Home - PACS 257 - Literature of Oceania - Kapiʻolani CC Library LibGuides at Kapi'olani Community College

Search for a book or see below for selected works by and/or about Pacific Island authors.

Use our online search tool to find books and DVDs at Kapiʻolani CC and other UH System Campuses. See example books below.

Need help finding books at Kapiʻolani CC and other UH Libraries? Click for a short YouTube video on Searching for books in the Library (and other UH campuses).

Find Books

Search the Library and Beyond

Advanced Search

Avia, Tusiata

Bloodclot by Tusiata Avia
Call Number: PR9639.4.A95 B56 2009 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Wild Dogs under My Skirt by Tusiata Avia
Call Number: PR9639.4.A95 W5 2004 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Big Fat Brown Bitch by Tusiata Avia
Call Number: PR9639.4.A95 B54 2023 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Campbell, Alistair Te Ariki

Introducing Alistair Campbell by Peter Smart
Call Number: PR9639.3.C32 Z85 1982 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection - Library Use Only)

Biography
This book is not available at the Kapiʻolani CC library. This item can be requested from UH Mānoa.

Island to Island by Alistair Campbell
Call Number: PR9639.3.C32 Z35 1984 (UH Mānoa Library Pacific Collection-Library Use Only)

Biography
Pocket Collected Poems by Alistair Te Ariki Campbell
Call Number: PR9639.3 .C32 A17 1996 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection-Library Use only)

Duff, Alan

Once Were Warriors [book] by Alan Duff
Call Number: PR9639.3.D792 O5 1994 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Figiel, Sia

They Who Do Not Grieve by Sia Figiel
Call Number: PR9639.3.F48 T44 2003 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Where We Once Belonged by Sia Figiel
Call Number: PR9639.3.F48 W48 1999 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Fraser, Toa

Two plays by Toa Fraser
Call Number: PR9636.62 .F73 2007 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection)

Grace, Patricia

Baby No-Eyes by Patricia Grace
Call Number: PR9639.3.G7 B33 1998 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Cousins by Patricia Grace
Call Number: PR9639.3.G7 C68 1998 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Dogside Story by Patricia Grace
Call Number: PR9639.3.G7 D6 2001b (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Tu by Patricia Grace
Call Number: PR9639.3.G7 T8 2004 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Hauʻofa, Epeli

Kisses in the Nederends by Epeli Hauʻofa
Call Number: PR9655.9.H38 K57 1995 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Tales of the Tikongs by Epeli Hauʻofa
Call Number: PR9655.9.H38 T35 1994 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

We are the Ocean: Selected Works by Epeli Hauʻofa
Call Number: PR9655.9.H38 A6 2008 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ebook Central.

Hereniko, Vilsoni

Donʻt Cry, Mama: A Three-act Play by Vilsoni Hereniko
Call Number: PR9650.9 T38 D65 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Last Virgin in Paradise: A Serious Comedy by Vilsoni Hereniko and Teresia Teaiwa
Call Number: PR9650.9.H47 L37 2001 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st Floor)

Two Plays: A Child for Iva, Sera's Choice by Vilsoni Hereniko
Call Number: PR9650.9.H4 T96 1987 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Hulme, Keri

The Bone People: A Novel by Keri Hulme
Call Number: PR9639.3.H75 B6 1985 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Te Kaihau = The Windeater by Keri Hulme
Call Number: PR9639.3 .H75 T4 1987 (UHM, HCC, & WCC Libraries)

Ihimaera, Witi

Pounamu, Pounamu by Witi Ihimaera
Call Number: PR9639.3.I5 P619 1972 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Tangi by Witi Ihimaera
Call Number: PR9639.3.I5 T3 1989 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

The Whale Rider by Witi Ihimaera
Call Number: PR9639.3.I5 W489 2003 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

More fiction by Witi Ihimaera.
Whanau by Witi Ihimaera
Call Number: PR9639.3.I5 W5 1974 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Woman Far Walking by Witi Ihimaera
Call Number: PR9639.3.I5 W66 2000 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

A play.

Kasaipwalova, John

Hanuabada by John Kasaipwalova
Call Number: PN6099 .P36 no.27-40 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection-Library Use Only)

Poems

Kauraka Kauraka

Legends From the Atolls by collected, translated and edited by Kauraka Kauraka
Call Number: GR385.C6 L44 1982 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Dreams of the Rainbow: Poems = Moemoea a te Anuanua by Kauraka Kauraka
Call Number: PR9670.C63 K383 1987 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection)
Manakonako = Reflections by Kauraka Kauraka
Call Number: PZ 93B17.26 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection)

Kihleng, Emelihter

My Urohs by Emelihter Kihleng
Call Number: PR9670.M63 K44 2008 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Kneubuhl, John

Think of a Garden: And Other Plays by John Kneubuhl
Call Number: PS3561.N417 T48 1997 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st Floor

Kneubuhl, Victoria N.

