Skip to Main Content

Library and Learning Resources, Kapiʻolani Community College

ʻĀina & Culture-Based Education: Home

Many of these resources were recommended in "Moenahā: a culture-based curriculum and instructional method training workbook" by Keiki Kawaiʻaeʻa

Hawaiian Teaching & Learning

No Nā Mamo: Traditional and Contemporary Hawaiian Beliefs and Practices by Malcolm Nāea Chun
Call Number: DU624.65 .C47 2011 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

EBook access for Kapiʻolani CC campus available online via Ebook Central.
ʻŌlelo Noʻeau: Hawaiian Proverbs & Poetical Sayings by Mary Kawena Pukui
Call Number: PN6519.H4 P84 1983 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

EBook access for Kapiʻolani CC campus available online via eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).

Kepano's Complete Hawaiian Concordance to Mary Kawena Pukui's ʻŌlelo Noʻeau
An index to all the Hawaiian words in the ʻōlelo noʻeau themselves.

Hoʻoulu: Our Time of Becoming: Collected Early Writings of Manulani Meyer by Manulani Meyer
eBook via Ulukau. Also available at Kapiʻolani CC Library in Print.
Nānā i ke Kumu = Look to the Source (vol. 2) by Mary Kawena Pukui; E. W. Haertig, Catherine A. Lee
See "Ke Keiki: The Child" pp.1-74. eBook via Ulukau. Also available at Kapiʻolani CC Library in Print.
"Culturally Congruent Teaching Strategies: Voices from the field," Hūlili, Vol. 4. [PDF] by Schonleber, Nanette S. (2007)
Also available at Kapiʻolani CC Library in Print.
"Tēnā: A learning lifestyle," Hūlili, Vol. 6 [PDF] by Beniamina, J.I.K.
Also available at Kapiʻolani CC Library in Print.
"E Lauhoe Mai Nā Waʻa: Toward a Hawaiian Indigenous Education Teaching Framework," Hūlili, Vol. 5 [PDF] by Kanaʻiaupuni, S, & Kawaiʻaeʻa, K. (2008)
Also available at Kapiʻolani CC Library in Print.
Nā Honua Mauli Ola Cultural Pathways
Book, Brochure & Poster
To Teach the Children: Historical Aspects of Education in Hawaii. by (1982)
Call Number: LA2251 T6 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference, Ask at Circulation)
He Wahi Puke Kākoʻo = A Little Book of Helpful Hints
Tips for the Vo-Tech Teacher in Hawaiʻi. eBook via Ulukau.

Inspirational Thoughts

"Where can we collectively be that is greater than where we are now?" Hūlili, Vol 1. [PDF] by Benham, Maenette K. P. (2004)

The journal Hūlili is available online and at Kapiʻolani CC Library.

"I am this land, and this land is me," Hūlili, Vol. 2. [PDF] by Kanahele, Pualani (2005)
Also available at Kapiʻolani CC Library in Print.
"Hoʻi Hou i ke Kumu! Teachers as Nation Builders," Indigenous Educational Models for Contemporary Practice: In Our Motherʻs Voice (vol. 2) by Keiki Kawaiʻaeʻa (2008)
Call Number: LC3719 .I53 2000 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

See pp. 41-48. EBook access for Kapiʻolani CC campus available online via eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
"Living Without Kuleana," Hūlili, Vol. 4 [PDF] by Laimana, John (2007)
Also available at Kapiʻolani CC Library in Print.
"The Hour of Remembering," Hūlili, Vol. 3 [PDF] by Lindsey, Elizabeth Kapuʻuwailani (2006)
Also available at Kapiʻolani CC Library in Print.
"On Being Hawaiian," Hūlili, Vol. 3 [PDF] by Osorio, Jonathan (2006)
Also available at Kapiʻolani CC Library in Print.
"Kuleana: What Kind of Ancestor Will You Be?" Hūlili, Vol. 7 [PDF] by Parker, Brook Kapūkuniahi Parker (2011)
Also available at Kapiʻolani CC Library in Print.
"E Hoʻi Mau: Honoring the Past, Caring for the Present, Journeying to the Future," Hūlili, Vol. 4 [PDF] by Thompson, Nainoa
Also available at Kapiʻolani CC Library in Print.

Hawaiian Education Support

Indigenous Educational Models for Contemporary Practice: In Our Mother's Voice (vol. 1) by Maenette Kapeʻahiokalani Padeken Ah Nee-Benham and Joanne Elizabeth Cooper (editors) (2000)
EBook access for Kapiʻolani CC campus available online via Ebook Central.
Indigenous Educational Models for Contemporary Practice: In Our Mother's Voice (vol. 2) by Maenette Kapeʻahiokalani Padeken Ah Nee-Benham (editor) (2008)
Call Number: LC3719 .I53 2000 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

EBook access for Kapiʻolani CC campus available online via eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).

