Skip to Main Content

THEA: Theatre

Plays: eBooks Online

August: Osage County

Beauty of the Father

Dead Man's Cell Phone

Doubt: A Parable

The Face of America: Plays for Young People

Fierce and True: Plays for Teen Audiences

Songs of the Dragons Flying to Heaven and Other Plays

Time Stands Still

Zora Neale Hurston: Collected Play

Acting Up and Getting Down: Plays by African American Texans

Angels in America: A Gay Fantasia on National Themes, Part One

Blackeyed: Plays and Monologues

Topdog/Underdog.

The America Play and Other Works.

Playing a Part in History.

Candida: A Pleasant Play.

Six Plays for Theatre in Education and Youth Theatre.

eBooks & Articles

Find (e)books:

Find articles:

EBSCO Research Databases: Research and magazine articles
Google Scholar: Research articles but limited full-text.

View playbills:

Kennedy Theatre at UHM, Digital Repository via ScholarSpace: Research past performances, view playbills, posters, and other historical advertising.

Textbooks (ask at the Circulation Desk)

The Broadview Anthology of Drama Concise Edition: Plays from the Western Theatre by Craig Stewart Walker; Jennifer Wise (Editor)
Call Number: THEA 101
Challenge for the Actor by Uta Hagen
Call Number: 2-hour library loan
Set up an account with archive.org for free access.
Play the Scene by Michael Schulman (Editor); Eva Mekler (Editor)
Call Number: THEA 222
Actions: The Actors' Thesaurus by Marina Caldarone; Maggie Lloyd-Williams
Call Number: TXBK 150 (Course Reserves-Ask for Assistance)
Theater Appreciation: QuickStudy Laminated Reference Guide by BarCharts, Inc.

Monologues

Alvin High School's Scenes and Monologues
Downloadable list of 30+ female monologues and 30+ male monologues (includes 25+ duets).
L.A. County High School for the Arts' Contemporary Monologues-Female
Downloadable list of 40+ female monologues.
Middlebury College's Fall 2015 Multiple Female Monologues [PDF]
10+ female monologues.
Newton North High School's Men's Monologues [PDF]
From Published Scripts. 100+ male monologues (grouped by: humorous, dramatic, classic, or stand alone).

Best Contemporary Monologues for Women 18-35 by Lawrence Harbison (editor)
Call Number: PN2080 .B42 2014 (General Collection)
The Great Monologues from the EST Marathon by Kristin Graham (Editor)
Call Number: PN2080 .G72 1992 (General Collection)
Audition Speeches for Women by Jean Marlow
eBook Online
Best Contemporary Monologues for Men 18-35 by Lawrence Harbison (editor)
Call Number: PN2080 .B415 2014 (General Collection)
The Actor's Scenebook: Scenes and Monologues from Contemporary Plays by Michael Schulman; Eva Mekler
Call Number: PN2080 A3 1984 (General Collection)
More than 20 monologues and 80 scenes for both men and women.

Two-Person Plays & 10-Minute Plays

Zoom Plays by Project Y Theater Company

The Best 10-Minute Plays
Call Number: PN6110.7 .B46 (General Collection)
2012, 2013, and 2014 editions
Contemporary Scenes for Student Actors by Michael Schulman (Editor); Eva Mekler (Editor)
Call Number: PN2080 .C65 (General Collection)
Selection of over 80 scenes by major modern playwrights for two people.
Duo!: The Best Scenes for Two for the 21st Century by Rebecca Dunn Jaroff (Editor); Bob Shuman (Editor); Joyce E. Henry (Editor)
Call Number: PN2080 .D86 2009 (General Collection)
Online Preview in Google Books
Laugh Lines: Short Comic Plays by Eric Lane, Nina Shengold
Call Number: PS627.C65 L38 2007 (General Collection)
Long Story Short: An Anthology of (Mostly) 10-Minute Plays by Rebecca Burton (Editor)
Call Number: PN6110.7 .L66 2016 (General Collection)
Plays for Two by Eric Lane (Editor); Nina Shengold (Editor)
Also available in the General Collection, PN2080 .P6 2014
Take Ten: New 10-Minute Plays by Eric Lane (Editor); Nina Shengold (Editor)
Call Number: PS627.O53 T35 1997 (General Collection)
Take Ten II: More Ten-Minute Plays by Eric Lane, Nina Shengold
Call Number: PS627.O53 T353 2003 (General Collection)

Hawaiʻi Pacific Plays

These plays are in the Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection on the 1st floor. Look through the plays to find two-person scenes.