Hawaiʻi Nei: Island Plays by Victoria N. Kneubuhl
Call Number: PS3561.N418 H39 2002 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Murder Leaves Its Mark by Victoria N. Kneubuhl
Call Number: PS3561.N418 M88 2011 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Makini, Jully (Sipolo)

Civilized Girl: Poems by Jully Sipolo (Makini)
Call Number: PR9670.S63 M35 1981 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Flotsam & Jetsam: A Third Collection of Poems by Jully Makini
Call Number: PR9670.S63 M37 2007 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Marsh, Selina Tusitala

Fast Talking PI by Selina Tusitala Marsh
Call Number: PR9642.M376 F38 2012 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

McMullin, Dan Taulapapa

Coconut Milk by Dan Taulapapa McMullin
Call Number: PS3613.C58546 C96 2013 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ebook Central.
A Drag Queen Named Pipi, and Other Poems by McMullin, Dan
Call Number: PS3613.C578 D73 2004 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection)

Mila, Karlo

A Well Written Body by Karlo Mila
Call Number: PR9639.4.M55 W45 2008 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Molisa, Grace

Black Stone: Poems by Grace Mera Molisa
Call Number: PR9670 K57 M65 1983 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Colonised People: Poems by Grace Mera Molisa
Call Number: HQ1867.5 .M65 1987 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection)
Black Stone II: Poems by Grace Mera Molisa
Call Number: PR9670.K57 M65 1989 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection)

Petaia, Ruperake

Blue Rain by Ruperake Petaia
Call Number: PR9665.9.P47 B5 1980 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Pillai, Raymond

The Celebration: Collection of Short Stories by Raymond Pillai
Call Number: PR9650.9.P55 C4 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Pule, John

The Bond of Time: An Epic Love Poem by John Pule
Call Number: PR 9639.3 .P85 B66 1998 (UHM Hamilton Library, Pacific Collection)

Not available at Kapiʻolani CC library. This book can be requested from other UH system libraries.

Rodger, Victor

Sons by Victor Rodger
Call Number: PR9642.R673 S65 2007 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection)
DVD: Victor Rodger 2006 Fulbright-Creative New Zealand Pacific Writer in Residence
Call Number: DVD 5358 (UHM Hamilton Library-AV Center)

DVD; Originally broadcast on television program Hawai'i Bibliovision
Urbanesia: Four Pasifika Plays
Call Number: PR9636.62 .U73 2012 (UHM Hamilton Library, Pacific Collection)

Contains play "My name is Gary Cooper" by Victor Rodger.
Not available at Kapiʻolani CC library. This book can be requested from other UH system libraries.

Saunana, John

The Alternative by John Saunana
Call Number: PR9670 S63 S38 1980 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Sinavaiana-Gabbard, Caroline

Alchemies of Distance by Caroline Sinavaiana
Call Number: PS3569.I565 A5 2001 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection)

Three Tutuila Poets by Eti Saʻaga, Caroline Sinavaiana, and John Enright
Call Number: PS574.A5 S23 1990 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection - Library Use only)
Mohawk/Samoa: Transmigrations by James Thomas Stevens; Caroline Sinavaiana
Call Number: PS3619.T48 M64 2005 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection)

Spitz, Chantal

Island of Shattered Dreams by Chantal T. Spitz (Translated by Jean Anderson)
Call Number: PQ3999.S685 I43513 2007 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ebook Central.

Subramani

The Fantasy Eaters: Stories from Fiji by Subramani
Call Number: PR9650.9.S84 F36 1988 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Altering Imagination by Subramani
Call Number: PR9650.9.S84 A35 1996 (UHM Hamilton Library Pacific Collection)

Sullivan, Robert

Voice Carried My Family by Robert Sullivan
Call Number: PR9639.3.S89 V65 2005 (KCC General Collection-2nd Floor)

Captain Cook in the Underworld by Robert Sullivan
Call Number: PR9639.3.S8 C36 2002 (UHM, UHWO, & WCC Libraries)

Not available at Kapiʻolani CC library. This book can be requested from other UH system libraries.
Shout Ha! to the Sky by Robert Sullivan
Call Number: PR9639.3.S88 S56 2010 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection)
Star Waka by Robert Sullivan
Call Number: PR 9639.3 .S89 S73 1999 (UHM, UHWO, & UHH Library)

Available at UH Mānoa, UH West Oʻahu, and UH Hilo.

