Kapiʻolani CC Library LibGuides: HWST 255: Intro to the Hawaiian Kingdom: Home

Find a Book

Search the Library and Beyond

Advanced Search

Kamehameha I: Paiea

Kamehameha and His Warrior Kekūhaupiʻo by Stephen Desha
Call Number: DU627.1 .D47 2000 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)

Also available online via Ulukau.
Kamehameha's Children Today by Charles Ahlo, Rubellite K. Johnson, & Jerry Walker
Call Number: CS2204 .A35 2015 (Hawai'i & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)
Kamehameha the Great by Julie S. Williams
Call Number: DU627.1 W55 1993 (Hawai'i & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)

Also available online via Ulukau.
Ka Naʻi Aupuni: Kamehameha & His Feathered Gods, Tahitian Colonies & Sorcery by Malcolm Nāea Chun
Call Number: BL2620.H3 C48 2014 (Hawai'i & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)
Kamehameha: The Rise of a King by David L. Eyre & Brook K. Parker (Illus.)
Call Number: PS3605.Y74 K364 2013 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)

Historic fiction
Kamehameha: The Warrior King of Hawaiʻi by Susan Keyes Morrison
Call Number: PS3613.O7778 K36 2003 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via JSTOR Books.

Kamehameha II: Liholiho

Kamehameha II: Liholiho and the Impact of Change by Julie S. Williams
Call Number: DU627.11 .W55 2001 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)

Also available online via Ulukau.
Shipwrecked in Paradise: Cleopatra's Barge in Hawaiʻi by Paul Forsythe Johnston
Call Number: DU624.J64 2015 (Hawai'i & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)

Also available online via Ebook Central.

Kamehameha III: Kauikeaouli

Kamehameha III: Kauikeaouli by Jean I. Cachola
Call Number: DU627.12 .C33 1995 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Also available online via Ulukau.
Facing the Spears of Change: The Life and Legacy of John Papa ʻĪʻī by Marie Alohalani Brown
Call Number: DU627.17.I4 B76 2016 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ebook Central.

Queen Kaʻahumanu (Kuhina Nui - Chief Counselor)

Kaahumanu: Molder of Change by Jane L. Silverman
Call Number: DU627.17.K25 S55 1987 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)
The Magnificent Matriarch, Kaahumanu, Queen of Hawaii by Kathleen Dickenson Mellen
Call Number: DU627.17.K25 M4 1952 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)

Kamehameha IV: Alexander Liholiho

Kamehameha IV: Alexander Liholiho by Ruby H. Lowe
Call Number: DU627.13 .L68 1997 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Also available online via Ulukau.
The Journal of Prince Alexander Liholiho: The Voyages Made to the United States, England and France in 1849-1850
Call Number: E166 K23 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)
Speeches of His Majesty Kamehameha IV to the Hawaiian Legislature by His Majesty Kamehameha IV
Call Number: J87 .H317 2014 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Liholiho and Emma: King Kamehameha IV and His Queen by Elizabeth Waldron
Call Number: DU627.13 W35 1986 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference, Ask at Circulation Desk)

Queen Emma Naʻea Rooke

Emma, Hawaiʻi's Remarkable Queen: A Biography by George S. Kanahele
Call Number: DU627.17.E45 K36 1999 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Queen Emma: A Woman of Vision by Miriam E. Rappolt
Call Number: DU627.17.E45 R37 1990 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference, Ask at Circulation)

Kamehameha V: Lot Kapuāiwa

Kamehameha V: Lot Kapuāiwa by Rosalin U. Comeau
Call Number: DU627.14 C66 1996 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ulukau.
Onipaʻa : Prince Lot
Call Number: (UH Streaming Videos)

A historical account of the life and times of Prince Lot Kapuaiwa, the last reigning member of the Kamehameha family.

William Lunalilo

Lunalilo by Peter Galuteria
Call Number: DU627.15 .G35 1993 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ulukau.

David Kalākaua

Kalakaua: Renaissance King by Helena G. Allen
Call Number: DU627.16 .A44 1994 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Kalakaua: Hawaii's Last King by Kristin Zambucka
Call Number: DU627.16 .Z36 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)
David Kalākaua by Ruby H. Lowe
Call Number: DU627.16 .L68 1999 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ulukau.

Queen Kapiʻolani

Queen Kapiolani by Maili Yardley
Call Number: DU627.17.K37 Y37 1985 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st Floor)
Women of Old Hawaii by Maxine Mrantz
Call Number: HQ1438.H3 M73 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Queen Liliʻuokalani

Liliʻuokalani by Ruby H. Lowe
Call Number: DU627.18 .L58 1993 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Also available online via Ulukau.
Hawaii's Story by Hawaii's Queen by Liliʻuokalani
Call Number: DU627.2 .L72 2013 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st Floor)

Also available online as an eBook via the Build-a-Book Initiative.
Her Royal Highness Queen Liliuokalani: Poet, Composer, Musician by (Prepared by) Lynne Waihee
Call Number: M1629.7.H4 W38 1994 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference, Ask at Circulation)
Hawaiian Heirloom Jewelry: A Lasting Remembrance by Philip Rickard with Henry Bennett
Call Number: NK7412 .R53 1993 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Princess Kaʻiulani

Princess Kaʻiulani of Hawaiʻi: The Monarchy's Last Hope by Kristin Zambucka
Call Number: DU627.17.K3 Z35 2005 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Princess Victoria Kaʻiulani: Last Heir of the Hawaiian Kingdom by Ralph Thomas Kam; Marilyn Stassen-McLaughlin
Call Number: DU627.17.K3 K36 2024 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online as an eBook.