Don't Cry, Mama: A Three-Act Play by Vilsoni Hereniko
Call Number: PR9650.9.T38 D65 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Hawaiʻi Nei: Island Plays by Victoria N. Kneubuhl
Call Number: PS3561.N418 H39 2002 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Online Peview in Google Books
He Leo Hou, a New Voice: Hawaiian Playwrights by Alani Apio; Tammy Haitliopua Baker; Lee Cataluna; Victoria Nalani Kneubuhl
Call Number: PS571.H3 B35 no.83 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection,1st floor)
Kumu Kahua Plays by Dennis Carroll (Editor)
Call Number: PS571.H3 K85 1983 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Online PDF via ScholarSpace
Kāmau Aʻe (Carrying On) by Alani Apio
Call Number: PS3551.P37 K32 1998 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Kāmau: The Trilogy by Alani Apio
Call Number: PS3551.P37 K34 2024 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Includes: Kāmau; Kāmau Aʻe; and Ua Pau
Last Virgin in Paradise: A Serious Comedy by Vilsoni Hereniko and Teresia Teaiwa
Call Number: PR9650.9.H47 L37 2001 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st Floor)
Think of a Garden: And Other Plays by John Kneubuhl
Call Number: PS3561.N417 T48 1997 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st Floor
Three Plays: Two Musical Comedies and a Libretto by Wayne Moniz
Call Number: PL6448.9.M6 T45 2007 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

More Plays

peregriNasyon by Chris B. Millado (excerpts)

A play about Filipino migrant workers on the West Coast during the 1930s. Download the PDF via ScholarSpace [PDF]. View a scene from the Kumu Kahua Theatre production in Honolulu, December 1996 via YouTube.

Asian American Plays for a New Generation by Josephine Lee (Editor); Donald Eitel (Editor); R. A. Shiomi (Editor)
Call Number: PS628.A85 A885 2011 (General Collection)
Barefoot in the Park by Neil Simon
Call Number: PS3537.I663 B3 (General Collection)
Best American Short Plays 2009-2010
Call Number: PN6111 .B47 (General Collection)
Online Preview in Google Books
Note: 1991-1992 version also available in print
Betrayal by Harold Pinter
Call Number: PR6066.I53 B4 1979 (General Collection)
Between Worlds: Contemporary Asian-American Plays by Misha Berson (Editor)
Call Number: PS628.A85 B4 1990 (General Collection)
Fool for Love and Other Plays by Sam Shepard
Call Number: PS3569.H394 A6 1984 (General Collection)
In the Boom Boom Room by David Rabe
Call Number: PS3568.A23 I5 1986 (General Collection)
Speed-the-Plow: A Play by David Mamet
Call Number: PS3563.A4345 S64 1988 (General Collection)
Twelve Plays for Theatre by Robert Cohen
Call Number: PN6112 .T87 1994 (General Collection)
Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? A Play by Edward Albee
Call Number: PS3501.L178 W5 1983 (General Collection)

Interesting Theatre Books

Acting on the Script by Bruce Miller
Call Number: PN1707 .M535 2014 (General Collection)
Bringing the Body to the Stage and Screen: Expressive Movement for Performers by Annette Lust
Call Number: PN2071.M6 L87 2012 (General Collection)
eBook Online
How Plays Work : Reading and Performance by Martin Meisel
eBook Online
The Prop Building Guidebook: For Theatre, Film, and TV by Eric Hart
Call Number: PN2091.S8 H255 2013 (General Collection)
Staging Ageing: Theatre, Performance and the Narrative of Decline by Michael Mangan
eBook Online
Theater Careers: A Realistic Guide by Tim Donahue; Jim Patterson
eBook Online
Theatres of Hawai'i by Lowell Angell
Call Number: NA6846.H3 A5 2011 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Popular Theatre: A Sourcebook by Joel Schechter
eBook Online
The Theatre of Harold Pinter by Mark Taylor-Batty
eBook Online
The Theatre of Tennessee Williams by Brenda Murphy
eBook Online

UH Streaming Video