Skip to Main Content

Library and Learning Resources, Kapiʻolani Community College

IS 108 Queen Kapiʻolani & Lēʻahi: Lēʻahi

Goes at Top Top

eBooks (click scrolling book covers)

Place Names of Hawaii.

Waikīkī: A History of Forgetting & Remembering.

Hawaiʻi Place Names: Shores, Beaches, and Surf Sites

Hawaiian Surfing: Traditions From the Past

Books on Lēʻahi Area (Pre & Post Military)

Books on Lēʻahi Area (Pre & Post Military)

Use Lama Library's Online Search Tool to find books, eBooks, articles, and more.

Waikīkī: A History of Forgetting & Remembering by Andrea Feeser
Call Number: DU629.W44 F44 2006 (Hawai'i & Pacific Collection, 1st Floor)

Also available online from eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
Diamond Head: Hawaiʻi's Icon by Allan Seiden
Call Number: DU629.D53 S44 2002 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st Floor)
Secrets of Diamond Head: A History and Trail Guide by Denby Fawcett
Call Number: DU629.D53 F39 2014 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Hawaiian Surfing: Traditions From the Past by John R. K. Clark: Traditions From the Past
Call Number: GV839.65.H3 C53 2011 (Hawai'i & Pacific Collection, 1st Floor)

Also available online via Ebook Central.
Includes information on traditional surf sites on Oʻahu. See p.409 for Waikīkī Place Names Related to Surfing. (Also includes info on Papaʻenaʻena Heiau.)
Waikīkī: Nine Walks Through Time by Veneeta Acson
Call Number: DU629.H7 A25 2003 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Waikīkī by Kai White; Jim Kraus
Call Number: DU629.H7 W47 2007 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st Floor)
Waikīkī, 1900-1985: Oral Histories
Call Number: DU629.W44 W3 1988 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Also available in full-text online via UHM ScholarSpace.
The Saga of the Sandwich Islands by E. B. Scott
Call Number: DU623 S37 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Includes historic photos. See Part 2: Place Names on Oʻahu.
Pana Oʻahu: Sacred Stones, Sacred Land
Call Number: DU624.65 .P36 1999 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ebook Central.
Detours: A Decolonial Guide to Hawaiʻi
Call Number: DU624.5 .D486 2019 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ebook Central.
NOTE: Search for the word Diamond within the eBook to learn more about the history of Lēʻahi (Diamond Head).
Kapiʻolani Regional Park Recreation Capacity Study by PBR Hawaii and AECOM Pacific, Inc.
Call Number: SB482.H3 K37 2013 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Books on Place Names

Books on Place Names

Place Names of Hawaii by Mary Kawena Pukui; Samuel H. Elbert; Esther T. Mookini
Call Number: DU622 .P79 1976 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online as an eBook via Ulukau,
OR Search via Hawaiian Dictionaries Tip: Under CUSTOMIZE SEARCH, select PLACE NAMES OF HAWAII
Hawaiʻi Place Names: Shores, Beaches, and Surf Sites by John R. K. Clark
Call Number: DU622 .C546 2002 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Available online via Ebook Central.
Also available online as an eBook via Ulukau.
Sites of Oahu by Sterling, Elspeth P.; Catherine C. Summers (Compiled by)
Call Number: DU628.O3 S8 1993 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)

Refer to the Detailed Index online via Ulukau to see what might be included about your area.
Native Planters in Old Hawaii: Their Life, Lore, and Environment by E.S. Craighill Handy, Elizabeth Green Handy, & Mary Kawena Pukui
Call Number: GN424 .H3
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

See pt. 5: Descriptions of areas of habitation on each island.
Also available online via eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).

Helpful Websites

Helpful Websites

Ulukau - the Hawaiian Electronic Library
Wehewehe
Online Hawaiian dictionary.
Search for a Hawaiian word or definition.
Wehewehe Wikiwiki (Wehe²wiki²)
Online Hawaiian Dictionaries via UH Hilo
Mau ka Leo
A digital storytelling space for Bishop Museum.

Additional Resources

Additional Resources on Lēʻahi

Diamond Head Master Plan Update, 2003 [PDF]
Includes info on geology, land use, and cultural/historical sites in the area.
"Ancient Hawaiian Names Tell Story of the Land, Religion" [PDF]
Kapiʻo article on Lēʻahi place names, April 1, 1997 (see page 6).
Diamond Head (Lēʻahi) State Monument Handout
Side 1 [jpg]
Side 2 [jpg]

Hawaiian Legends Index
Index of Hawaiian legends (English language versions), including references to Hawaiian places, people (historical and mythological), plants, animals, objects and activities, human characteristics, geographical features, natural phenomena.

Bishop Museum's Historic Waikīkī Photo Collection
Historic photographs from 1886 to 1974 (available via Papakilo Database).
City & County of Honolulu's Historical Photograph Collection: Old Kaimukī
From early 20th (Twentieth) Century

Last Updated: Sep 19, 2025 9:26 AM
URL: https://guides.library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu/kapiolani-leahi
Print Page

Subjects: Hawaii, Hawaiian Studies (HWST), Interdisciplinary Studies (IS)

Tags: HawPac