hawaii and Pacific Collection (1st floor) ; CB261 .O38 2009 Women Workers in Hawaii's Pineapple IndustryCall Number: HD6073.P462 U59 1979a (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)Also available online via ScholarSpace....

⚡Forgot Your Charger? Borrow it from the Library 😮

Forgot your phone or laptop charger? Need a graphing calculator for your math course? Joining a Zoom class from the library and need headphones? Next time you are at the library, visit the Circulation Desk to borrow technology items! Items include webcams, headphones, phone chargers, laptop chargers, DVD players, connection cords, and more. See this webpage for information about the loan period for each item and for the policies on borrowing: https://guides.library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu/services/laptops. Please contact the Circulation Desk for further questions: 808-734-9268. ...

📲Summer Reading Picks: Ebook Edition ☀️

If you’re not on campus to borrow physical books, not to worry! The library has a multitude of ebooks to read online. Here are a few titles to check out: Detours: A Decolonial Guide to Hawaii Available online via ProQuest Ebook Central People often ask me for restaurant and beach recommendations when they come on vacation, but perhaps I should start giving them this book as well. As timely a topic as ever, Detours uncovers histories and places in Hawaiʻi obscured by American occupation, militarism, and settler colonialism. It is sometimes overwhelming to think about the power these forces have, but reading about important places and various decolonial projects taking place provide a sense of connection and hope. Sundressed: Natural Fabrics and the Future of Clothing Available online via EBSCOhost Ebooks - Perpetual Collection I have thought a fair amount about where my food comes from, but I haven’t considered the same ideas when thinking about clothing. This book introduces us to farmers, designers, and manufacturers who are all moving us toward consuming less and appreciating our clothes more. Design for Belonging : How to Build Inclusion and Collaboration in your Communities Available online via EBSCOhost Ebooks - Perpetual Collection How do you invite someone well? How do people leave from your community? This book focuses on belonging as a central idea for designing more inclusive work processes. Especially after the social fracturing caused by the pandemic, reading this book reminded me that promoting connection can be done in small, yet impactful ways. Are there any good books you have been reading this summer? Comment below or tell us at the library, and we may feature the book in an upcoming post! ...