Books on the Hawaiian Monarchy

Ua Mau Ke Ea: Sovereignty Endures by David Keanu Sai
Call Number: DU625 .S375 2011 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)
Ruling Chiefs of Hawaii by Samuel M. Kamakau
Call Number: DU624.65 .K3413 1992 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ulukau.
The Hawaiian Monarchy by Allan Seiden
Call Number: DU624.65 .S45 2004 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st Floor)
The Rise and Fall of the Hawaiian Kingdom: A Pictorial History by Richard A. Wisniewski
Call Number: DU627 .W57 1979 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
The Hawaiian Kingdom (3 vols) by Ralph S. Kuykendall
Call Number: DU627 K8 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st Floor)

Also available online via Ulukau.
Vol.1: 1778-1854 Foundation & Transformation
Vol. 2: 1854-1874 Twenty Critical Years
Vol. 3: 1874-1893 The Kalākaua Dynasty
ʻAno Lani: The Hawaiian Monarchy Years, 1810 to 1893 by Linda Ching; Pat Pitzer; Malcolm Nāea Chun
Call Number: DU627 .A56 1993 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
History of the Hawaiian Kingdom by Norris W. Potter; Lawrence M. Kasdon; Ann Rayson
Call Number: DU627 .P67 2003 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)

Online Resources

Aliʻi - Kumukahi.org
Hawaiʻi Alive: Nā Aliʻi Portraits
Hawaiʻi Alive: Ballots from the Royal Election of 1874
#HawaiianPatriots Project
Photographs - Hawaiʻi State Archives Digital Collection
Digitized historic photographs.
Aliʻi Letters Project - Hawaiian Mission Houses Museum
This exhibit is a product of a project that digitized, transcribed, translated, and annotated over 200 letters written by 33 Aliʻi Chiefs.
ScholarSpace
An open-access, digital institutional repository for the intellectual works and unique collections of the UH Mānoa academic community. Publications from the Center for Pacific Island Studies are available here.
eVols
A digital institutional repository for the University of Hawaiʻi community and researchers around the world. Some examples include links to digital items from the Hawaiian Historical Society; Merrie Monarch Festival, Mānoa's Map, Hawaiian, & Pacific Collections; etc.
King Kamehameha V Judiciary History Centerʻs Online Exhibits
Exhibits include:
Ka Olelo a me ke Kanawai: The Language and the Law
Ka Imi Pono: Threats to the Native Populace
Bishop Museum's Ethnology Collection (online database)
After clicking one of the "search" options, select your aliʻi from the drop-down menu called "Associated Famous Personage."

more... less...

Bishop Museum's Ethnology Collection includes more than 70,000 objects from throughout Hawaiʻi and the Pacific region. Photographs and detailed information are available for more than two thousand objects.
Prince Lot Hula Festival
Kihawahine from Bishop Museum's Hawaiʻi Alive

Google Tips

If you're having trouble with too many irrelevant results, change your search terms or try Google Advanced Search to filter your results! Examples:

queen kapiolani -hotel
queen kapiolani site:.edu

Newspaper & Journal Articles

The Hawaiian Journal of History
An annual scholarly journal devoted to original articles on the history of Hawai‘i, Polynesia, and the Pacific area. Available online in full-text from UH Mānoa eVols (1967-2020) and via EBSCOhost's Academic Search Complete (2003-2024).
Current & past issues are also available in Print at Lama Library.
Chronicling America: Historic Newspapers
Digitized English-language newspapers published in Hawaiʻi from 1836-1922.
Papakilo Database
Search Hawaiian-language newspapers (1834-1948), Māhele land records, moʻokūʻauhau (genealogy), maps, and more.

Hawaiʻi Pacific Journal Index
An index to magazines and journals published in or about Hawaiʻi & the Pacific; citations only. See the Reference Desk for help locating print issues. See Titles and Coverage for a list of the journals and magazines included.

Google Scholar
How-to Video for Setting Up & Using Google Scholar [2:20].

EBSCOhost Research Databases
EBSCOhost databases cover a wide range of subject areas, including social sciences, health, business, computer science, psychology, religion, education, and more. Over 20,000 journal titles are indexed with the majority available in full text. Start with Academic Search Complete, or select all four databases and click Continue.

Kōkua? Contact me!

Erica Dias

Email Me

Contact:

Call or email to schedule a Zoom!

(808) 734-9599

Subjects: Hawaii, Hawaiian Language (HAW), Hawaiian Studies (HWST), Pacific Islands Studies (PACS)