Persons who are not associated with the University of Hawaiʻi and who are at least 18 years old may apply to purchase a Community User library card that will entitle them to limited library services as listed on this chart (PDF).
Use the Kapiʻolani CC Library Search to find the Location and Call Number of the books you need, then locate the books on the shelf and bring them to the Circulation Counter with your Kapiʻolani CC ID Card. Most Library Collections can be borrowed, but some books are non-circulating and can only be used in the library.
Circulating books normally may be borrowed for 28 days. However, items in certain high-demand collections have 14-day loan periods or less. Please confirm the loan period for all materials by reading the date stamped on the Date Due slip in each book borrowed. Login before the due date to your Library Account to request Renewal of books you have borrowed.
In general, Kapiʻolani CC library follows the Circulation Policy (PDF) established by the Libraries of the University of Hawaiʻi System.
Borrowed books may be returned to a staff member at the Circulation Counter, or through the indoor book drop slot under the Book Return sign at the Circulation Counter. After hours, books may be returned through the outside book drop on the right side of the main entrance.
As of August 2, 2021, Kapiʻolani CC Library follows the UH System Libraries Policy on Loans, Fines, and Fees. Please note especially:
Overdue fines are due and payable upon return of the overdue books. If fines are not paid when the overdue books are returned, the fine will be posted in the student's record in the College's Business Office. Registration for future semesters will not be permitted, and grades, graduation certificates, degrees, and transcripts will not be issued until all library fines are paid.
A borrowed library item is automatically marked as LOST by the library system 40 days after the due date for Standard and Special Collection items, 10 days after the due date for Reserves and A/V Media items, and 20 days after the due date for Recalled items.
The replacement fee is priced according to the library’s online record or as a flat fee of $60, plus a non-waivable $10.00 processing fee and the $10.00 accumulated overdue fine (if applicable). The replacement fee may be waived at the library's discretion if the book is returned in good condition within one year of its lost status. If not paid, the charges will be added to the student's record in the Business Office, resulting in the same sanctions listed above.
The purpose of the conduct policy is to inform you of your responsibilities. We encourage you, as a patron, to consider not only your needs, but also the needs of others. If you witness a violation, please bring it to the attention of the Library staff. We will immediately report all incidents to the appropriate authorities.
Anyone who violates these Rules may be asked to leave the library. In addition, the library may prohibit the violator from accessing the library and its resources and services in the future.
Violators risk being suspended or dismissed from the College, and risks being prosecuted under applicable city, state and federal laws. This Policy supplements the University of Hawaiʻi Student Conduct Code and other UH system policies.
Last reviewed and updated: 2020-05-15
The Library & Learning Resources Unit mission statement  supports the vision of Kapiʻolani Community College  to "prepare students to meet rigorous baccalaureate requirements and personal enrichment goals" by providing an innovative environment for learning and research.
The Library serves a community of students, faculty, and staff from diverse backgrounds and prior educational experiences , including Native Hawaiian, local, national, and international students, recent high school graduates, non-traditional, and returning students.
The purpose of this Collection Development and Management Policy is to outline the collecting responsibilities and priorities of the Kapiʻolani Community College Library. Our primary goal is to develop and maintain cost-effective print, electronic, and multimedia collections that support the learning, teaching, creative, and research needs of students and faculty. This policy will be reviewed every 5 years or as needed.
Books and other materials in the Library are divided into different collections  located in various areas throughout the building. All items can be used in the Library, and most books can be borrowed. We also subscribe to electronic books and databases that are available online from computers in the Library, and from computers off-campus for Kapiʻolani Community College users.
Our collections support the curricula of a two-year community college offering programs of study  in Liberal Education; Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM); Business Education; Culinary Education; Health Education; Hospitality and Tourism Education; and Legal Education. Collecting emphases include Kapi‘olani Community College’s Areas of Excellence and materials having to do with Hawai`i.
The Library does not aim for comprehensiveness in any subject or format. We follow the appropriate Association for College and Research Libraries Guidelines for University Library Services to Undergraduate Students , collecting at the Research Libraries Group Conspectus Collection Level 3: Study or Instructional Support Level . For research needs beyond this collection level, materials may be obtained from other UH campus libraries through IntraSystem Loan .
The Library adds materials to our collections according to criteria that include, but are not limited to the following:
General selection criteria:
Additional criteria for electronic resources:
Materials in the Library's Collections may be removed if they no longer meet these criteria.
Recommendations  for new materials from Kapiʻolani Community College faculty and students are strongly encouraged. With some exceptions, the Library does not purchase multiple copies.
The Library subscribes to the American Library Association's Library Bill of Rights  and Freedom to Read  statements. If users have complaints or questions regarding an item in the collection, they may submit a Request for Reconsideration of Library Materials (PDF) .
The criteria above are the primary considerations when making selection decisions. If content is available in multiple formats, the Library also considers whether a particular format provides significantly better access to the information. Format compatibility with the Library’s existing technology as well as the technology commonly available to our users is an important factor.
Textbooks and Study Guides: When funds are available, the Library purchases one copy of select high-demand textbooks from the Kapiʻolani Community College Bookstore. Exceptions include workbooks and textbooks that require an interactive digital access program (IDAP). Instructors may place textbooks on Reserve  in the Library for use by their students. Workbooks and selected career preparation exams appropriate to Kapiʻolani Community College programs may be purchased on a limited basis.
Print Periodicals and Newspapers: With some exceptions, print periodicals are kept for 2 years (the current year plus 1 previous year). Periodicals are not bound. Print periodical subscriptions are reviewed as needed.
The Library welcomes gifts that support the instructional programs of the College and meet our selection criteria above, following UH Administrative Procedure A8.620 (PDF) . Major gifts must be approved by the Head Librarian. A copy of the Library's Gift Material Acceptance Form and a statement listing the number of items are available upon request.
Gifts are accepted with the understanding that materials are not automatically added to the Library's collections, and that final disposition of all donated materials is at the Library’s discretion. Appraisal of gifts for tax purposes is the responsibility of the donor. The Library does not accept temporary deposits of gift items.
 Library & Learning Resources Unit Mission Statement
 Kapiʻolani Community College Mission Statement
 Kapiʻolani Community College: At a Glance
 Library Collections
 Programs of Study
 Guidelines for University Library Services to Undergraduate Students
 American Library Association, Subcommittee on Guidelines for Collection Development. 1989. Guide for written collection policy statements. Chicago, IL: Author. See 18.104.22.168 "Collection levels: codes, labels, and definitions, Figure 1" pp. 8-9.
 IntraSystem Loan
 Recommendation for Library Materials
 Library Bill of Rights
 The Freedom to Read Statement
 Request for Reconsideration of Library Materials (PDF)
 Reserve Materials for a Course
 UH Administrative Procedure A8.620 (PDF)