Taylor, Grace Teuila Evelyn

Afakasi Speaks by Grace Taylor
Call Number: PR9642.T395 A36 2013 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Poetry

Teaiwa, Teresia

Searching for Nei Nimʻanoa by Teresia Kieuea Teaiwa
Call Number: PR9650.9.T43 S43 1995 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Last Virgin in Paradise: A Serious Comedy by Vilsoni Hereniko and Teresia Teaiwa
Call Number: PR9650.9.H47 L37 2001 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st Floor)

Thaman, Konai Helu

Hingano: Selected Poems, 1966-1986 by Konai Helu Thaman
Call Number: PR9650.9.T5 H56 1987 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Langakali: Poems by Konai Helu Thaman
Call Number: PR9650.9.T5 L3 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
You, the Choice of My Parents: Poems by Konai Helu Thaman
Call Number: PR9650.9.T5 Y6 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Tuwhare, Hone

Deep River Talk: Collected Poems by Hone Tuwhare
Call Number: PR9639.3.T8 A6 1994 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Small Holes in the Silence: Collected Works by Hone Tuwhare
Call Number: PR9639.3.T8 S55 2011 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Piggy-Back Moon by Hone Tuwhare
Call Number: PR9639.3.T8 P54 2001b (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection)
Hone Tuwhare: A Biography by Janet Hunt
Call Number: PR 9639.3 .T8 Z66 1998 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection - Library Use Only)

Biography

Vaite, Celestine

Breadfruit: A Novel by Célestine H. Vaite
Call Number: PR9619.4.V35 B74 2006 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Frangipani by Célestine Hitiura Vaite
Call Number: PR9619.4.V35 F73 2006 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Tiare in Bloom by Célestine Hitiura Vaite
Call Number: PR9619.4.V35 T53 2007 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Von Reiche, Momoe Malietoa

Tai, Heart of a Tree: A Collection of Poems by Momoe Malietoa Von Reiche
Call Number: R9665.9.V65 T3 1988 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Wendt, Albert

Ancestry by Albert Wendt
Call Number: PR9665.9.W46 A73 2012 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Flying-Fox in a Freedom Tree: And Other Stories by Albert Wendt
Call Number: PR9665.9.W46 F59 1988 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Inside Us the Dead: Poems 1961 to 1974 by Albert Wendt
Call Number: PR9665.9.W46 I5 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Leaves of the Banyan Tree by Albert Wendt
Call Number: PR9665.9.W46 L4 1994 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Ola by Albert Wendt
Call Number: PR9665.9.W46 O43 1995 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Sons for the Return Home by Albert Wendt
Call Number: PR9665.9.W46 S6 1996 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Winduo, Steven

The Unpainted Mask: Short Stories by Steven Edmund Winduo
Call Number: PR9655.9.W56 U57 2010 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Hembemba: Rivers of the Forest by Steven Edmund Winduo
Call Number: PR9655.9.W56 H47 2000 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection)
A Rower's Song by Steven Edmund Winduo
Call Number: PR9655.9.W56 R69 2009 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection)

Find Articles

The Contemporary Pacific
Call Number: DU1 .C665 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference Collection, Ask at Circulation)

Past issues also available via ScholarSpace from 1989-2020 (online) and via EBSCOhost's Academic Search Complete from 2003-2022 (online). Current & past issues are available in print at the Library.

Use EBSCO Research Databases to find journals, magazines & newspapers.

Literary Reference Center Plus
Contains classic and contemporary poems, short stories, classic novels, plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, articles/essays of literary criticism.

Hawaiʻi Pacific Journal Index
An index to magazines and journals published in or about Hawaiʻi & the Pacific; citations only. See the Reference Desk for help locating print issues. See Titles and Coverage for a list of the journals and magazines included.

Websites & Online Bibliographies

Albert Wendt, Bibliography [PDF]
Blackmail Press
Poetry e-zine. New Zealand and International Poets based in Auckland New Zealand
Digital Pasifik
"Explore, discover and view thousands of items held in museums, libraries, galleries, and collections around the world. Celebrate the rich and diverse cultures of the Pacific." Includes images, objects, videos, audio, texts, and maps.
Literature of the Pacific: UHM Research Guide
A guide to online and print sources related to indigenous Pacific literature by UHM Pacific Librarian Stu Dawrs
Maʻohi Women Writers of Colonial French Polynesia
New Zealand Book Councilʻs Writers Files
New Zealand Electronic Poetry Centre
Pacific Islands Literature: a selective reading guide
Compiled by Dr Karen Peacock, Pacific Curator, Hamilton Library. Revised & Updated April 2011 by Stu Dawrs
Senior Pacific Specialist Librarian, Hamilton Library
Pasifika Poetry: New Zealand Electronic Poetry Centre

Questions?

Erica Dias

Email Me

Contact:

Call or email to schedule a Zoom!

(808) 734-9599

Subjects: Hawaii, Hawaiian Language (HAW), Hawaiian Studies (HWST), Pacific Islands Studies (PACS)

Reference

The Pacific Islands: An Encyclopedia by Brij V. Lal; Kate Fortune
Call Number: DU17 .P3 2000 (General Reference Collection - 1st Floor)

Literature section includes biographies for many Pacific writers.
Indigenous Literature of Oceania: A Survey of Criticism and Interpretation by Nicholas J. Goetzfridt
Call Number: PN849.O26 I53 1995 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Includes indexes to title, author, subject and literary critics.
Writers from the South Pacific by Norman Simms
Call Number: Z4501 S57 1991 (Reference Collection)

Brief biographies on Pacific Island authors. Includes selected photos.