Kapiʻolani CC Library LibGuides: BIOL 101: Home

Types of Articles

You can use the library's search tool above to look for articles and more. Type in your search terms, and use the filters on the left hand side to refine your search to articles.

Need a Research Topic?

Browse some science journals:

Science Magazine (e-journal)
Science is one of the world's leading peer-reviewed journals of original scientific research, global news, and commentary, published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world's largest general-science society. Full-text articles are available from 1997 to present.
Pacific Science
An international, multidisciplinary journal reporting research on the biological and physical sciences of the Pacific basin.
Evolutionary Ecology
Original research articles, which present the results of empirical or theoretical research testing current ideas in evolutionary ecology; review articles; ideas & perspectives articles; methods papers; natural history notes and more.

Questions?

If you have any questions, librarians are here to help!

Call: 808-734-9359
Text: 1-808-201-2986
kapccref@hawaii.edu

Or you can use our chat reference by clicking the orange tab on the upper-right of this page:

Searching for Articles

What do you need?

To find research journal articles on a topic, use a library database.
To find an article for which you already have the reference, check the library's Journals, or check Google Scholar (go to Settings, click on Library Links, add Kapiʻolani Community College Library.)

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is the world's largest electronic collection of information in science (including social sciences, arts and humanities), technology, and medicine. It includes over 6 million articles and over 60 million abstracts in over 1,800 scholarly journals. The University of Hawaii System Libraries have purchased full text access to hundreds of journals in ScienceDirect: look for green Subscribed content icons.

Use Advanced Search to limit to Kapiʻolani CC subscribed publications by typing in search terms, clicking submit, and then further refining your search by selecting options under Refine by: "Subscribed journals," in addition to Access type: "Open access" and "Open archive." Use the date limits if needed.

Filter by subscribed articles only

Access type Open access and Open archive are selected

Review articles provide a summary of important articles. Original research articles provide specific details and procedures.
More information on our help guide for ScienceDirect.

PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Access journals and other publications for the biomedical and life sciences. Overlaps with MEDLINE and PubMed.

More than 6.3 million free access, full-text articles available to the public.
Use the Citation link to copy the APA reference.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Lama Library has access to thousands of JSTOR Ebooks, in addition to articles which are part of the following collections: Arts & Sciences I-XV, Life Sciences, and Lives of Literature. These collections provide full-text journal backfiles in various disciplines. Selected journals in the following subject areas are available: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Aquatic Sciences, Archaeology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance History, Law, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology and Statistics.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Full Text @ Kapiʻolani CC links should automatically display in Google Scholar. If the links are not displaying you can manually set the links to Kapiʻolani CC subscriptions, by: 1) Clicking the menu icon in the upper left corner of the Google Scholar search page. 2) Go to Settings. 3) Click on Library links and search for Kapʻiolani. 4) Select Kapiʻolani Community College library - Full Text @ Kapiʻolani CC and save your preferences.

(Watch this video to help you set up Library Links in Google Scholar).

University of Hawaiʻi Research News: RSS feed

University of Hawaiʻi News: Research

You may need to Refresh the page if the feed does not appear.

BIOL 101: Home

Types of Articles

Need a Research Topic?

Questions?

Questions?

Searching for Articles

University of Hawaiʻi Research News: RSS feed

University of Hawaiʻi News: Research

Citing Information