This is the "Home" page of the "HIST 288 - Survey of Pacific Islands History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HIST 288 - Survey of Pacific Islands History  

Last Updated: Feb 16, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu/hist288 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Find Books & eBooks

Use Hawai`i Voyager to find books at KCC and other UH System Campuses. [More Voyager Help]

Use ebrary to find full-text ebooks. [More ebrary Help]

ebrary

 

General Information

Selected titles located at KCC Library.

Cover Art
The Pacific Islands - Moshe Rapaport
Call Number: GF851 .P33 2013 (Hawaiian Collection-1st floor)


Cover Art
Culture Contact in the Pacific - Max Quanchi; Ron Adams
Call Number: GN663 C85 1993 (General Collection)

Cover Art
A History of the Pacific Islands - Steven Roger Fischer
Call Number: DU28.3 .F57 2013 (Hawaiian Collection-1st floor)

Cover Art
Pacific Worlds: a history of seas, peoples, and cultures - Matt K. Matsuda
Call Number: DU28.3 .M34 2012 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)


Cover Art
Historical Dictionary of Polynesia - Robert D. Craig
Call Number: DU510 .C73 2011 (Reference Collection)

Cover Art
Historical Dictionary of Guam and Micronesia - William L. Wuerch; Dirk Anthony Ballendorf
Call Number: DU500 W84 1994 (Reference Collection-1st floor)

Cover Art
Pacific Nations and Territories - Reilly Ridgell; Keith L. Camacho
Call Number: DU17 .R53 2006 (Reference Collection-1st floor)

Cover Art
The Pacific Islands: an encyclopedia - Brij V. Lal; Kate Fortune
Call Number: DU17 .P3 2000 (Reference Collection-1st Floor)

Cover Art
Countries and Their Cultures - Melvin Ember (Editor); Carol R. Ember (Editor)
Call Number: GN307 .C68 2001 v.1-4 (Reference Collection)

 

Origins and Migration of people into the Pacific

 

Introduced Disease and Depopulation

 

Missionaries

Cover Art
Footsteps in the sea : Christianity in Oceania to World War II - John Garrett
Call Number: BR1490 .G371 1992 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
The Religions of Oceania - Tony Swain; Garry Trompf
Call Number: BL2600 .S92 1995 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Missions and Missionaries in the Pacific - Char Miller (Editor)
Call Number: BV3670 .M53 1985 (Hawaiian Collection)

 

Annexation & Colonial Policies

 

Decolonization

Cover Art
New flags flying : Pacific leadership
Call Number: JQ5995 .N49 2012 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
France and the South Pacific since 1940 - Richard J. Aldrich
Call Number: DU50 A39 1993 (General Collection)


 

Contemporary Issues

 

Great Islanders

 

Find Journal Articles

Use EBSCO Research Databases to find journals, magazines & newspapers.
EBSCO Research Databases
Need help finding journal articles?
 
Hawaiʻi Pacific Journal Index
An index to magazines and journals published in or about Hawaiʻi & the Pacific. How to request articles from other libraries.

Cover Art
The Contemporary Pacific
Available online, full-text. "Coverage of contemporary developments in the entire Pacific Islands region, including Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia." Current & past issues are also available in print at KCC Library.

Cover Art
Journal of Pacific History
Print and also available online via EBSCO. "The study of mankind in the Pacific Islands (including Hawaii and New Guinea)...concerned generally with political, economic, religious and cultural factors affecting human presence there. "

Cover Art
Journal of the Polynesian Society
Available online, full-text. "The scholarly study of past and present New Zealand Māori and other Pacific Island peoples and cultures."

Cover Art
Micronesian Journal of the Humanities and Social Sciences
Available online, full-text. "Dedicated to the study of human thought, behavior, and culture in Micronesia."

Cover Art
Te Kaharoa: the e-journal on Indigenous Pacific Issues
Available online, full-text. "...e-journal focusing on indigenous Pacific issues."

ScholarSpace
The intellectual works and unique collections of the UHM academic community. Publications from the Center for Pacific Island Studies are available here.

eVols
A UHM online repository of digitized materials.


 

Photograph & Image Online Collections

Douglas Oliver Bougainville Research Collection
Between 1938 and 1939, Oliver conducted research on Bougainville, among the Siwai (a.k.a. Siuai) people. The majority of these images derive from that period, and were donated to the UHM Pacific Collection following Dr. Oliver's death in 2009.

George Grace Linguistic Research and Slides of Melanesia
Photos from throughout Melanesia, on a variety of subjects, taken between 1955 and 1956.

Hawaiian & Pacific Images
These images mostly derive from 18th- through early 20th-century published works that are held in the UHM Hawaiian and Pacific Collections rare vault. A wide variety of images documenting early depictions of Hawai'i and Pacific culture and society.

Jack Tobin Marshall Islands Anthropology Collection
Documents Dr. Tobin's lifetime of working within the Marshall Islands and Micronesia more generally, beginning in the 1950s and ranging through the 1980s. Includes images relating to nuclear testing and dislocation/relocation of Marshall Islanders. Note: This collection is currently under construction, with more photos to be added over time.

Margo Duggan Collection: Slides of Micronesia and Hawaii, 1949-1954
Early post-WWII images of Micronesia, as shot by a civilian employee of the Trust Territory. A good companion to the Trust Territory Photo Archives.

Nuclear Diaspora: Bikini and Enewetak
Photographs by Dr. Robert Kiste and Dr. Leonard Mason, documenting the lives of Bikini and Enewetak islanders in the wake of U.S. nuclear testing program. Photos range from late 1940s through 1980s.

The Pacific in Wartime
Digital reproductions of materials in several distinct art and photograph collections, covering a range of geographic regions and time periods. Taken as a whole, these collections document many facets of life in the Pacific during World War II, from the brutal and the tragic to the mundane.

Rapanui: The Edmunds/Bryan Photograph Collection
Early 20th century photos of Rapa Nui (a.k.a. Easter Island), documenting a variety of places and subjects.

Save Our Surf
Unpublished material from the SOS organization - an environmental, social, political, and cultural movement that contributed to the contemporary Hawaiian Sovereignty movement.

Steve Thomas Traditional Micronesian Navigation Collection
Documents life on Satawal and surrounding islands/atolls in the early 1980s. Photos are not limited to navigation, and include a great deal of information on day-to-day life.

Trust Territory Archives Photograph Collection
Documents the entire Trust Territory period in Micronesia, via more than 8,000 photos.

Micronesian Seminar Online Photo Collections
Thirty separate photo collections document numerous aspects (and eras) of life throughout Micronesia.

UCSD Melanesian Archive
Nearly 6,500 images. The majority are from the Solomon Islands, but collection also includes images from throughout the Pacific, including the Cook Islands, Fiji, Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Tuvalu, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, and Vanuatu. Photos date from the 1930s through 1990s.

Questions?

Stop by the Reference Desk at the library or contact me.

Profile Image
Annie Thomas
Contact Info
(808)734-9599
athomas@hawaii.edu
office: Lama 114A
Send Email
Subjects:
Hawaiʻi, Pacific


Kapi'olani Community College Library  •  4303 Diamond Head Road  •  Honolulu Hawai'i 96816
library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu  •   Reference: 808-734-9359   •   Circulation: 808-734-9268   •   Contact Us

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip