Skip to Main Content

Library and Learning Resources, Kapiʻolani Community College

HWST 270 - Hawaiian Mythology: Home

Quest 1: Reference Books

Hawaiian Mythology by Martha W. Beckwith
Call Number: GR385 .B43 1970 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Available as an eBook via Ulukau.
Handbook of Polynesian Mythology by Robert D. Craig
Call Number: BL2620.P6 C72 2004 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Available online via Ebook Central.
Print copy also available in General Reference Collection, 1st floor.
Dictionary of Polynesian Mythology by Robert D. Craig
Call Number: BL2620.P6 C7 1989 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Available online via Ebook Central.
Hawaiian Dictionary (1971 ed.) by Mary Kawena Pukui; Samuel H. Elbert
Call Number: PL6446 .P78 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Only the 1971 Edition includes the "Glossary of Hawaiian gods, demigods, family gods, and a few heroes."
Native Planters in Old Hawaii: Their Life, Lore, and Environment by E.S. Craighill Handy, Elizabeth Green Handy, & Mary Kawena Pukui
Call Number: GN424 .H3
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
Sites of Oahu by Sterling, Elspeth P.; Catherine C. Summers (Compiled by)
Call Number: DU628.O3 S8 1993 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Refer to the Detailed Index online via Ulukau to see what might be included about your area.
Hawaiian Legends in English: An Annotated Bibliography by Amos P. Leib; A. Grove Day
Call Number: Z5984.H38 L48 1979 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference, Ask at Circulation Desk)

Includes brief biographies of translators of Hawaiian legends.
Also available online via UH Press books at De Gruyter.

Quest 2: Find Another Book

Search the Library and Beyond

Advanced Search

Books in Our Library

Akua Hawaiʻi: Hawaiian Gods and Their Stories by Armitage, Kimo; Solomon Enos (Illustrator)
Call Number: BL2620.H3 A76 2005 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)
Folktales of Hawaiʻi = He Mau Kaʻao Hawaiʻi by Pukui, Mary Kawena (Compiled by)
Call Number: GR110.H38 P85 1995 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Hawaiian and English
Fornander Collection of Hawaiian Antiquities and Folk-lore by Fornander, Abraham; with translations revised and illustrated with notes by Thomas G. Thrum.
Call Number: GN670 .B5 vols. 4-6 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Text in Hawaiian and English.
Also available online via Archive.org: Vol. 4.
online via Archive.org: Vol. 5.
online via Archive.org: Vol. 6.
Myths and Legends of Hawaiʻi by William D. Westervelt
Call Number: GR110.H38 W45 2005 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)
Nā Moʻolelo Hawaiʻi o ka Wā Kahiko = Stories of Old Hawaiʻi: A Literary Companion to The Hawaiians of Old by Roy Kākulu Alameida
Call Number: PZ8.1.A42 Mo 1997 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Oceanic Mythology: The Myths of Polynesia, Micronesia, Melanesia, Australia by Roslyn Poignant
Call Number: BL2600 .P6 1967 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
The Polynesian Family System in Kaʻu, Hawaiʻi by E. S. Craighill Handy; Mary Kawena Pukui
Call Number: DU624.65 .H36 1998 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online from eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) (1972 version).
And available online via Ebook Central (1972 version).
And available online via Ulukau.
Pele, Volcano Goddess of Hawaiʻi: A History by H. Arlo Nimmo
Call Number: BL2620.H3 N56 2011 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ebook Central.
Resource Units in Hawaiian Culture by Donald D. Kilolani Mitchell
Call Number: DU625.8 .M58 1992 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ulukau.
Ruling Chiefs of Hawaii by Samuel M. Kamakau
Call Number: DU624.65 .K3413 1992 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ulukau.
Treasury of Hawaiian Words in One Hundred and One Categories by Harold W. Kent
Call Number: PL6446 K46 1993 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Lists of Hawaiian words, including birds, insects, places, plants, fish, rains, shellfish, etc.
The Epic Tale of Hiʻiakaikapoliopele: Woman of the Sunrise, Lightning-Skirted Beauty of Halemaʻumaʻu by Hoʻoulumāhiehie; Solomon Enos
Call Number: GR385.H3 H66 2006b (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Pele, the Fire Goddess by Dietrich Varez; Pua Kanakaʻole Kanahele
Call Number: BL2620.H3 V37 1991 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Pele and Hiiaka: A Myth from Hawaii by Nathaniel B. Emerson
Call Number: GR385.H3 E55 1978 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference, Ask at Circulation Desk)