Kumu Honua Mauli Ola: He Kālaimanaʻo Hoʻonaʻauao ʻŌiwi Hawaiʻi
Call Number: LC3501.H38 K86 2009 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

A Native Hawaiian educational philosophy statement.
"A Model for Hawaiian Education," ʻŌiwi: A Native Hawaiian Journal, Vol. 3 [PDF] by Noʻeau Kaholokula
Also available at Kapiʻolani CC Library in Print.
"Grounding Hawaiian Learners-and Teachers-in Their Indigenous Identity," Hūlili, Vol.3. [PDF] by Monica A. Kaʻimipono Kaiwi
Also available at Kapiʻolani CC Library in Print.
"Makawalu: Standards, Curriculum, and Assessment for Literature Through an Indigenous Perspective," Hūlili, Vol. 3. [PDF] by Monica A. Kaʻimipono Kaiwi
Also available at Kapiʻolani CC Library in Print.
Ka Huakaʻi: 2014 Native Hawaiian Educational Assessment by Kamehameha Schools
Call Number: LC3501.H3 N372 2014 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

The current and previous Ka Huaka‘i Publications and Documents are also available online via Kamehameha Schools.
Navigating Knowledge Between Two Landscapes: (Re)envisioning Native Hawaiian Education Through Hoʻōla by Lefcourt, Y. Kaulukane (2004)
Ph.D. Dissertation available in print from UH Mānoa and UH Hilo.

Websites

Hawaiian Cultural Role in Place-Based and Environmental Education [PDF] by Stephanie Samaniego

Hawaiʻi Place Names Research Guide

Center on Disability Studies (CDS), College of Education, University of Hawai`i at Mānoa
Refer to the CDS Project Directory for information on Current Projects and the Project Archive, including programs such as:
He ʻUpena o ke Aʻo: Culturally Responsive Learning
Project Hōkūlani
Ha’awina Ho’opapau Project

Culture-Based Education

Teaching Truly: a curriculum to indigenize mainstream education by Four Arrows; Don Trent Jacobs; Kathryn England-Aytes
Call Number: LC3719 .T43 2013 (General Collection, 2nd floor)
Braiding Sweetgrass: Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge and the Teachings of Plants by Robin Wall Kimmerer
Available online via Ebook Central.
Power and Place: Indian Education in America by Vine Deloria, Jr. & Daniel R. Wildcat
eBook
The Ocean in the School: Pacific Islander Students Transforming Their University by Rick Bonus
Call Number: LC3501.P33 B66 2020 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via JSTOR Books.
Decolonizing Place in Early Childhood Education by Fikile Nxumalo
Available online as an eBook.
Ignored Histories: The Politics of History Education and Indigenous-Settler Relations in Australia and Kanaky/New Caledonia by Angélique Stastny
Available online via eBook Collection (EBSCOhost). Also available online via JSTOR Books.

Weaving Our Stories: A Return to Belonging by Luanna Peterson (editor)
Call Number: PS509.M5 W42 2023 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Decolonization: Indigeneity, Education & Society
About the Journal
"While we view education as an important facet of decolonization, education is broadly conceived of within a web of social sciences and humanities, recognizing that education does not happen solely or even primarily in the classroom but is part and parcel of many other social interactions and relationships."
IFLA Journal [Special Issue: Indigenous Librarianship]
Publication Date: October 2021. Volume 47; Number 3.

Abstract
"The IFLA Journal special issue on Indigenous Librarianship strives to position libraries and librarianship through an indigenous worldview and ways of knowing. Each article takes is own perspective on the topic, exploring issues such as colonization, reconciliation, representation and imagery, digital access, and resource management."
Refer to pp. 331-340 for "Indigenous Resource Management Systems as Models for Librarianship: I Waiwai Ka ‘Āina" by Kawena Komeiji, Keahiahi Long, Shavonn Matsuda and Annemarie Paikai.

Questions? Contact the Hawaiʻi-Pacific Resources Librarian:

Email Me

Contact:

Call or email to schedule a Zoom!

(808) 734-9599

Subjects: Hawaii, Hawaiian Language (HAW), Hawaiian Studies (HWST), Pacific Islands Studies (PACS)

Last Updated: Sep 24, 2025 10:10 AM
URL: https://guides.library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu/ainabased
Print Page

Subjects: Education (ED), Hawaiian Studies (HWST)

Tags: HawPac, ʻāina