Kapiʻolani CC Library Spotlight

Yo, STEM people!

I got three things to help you stay sharp under lockdown. Enough with searching Youtube for video help. I got you.

First up, we’re kickin’ it old school, getting wicked smaht with MIT Press Direct. That’s Massachusetts Institute of Technology, kid! If you haven’t heard of them, I feel sorry for you. If you say Good Will Hunting is one of your favorite flicks and you still don’t remember, was it your memory that also got a beat down at the pahk? No worries. The stuff from MIT Press can fix that.

Neuroscience. Math. Physics. Psychology. Environmental Studies. They got full e-books and e-book chapters all devoted to these subjects.

They even got some other stuff focused on things like Art, Information Science, Linguistics, New Media, Social Science and Urbanism.

They even have a book on WEED.

Yeah, that kind of weed.

Check out Craft Weed: Family Farming and the Future of the Marijuana Industry for Ryan Stoa’s argument on how weed can be done small batch, local, and sustainable like Mom and Pop joints dealing tomatoes and papaya at your local farmers market.

Pass the e-book on the left-hand side?

OK…. OK, I know weed doesn’t do it for everybody. Reading as well.

So let’s go video instead. ​

JoVE Science Education is another helpful tool if you are taking a STEM class.

With over 12,000 video tutorials covering the fields of Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Psychology, Environmental Sciences and more, JoVE Science Education can help clarify your professor’s lecture, add a second take, or even give you a sneak peak at what comes next in the field.

They also have Lab Manuals for Chemistry and Biology. (Check out the green Science Education box on the upper right-hand side.) I never knew how a laminar flow hood worked, but after watching An Introduction to Working in the Hood, now I know.

And yes, that’s the actual title for the video. Who said scientists don’t have a sense of humor?

Last up is for the specialist, someone who might be a future doctor, historian, or someone who might want to study and practice foreign policy in the Middle East.

Focusing on how the Middle East has influenced the West, the award-winning Arcadian Library Online may be of interest to you.

Containing books, letters, pamphlets, and art, the Arcadian Library Online is searchable in English and Arabic.

The options before you are all packed and ready.

LIGHT ‘EM UP!

MIT Press Direct available until May 31.
JoVE Science Education available until June 15.
Arcadian Online Library available until July 5.

Whether you are researching a topic for a class or researching a topic for yourself, Bloomsbury’s electronic databases have got you covered!

Culinary students can peruse the Bloomsbury Food Library to learn how to make Coke from scratch or even see a menu from the theatrically-inspired The Bistro at Kapiʻolani Community College. 
 

Anthropology, Family Resources, and Philosophy students may take note of the Bloomsbury databases focused on Cultural History, Education and Childhood Studies and Philosophers. How do countries around the world view early childhood education? How do they view death and dying? What does it mean to live a good life? 
 

Art and aesthetically-inclined students will find inspiration in the Bloomsbury databases focusing on Applied Visual Arts, Architecture, Design, Fashion, and Popular Music. What makes something catch your eye, your ear, your heart - and how can you, in turn, create something that does the same to others? 
 

Last, but not least, is the Bloomsbury Collections which contains e-books covering all the topics in the aforementioned databases, plus other topics including Literary Studies, Law, Middle Eastern Studies, and Biblical Studies and Theology. (For more on the Biblical Studies and Theology, also check out Bloomsbury’s database, Theology & Religion Online.)
 

All databases available now until July 5.
 

Physiology, Fitness, Health, Nutrition, Sports and Exercise

Wishing you had a place to learn how to improve the athletic ability and performance of yourself, your client, or your team, before, during and after competing? 

How do you train, fuel, and heal to meet your specific goals?

Human Kinetics Library offers a variety of e-books and videos focused on improving athletic performance. Whether you are looking to improve upon a specific sport (e.g. basketball), increase mental or physical strength, rehabilitate an injury, or even learn how to compete as you age, these skills and more can be found here. 

Searchable by sport/activity or topic this database is currently available now through July 5. 
 

Looking for Books?

Need a book from one of the University of Hawaii’s libraries but don’t want to go out? 

Try checking HathiTrust Digital Library before masking up. 

If a book is currently offered in one of UH’s libraries and is available in the HathiTrust Digital Library, you can access the item you want for a one-hour period. (You can renew the item for another hour as long as no one else is waiting to use it.) 

Items can be viewed via scanned e-book, .pdf or text-only. Items can also be downloaded by page, group of pages, or as an entire book depending on its copyright status. 
 

Available now until May 31. 
 

Theater
 

We were somewhere in April one month into being locked down when the fear began to take hold. I remember saying something like "I still haven’t gotten a monologue; I wish the library was still open...” And suddenly there was a terrible roar all around us like a dial-up modem and the sky was full of play bills and scripts like huge bats, all swooping and screeching and diving around the car, which was going about a hundred miles an hour with the top down to Kaimuki.

Ideal for students in the THEA 221 (Intro to Acting) and various ART classes focused on animation and film, Screen Studies and Drama Online offers students the ability to access monologues, playbills, screenplays, film and theater criticism, and audio recordings. Both databases are searchable by name of work, actor, and genre.  
 

Both databases are available now through July 5.

The curtains are drawn and a sliver of light cuts through the darkened room, showing flecks of dust rising into the air.  In the next room, the whir of a drill can be heard. A smile tears across your face as you hear the sound of more drilling -- I’ve got plenty of time, you think to yourself. This sound comforts you even more than the smooth jazz playing above.

As you put down the latest copy of O, The Oprah Magazine, you let out a sigh and run a satisfied  hand through your hair. Her book list and the recipe for Green Pea Hummus have been saved on your phone for later, along with the recipe for the Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies.

On the table in front of you the covers of Consumer Reports, People, This Old House, Chickens continue to call out to you with their covers.

Fast Food Makeover - 17 Chains Rated!

The Untold Story of Tiger King!

Cozy Reading Nooks!

Tips to Avoid a Chick-tastrophe!

You place your finger across your lips and weigh your options only to freeze when you hear your dentist’s voice saying that he’s ready to take you now.

Oh, if only I had more time, you think to yourself.

Save yourself a trip to your dentist, and read all these magazines and more, by checking out Flipster, our latest magazine database, available now until July 6 (currently on a 90-day trial and evaluation period).

No appointments necessary.

KapCC students, faculty/staff may be prompted for a UH login in order to access Flipster.

Please give us your feedback on how we are doing. Are you able to find the books, articles, and other media you need? Can you get assistance when you need it? What do you like best, and what can we improve?

Take our quick and easy 18-question Spring 2020 Survey, and let us know what you think!

Image by Manfred Steger from Pixabay