Also available online as an eBook via Internet Archive.
Voices of Fire: Reweaving the Literary Lei of Pele and Hiʻiaka by kuʻualoha hoʻomanawanui
Call Number: PL6448 .H66 2014 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ebook Central.
Hawaiian Legends in English: An Annotated Bibliography by Amos P. Leib; A. Grove Day
Call Number: Z5984.H38 L48 1979 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference, Ask at Circulation Desk)

Includes brief biographies of translators of Hawaiian legends.
Also available online via UH Press books at De Gruyter.

Quest 3: Hawaiian Legends Index

Search here to help you locate myths and legends indexed in 77 books.

Additional Moʻolelo

Kapaemahu Film and Book

Kapaemahu by Hinaleimoana Wong-Kalu; Dean Hamer; and Joe Wilson; Illustrated by Daniel Sousa
Call Number: PZ90.H27 W66 2022 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Waimānalo Mau a Mau Wahipana Project
"Waimānalo Mau a Mau was a collaborative initiative dedicated to documenting and celebrating the beauty and richness of Waimānalo." Watch interviews, learn about Indigenous research protocols, read moʻolelo in children's books, etc.

Quest 4: Ulukau eBooks

Ulukau.org includes full-text digitized books on Hawaiian culture, history and language. Remember to try your search with and without diacritics.

Quest 5: Find a Good Website

Google search tips

Asia-Pacific Digital Library: Traditions of Oʻahu
"Stories of this island before high-rises, freeways and hotels, before sugar plantations and pineapple fields, before churches and the Bible."
E Hoʻoulu Lāhui, Hawaiian Studies & Language Program at the University of Hawaiʻi Maui College
Internet Sacred Text Archive - Hawai'i & Pacific
Full-text online books about religion, mythology, and folklore
Scholar Space
"ScholarSpace is an open-access, digital institutional repository for the University of Hawaii at Mānoa community."

Kōkua?

Email Me

Contact:

Call or email to schedule a Zoom!

(808) 734-9599

Subjects: Hawaii, Hawaiian Language (HAW), Hawaiian Studies (HWST), Pacific Islands Studies (PACS)

Research Challenge

HWST 270: Research Challenge Worksheet
(Opens in Google Docs; make a copy to automatically save in your Google Drive)
bit.ly/kcchwst270

Help Manual Quest 1: Reference Book

Help for Quest 2: Find Another Book [2:05]
(Searching for Books in the Catalog: YouTube)

Newspaper & Journal Articles

Papakilo Database
Search Hawaiian-language newspapers (1834-1948), Māhele land records, moʻokūʻauhau (genealogy), maps, and more.
Chronicling America: Historic Newspapers
Digitized English-language newspapers published in Hawaiʻi from 1836-1922.
The Hawaiian Journal of History
An annual scholarly journal devoted to original articles on the history of Hawai‘i, Polynesia, and the Pacific area. Available online in full-text from UH Mānoa eVols (1967-2020) and via EBSCOhost's Academic Search Complete (2003-2024).
Current & past issues are also available in Print at Lama Library.
The Journal of the Polynesian Society
Call Number: GN2 .P7 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference, Ask at Circulation Desk)

Also available online via The Polynesian Society.

Hawaiʻi Pacific Journal Index
An index to magazines and journals published in or about Hawaiʻi & the Pacific; citations only. See the Reference Desk for help locating print issues. See Titles and Coverage for a list of the journals and magazines included.

Additional Help

MLA Format and Citation Style

Evaluating sources (CRAAP Test)

Purdue OWL MLA Formatting and Style Guide

SIFT (The Four Moves)