Kapiʻolani CC Library Spotlight - Kapiʻolani CC Library LibGuides at Kapi'olani Community College

Please give us your feedback on how we are doing. Are you able to find the books, articles, and other media you need? Can you get assistance when you need it? What do you like best, and what can we improve?

Click to take the Spring Library Survey: 2020

Take our quick and easy 18-question Spring 2020 Survey, and let us know what you think!

Image of two cartoon characters making a thumbs up and a thumbs down

Image by Manfred Steger from Pixabay

Recent Posts

🌻Weekly Wellness Events on the 2nd Floor! 💖

We have a new Wellness Space in the Lamakū Learning Center where we are holding various student wellness events throughout the Fall 2024 semester!Stop by and join us for guided breathing exercises, short yoga stretches, mindfulness tips, games and more! Weekly Wellness | Lama 207ATuesdays & Thursdays, 9-12On (most) Tuesdays and Thursdays from 9 am - 12 pm, we are hosting drop-in weekly wellness sessions for students guided by a peer coach. Themes for the group sessions will change from week to week, and include things like “Just Breathe: 10-Minute Meditations.”Check out the flyers upstairs or ask at the Reference Desk or Study Hub for the weekly theme!Nerd Time Corner! | Lama 207AThursdays, 12:30-2:30On (most) Thursday afternoons from 12:30 - 2:30 pm, the Wellness Space hosts Nerd Time Corner!Organized by a peer coach, Nerd Time Corner is a drop-in opportunity for students to enjoy games with each other. ...

Himeyuri and Hawaii: A Traveling Exhibition

Himeyuri and Hawaii ExhibitionWhen: August 14th - December 20th, 2024, during library hours Location: 1st Floor, Lama Library, near the Hawaiʻi-Pacific CollectionLama Library invites you to visit us and view the traveling exhibition, “Himeyuri and Hawaii.” We are pleased to host this exhibit through the end of the Fall semester. Created by the Himeyuri Peace Museum in Okinawa, this exhibit tells the story of the Himeyuri Student Corps, comprised of female students from the Okinawa First Girls' High School and the Okinawa Female Normal School, who were mobilized to serve as assistant nurses during the Battle of Okinawa, in 1945. Many of the young students lost their lives, and by the war's end, 136 out of 245 students had died. Learn about the story of the Himeyuri students, and discover the connections between Himeyuri and the people of Hawaiʻi through the years. The exhibition has 2 parts. Part 1, outlines the experiences of Himeyuri and the Battle of Okinawa, and Part 2 outlines the connections between Himeyuri and Hawaiʻi.The exhibition was previously on display at the UH West Oʻahu Library, and at Hamilton Library at UH Mānoa. With Principal Noda after a closing-of-the-school-year ceremony....

✨ Fall Reading Picks: Library Folks Edition 📚

As the summer starts to wind down, here are a few more recommendations from folks here in the library! The Crimson Labyrinth by Yusuke Kishi; Translated into English by Camellia Nieh and Masami IsetaniCall Number: Japan Collection (2nd floor) ; PL855.I586 K8713 2006 Kishi’s novella, in the same vein as Hunger Games or Battle Royale, tightens up both the participant and kill-count such that a smaller pool of contestants makes for a more in-depth assessment of how personality defines outcomes in ‘the game.’ Rationalizing that each player’s initial choice in the zero sum game determines the outcome via North-East-South-West dynamics, the narrator’s survival largely depends on the support of a mystery woman who might be both the narrator’s lover or femme fatale.-Davin, English Professor You may also be interested in: Battle Royale by Koushun Takami; Translated into English by Yuji OnikiCall Number: PL876.A396 B3813 2009 (Japan Collection) Reading the Kimono in Twentieth-Century Japanese Literature and Film by Michiko SuzukiEbook Kafka on the Shore by Haruki MurakamiCall Number: Japan Collection (2nd floor) ; PL856.U673 U4813 2005 A Pacific Industry: The History of Pineapple Canning in Hawaii by Richard A. HawkinsCall Number: Hawaii and Pacific Collection (1st floor) ; HD9259.P53 H3 2020 "A Pacific Industry: The History of Pineapple Canning in Hawaii" is an enthralling journey into how a humble fruit revolutionized an entire island's destiny. Bursting with vivid tales of visionary pioneers and transformative innovations, this book captures the heart and soul of Hawaii's pineapple industry. It's a must-read for anyone who wants to feel the pulse of Hawaii's vibrant history and the incredible story of how pineapples became a symbol of the islands. -Heidi, Circulation Desk You may also be interested in: Food and Power in Hawaiʻi: Visions of Food DemocracyCall Number: HD9007.H3 F66 2016 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)Also available online via Ebook Central. Pineapple Culture: A History of the Tropical and Temperate Zones by Gary Y. OkihiroCall Number: Hawaii and Pacific Collection (1st floor) ; CB261 .O38 2009 Women Workers in Hawaii's Pineapple IndustryCall Number: HD6073.P462 U59 1979a (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)Also available online via ScholarSpace....

⚡Forgot Your Charger? Borrow it from the Library 😮

Forgot your phone or laptop charger? Need a graphing calculator for your math course? Joining a Zoom class from the library and need headphones? Next time you are at the library, visit the Circulation Desk to borrow technology items! Items include webcams, headphones, phone chargers, laptop chargers, DVD players, connection cords, and more. See this webpage for information about the loan period for each item and for the policies on borrowing: https://guides.library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu/services/laptops. Please contact the Circulation Desk for further questions: 808-734-9268. ...

Take Our Library Survey: the 2020 Edition! (Runs: April 6 - 24th)

Leave a comment

Commenting on blog posts requires an account.

Login is required to interact with this comment. Please and try again.

If you do not have an account, Register Now.

Take Our Library Survey: the 2020 Edition! (Runs: April 6 - 24th)

Leave a comment

Commenting on blog posts requires an account.

Login is required to interact with this comment. Please login here and try again.

If you do not have an account, Register Now.

Login is required to interact with this comment. Please and try again.